Trauma - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Trauma Reviews

Page 1 of 7
February 12, 2016
It became more difficult to understand as the movie progressed. I felt right crazy myself at the end.
January 25, 2014
Definitely a thriller, a bit slow, and you need to stick with it. But it's OK by the end.
January 31, 2013
Lots of potential without really being able to pull it off. Creepy feeling film without really a pay off of the horror it promises. However, you can have the tarantula. Not a happy scene.
½ January 20, 2013
[01/13] Die Story dieses Film hat durchaus Potential, ist aber so verwirrend und unlogisch erzählt, dass es wirklich keinen Spaß macht. Ein bisschen spannung kommt am Ende zwar auf, aber das war es leider auch. Colin Firth und Tommy Flanagan sind zwar nett anzusehen, reißen den Film aber leider auch nicht mehr raus.
December 29, 2012
Bit strange.. but Colin Firth!
December 12, 2012
I think the movie was fantastic and the reviewers (whose opinions tend to be rather shallow and come from a place of tediousness of interests and blandness of insight) are idiots for what they have said of it. The movie was about his character. Not any of the others. Just Firth's. And it was about the question of the heaviness and weight of reality on the mind of a person and what a creative mind does when it must deal with harsh pieces and elements of reality.

It must have been too deep and possibly philosophical for the idiots who wanted to put a simple tag on it for one specific genre and then have the movie follow the genre's paradigm. But, it you would like to think about the psychological nature of reality and delusions and hallucinations; intrapersonal truth and dishonesty and how it aligns with interpersonal truth and dishonesty; then you will like this movie.

Many reviewers said Jacob's Ladder was bad when it came out. But, these are the same types of people who acclaim Michael Bay and Jerry Brockheimer films and think European cinema is something movie reviewers don't watch unless they live in Europe. I am Swedish and have found that the best way to find good English language films is to completely ignore American movie critics' opinions. So please, disregard most of what you read here. But, take what i say to heart.

It is worth watching.
October 5, 2012
Too convoluted for its own good. A blown opportunity considering the cast involved. More linearity would have helped this movie significantly.
½ July 7, 2012
Colin Firth plays a disturbed widower in this densely themed psychological thriller.
February 10, 2012
A bit of weird editing, but from what I saw it was pretty good - I might have to rewatch this and actually pay attention the next time around.
½ January 21, 2012
Made by Marc Evans, who did the delightfully unpleasant My Little Eye. Not as good as that movie, but thumbs up for the Jacob's Ladder references (One of my favourite horror films ever). I thought this was a decent film, with a brave bit of casting in Colin Firth. Not an actor you would expect to see in something as edgy and paranoid as this, i think he aquits his role very well as the paranoia and confusion builds. It's definately worth watching
December 26, 2011
Absolutely brilliantly played by Colin Firth
½ December 24, 2011
Disturbing, but mediocer psychological thriller
September 24, 2011
Demasiado confusa, nunca se entiende que esta pasando..
Super Reviewer
July 16, 2011
Firth awakens from a coma to discover his wife is dead and he is suspected of murdering a pop idol. This is a psychological thriller that isn't always so logical. What it is do, mostly thanks to Firth, is capture the sheer terror of people perceiving you as mad. It's a difficult job to truly make us believe that both reality and fantasy are possible. As Firth's mental state begins to crumble around him the film does lose some of its footing. It gets to a point where confusion and surprise become Evans' main objective. Thankfully, it's never a dull ride, and when one looks at the emotional destruction, it can seem so much more fulfilling.
May 28, 2011
Nice to see Colin Firth do something a bit different. This has it moments, but it's no David Lynch film.
Super Reviewer
May 4, 2011
Watched this as Mark Kermode believes it to be Firths best performance yet! I can concur with that although I have yet to see Kings Speech.
Firth plays Ben a man that has been involved in a car crash that has killed his wife and as he has just awoken from a coma he begins to seek answers to what happened.
It does get confusing, which I think is down to shoddy directing, but it also does have a generally creepy atmosphere, it should have been better but it's still a solid 6/10
½ March 13, 2011
watched it because Mark Kermode kept going on about it being Colin Firth's best role (not true, that would be "A Single Man"). Seemed a little too odd: and not because it was supposed to be, more because it seemed they weren't trying hard enough
March 4, 2011
A good perfrmce from firth but ultimately trauma will boreya.
February 3, 2011
Excellent performance by Colin Firth, but the crack script isn't watchable. This thriller almost borders on horror.
½ January 9, 2011
Slow, confusing, and worst of all, BORING. Totally wastes the talents of Firth and Suvari.
Page 1 of 7