Trumbo - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Trumbo Reviews

Page 1 of 39
March 29, 2019
Mesmerizing. One man holding so true to his belief that he subtracted himself from the equation so completely that the universe brought him back to his own name full circle. A masterpiece.
½ March 9, 2019
The real Trumbo was a hard-core communist film-writer who defended genocides in Ukraine, China, and Cambodia and supported a violent overthrow of the US government. He was (rightfully) fired from the film-making industry. Yet this film portrays Trumbo as a noble victim, standing up for his belief in "equality". Whose life story will the director whitewash next? Kim Jung Il? Pol Pot?
½ February 2, 2019
Bryan almost disappears in this role. Louis C.K.'s performance is even likable. This could be re-watchable. I mean, Diane Lane and John Goodman.
November 24, 2018
Watchable and good but not really my type of film as too confusing for me to follow
November 3, 2018
One of the best biographies I've seen yet. It's a very interesting and entertaining film about devotion and doing what you think is right, and a well made and well shot story of one of the most infamous personalities in Hollywood. The old looking setups are also cool, but what basically makes this movie is the charismatic lead performance by Bryan Cranston, it's great, no wonder he was nominated for an Oscar. Overall, I really enjoyed this film, it's to bad that it was a box office failure, because it's excellent. Recommended!!
½ October 27, 2018
Effectively informative as it is entertaining, Trumbo is a brilliant period piece with a pleasant aesthetic. Bryan Cranston gives a fantastic performance worthy of award nominations as he's the centerpiece of this motion picture. There might be a few dull moments here and there but Trumbo remains a great tribute to one of Hollywood's greatest scriptwriters.
½ October 18, 2018
Trumbo is an excellent film. It is about Dalton Trumbo who was Hollywood's top screenwriter in 1947 until he was jailed and blacklisted for his beliefs. Bryan Cranston and Diane Lane give amazing performances. The screenplay is well written. Jay Roach did a great job directing. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the drama. Trumbo is a must see.
October 16, 2018
drunk in its sober and dry mannerism..

Trumbo

Roach's biographical drama is drunk in its sober and dry mannerism that never appreciates its own mythology. The set of characters that the plot and concept fiddles with, is immensely electrifying especially in its latter stages but Roach seems distracted in here and his eye is on a blurred out vision of accuracy. And this is what's disappointing since the accuracy isn't cinematic or glorifying enough to chisel out the final anticipated product. The narration is undoubtedly gripping and adaptive but it isn't as layered as they might think. But all these issues are piled upon the sensational performance that Cranston oozes in each frame. His raging, complex and logical expressive nature might be subtle on Layman's terms but is actually a melody to encounter it.

The major issue holding it back, would be the continuity. Each event or episode may or may not attain its closure in its allotted span, but it surely changes up the tone that makes it shatter into bits and pieces where the responsible person is the director in charge who fails to blend the entire tale into one big act. The supporting characters are well crafted in here i.e. from Lane to Fanning or Louis C.K. to Mirren, each of them gets their stand alone moments with three dimensional perspective and aptly cooked vision for them.

The dialogues are layered and the conversations are pragmatic that can stay with you for a longer time and with a delivery like Cranston's it definitely elevates the momentum. And it's every man for himself at the end, that drags this somewhat sloppy script to as his character does to the script, "make it better". Trumbo is a triumph on terms of performance but Cranston was not the only one that was on the stand, the rest of the work might be contempt for being guilty.
½ June 19, 2018
Knowing that my birth was not even a decade removed from the end of such an idiotic time in our political history makes watching a movie like "Trumbo" somewhat difficult. Not only am I aghast at how people could have treated other people in the manner the movie represents, but I also cannot believe that investigations continued 3 years into my own life. These kind of activities now would be halted very quickly. That being said, while at times a bit slow, the story is captivating and the performances riveting. It was interesting to see Jay Roach do something so serious, even in its comedic moments. Louis CK continues to show his range in the most dramatic role in which I've seen him. Helen Mirren, whom I love, had me legitimately hating her. Michael Stuhlbarg as Edward G Robinson is phenomenal, as is Dean O'Gorman as Kirk Douglas. However, the most amazing performance is from Bryan Cranston himself, who continues to prove what an incredible actor he is. It's almost shameful that he has to compete with the like of Matt Damon, who does absolutely nothing special in "The Martian," yet is up for the same award. While many have Leo pegged to win for "The Revenant," Bryan has to be a close second.
½ April 7, 2018
A marvelous film that I am so glad I saw now, when, as in this period, American ideals of our Constitutional rights to Freedom of Speech, Freedom of the Press, and basic liberty are coming under just such suppression as is depicted here. That two of the people who were very involved in the witch hunt that was the committee on UnAmerican Activities would later become presidents and that many would forget those who played a part in the suppression that took place in this period shows the need for films such as this one and Goodnight and Good News. These films give me hope for the horrible events going on in our time and remind me that the political pendulum does swing back.
The acting, especially by Cranston as the title character is excellent, as is the script, which it should be for a subject such as this one. A great film, and a very moving and inspirational one.
½ March 18, 2018
An important film; a true story with a valuable and powerful message.
½ February 10, 2018
Luckily Cranston makes the story interesting enough to be watched until the end. Thank you W.W.
½ December 18, 2017
Puntaje Original: 7.0

Simplemente magnífico, desde la historia hasta la interpretación de Bryan Craston, Trumbo nos ofrece una experiencia enriquecedora del monstruo del guión.
Super Reviewer
½ December 6, 2017
Very entertaining look at the Hollywood era of blacklisted communist artists and how one of the biggest writers of the time dealt with it. There are some slow parts, but especially the (perfectly cast) stars of the time showing up make for some really fun scenes. Cranston's charisma easily makes for a relate-able protagonist, who is easily forgiven for his quirks, while his struggle against oppression makes for a very engaging story. The ending is particularly satisfying.
½ October 17, 2017
Good story, good subject, well done. The comedic quality of this incredible story is well played, especially in the last half. We see the qualities of a good writer can be useful every day! The guy was a genius. What the englishes do... they can't live without enemies and they'll make you one if they are in lack of.
September 20, 2017
if these commies dont love america, they can get out!
½ September 15, 2017
The film is good as a one off showcase of an intriguing time in Hollywood history. The film covers a lot during it's run time but it feels like there is something missing. I think unfortunately the subject matter is a little boring for a film and prob would have been better suited for a documentary style tv special. The film is entertaing enough as a 1 time watch. There are some good characters and some good dialouge but it lacks razzamatazz and sprinkles of scandal or excitement. It's good for what it is but maybe perhaps the subject matter was too boring for a 2hr film.
½ September 11, 2017
A brilliant character performance from Bryan Cranston, with an complex and interesting story, that will leave the audience scratching their heads, as they ponder the burning question "Why hasn't Cranston won an Oscar yet?" This will be a mystery that may unfortunately continue to plague us for a while longer.
½ September 1, 2017
An interesting story, but it seemed like the theme was like a beaten horse.
Page 1 of 39