Tropic Thunder - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tropic Thunder Reviews

Page 1 of 1487
½ May 16, 2019
Tropic Thunder seemed like both a messy comedy movie and a humanizing look at those in Hollywood.
With Ben Stiller's character being a washed up action movie hero forced to go through flops to keep his career alive (like Stallone and Schwarzenegger) and Jack Black's character as a tragic comedy actor, ridiculed and dragged through the mud to the point of suicidal substance abuse (like the late Chris Farley), Tropic Thunder might be the most intelligent of Ben Stiller's movies.
May 15, 2019
My Favorite American Comedy Film Of All Time Is 1933's Duck Soup.
May 9, 2019
One of the greatest comedies of all time
May 8, 2019
It starts with some SNL style comedy that I don't find quite funny. The cast is most likely the most all-star cast of all time. The movie is filled with insensitive topics and vulgar humor. The central topic of a film production is a great idea. The makeup and costuming is absolutely phenomenal here specifically for Tom Cruise and Robert Downey Jr. While on the topic, this movie gets a lot of hate because of Downey's black face which I feel is not fair considering he is not playing an African American but instead playing a character using black face to play an African American.The movie does have funny moments into the movie and the interactions between these very different characters is entertaining. It is a comedy and in that realm I do respect it because it is funny. However I feel like most of the humor doesn't hit me the way I could see it hitting others.
½ May 4, 2019
Dark, mind-bending absurdist humor.
April 30, 2019
Great movie! comedy at its best, performance was phenomenal.
March 26, 2019
This was honestly one of the funniest movies i ever watched, i literally could not stop laughing! Great movie.
February 10, 2019
Pretty hilarious - lots of great scenes - mocks Hollywood well. Should watch again.
January 9, 2019
I did not enjoy this movie. I Thought it was disrespectful and racist
½ December 30, 2018
Terrible in the normal ways that Ben Stiller film often is, is only saved by his co-stars.
½ December 28, 2018
War Comedy with some jokes that land and some that fall flat. Great casting choices
Super Reviewer
½ December 27, 2018
A very unique movie with an unforgettable performance by Robert Downey Jr. The whole cast does a great job, but Downey's Oscar worthy performance elevates this movie to another level. The odd dialogue requires a sharp ear to follow, but is absolutely hilarious if you keep up.
December 8, 2018
Hilarious film with a huge well known and AAA Lister cast. Some controversial (for some) quotes and lines. You won't stop laughing at the dark humour.
½ November 24, 2018
A comedy must watch for all generation.
½ November 12, 2018
One of the funniest comedies I have ever seen, "Tropic Thunder" doesn't hold back and has no shortage of genuine laughs due to great performances from Robert Downey Jr. and Tom Cruise.
½ October 25, 2018
not bad but nothing special
a few good laughs but it mostly tries
too hard to be funny and often tends to miss the mark
½ October 12, 2018
Like someone said, they don't make movies like this anymore, then went and made it anyway. AMAZING ACTING
½ September 19, 2018
There is no way you can watch this movie and not laugh. The comedy is hilarious, it's stupid, but it's definitely funny. Where the movie falls short is with the premise and the execution. The premise of the film is just not well-thought-out, and you can see it throughout the scenes. If you want to have a fun time watching a guilty pleasure then this is just perfect.
September 14, 2018
This is a pretty f*cking funny movie. Lots of satire, Poking holes in all the action movie tropes...and great cast having a blast doing it. Crack open a Booty Sweat with Les Grossman and Simple Jack!
½ August 31, 2018
Cruise acted like the glue in this film
Page 1 of 1487