The Tracey Fragments - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Tracey Fragments Reviews

Page 1 of 54
July 13, 2018
One of the most underrated movies of the past 30 years, The Tracey Fragments captivated me for essentially the entire runtime. The first 10-ish minutes of this movie were a little slow, but after that, I was enthralled. The movie uses a split-screen technique that at first threw me off, but I got used to it and eventually liked it. This is just another example of how Ellen Page is the best actress of her generation, and it isn't close. She has to carry this movie as she is in every single scene, and she does. It is inredible what she does with a movie that demands so much of her, especially considering how young she is in this movie. This is an incredibly interesting and thought-provoking movie, and deserves to be seen by everyone. I highly recommend.
½ May 11, 2017
Not worth anyone's time.
February 12, 2017
If you have complex PTSD this is a movie you want to see. I think the movie being all fragmented reflects exactly how many people experience the PTSD and how they start to work through it. However this is not a feel-good movie. Perhaps that was why other people gave it lower ratings
½ February 24, 2016
Very unique and disturbing. A bit sloppy, but the inventiveness and unnerving nature makes up for it in my opinion.
February 7, 2016
Ellen Page, once again, plays a miserable indie kid who latches on to some dodgy characters (see any of her early films for the same plot). What is different about this film is that the entirity of the film is done in splitscreen bits. It is also hopping around the timeline too. It's an interetsting idea, and it sort of works. At least it works to make this an interesting film to watch, it's not easy to get used to but if you've seen as many Stone Roses videos as I have then it does come. I can imagine that a lot of people won't be able to hack it thought.
April 13, 2015
ELLEN PAGE, ladies and gentlemen. Her last hoorah on the indy scene before she left for Hollywood (or New York City, in her case.) "Hard Candy" may have been her finest performance from her pre-"Juno" days, but this one comes pretty close. I hold this film in high regard, even though it makes absolutely no sense. And I'm not saying that because I'm your average moviegoing slob who can't look at a piece of art and find the meaning and undertones and all that fancy stuff. I'm saying that because the film isn't really supposed to make sense. Tracey is trying to figure out her life, with hundreds of thoughts racing around in her head at once, and we are looking inside the brain of a 15 year old girl who hates herself but loves her missing brother enough to take a dangerous journey to find him. Compliments to the beautiful soundtrack by Broken Social Scene, especially in the final scene of the film (no spoilers). Overall, this little object is worth investigating if you're either really brave or really want to see as much Ellen Page as you can, or both.
June 24, 2014
I am not sure what I just watched but I liked it
½ May 6, 2014
Adapted from a novel of the same name, the film is an experimental drama. The story is interesting conceptually and the director takes on the task of displaying the story in fragments which is a truly bold move. That alone makes the film more interesting & in many ways realistic because memories tend to come in fragments especially when one feels desperate, scattered and lost. The film goes back and forth between memories, dream sequences, heightened memories that are supposed to play out like conversations she has with her consciousness. The story is about a 15 year old Canadian girl named Tracey Horowitz, she is an insecure loner that has a huge crush on a "cool" boy in school. We find her covered only in a blanket riding the back of a public bus talking to the audience watching the film. She starts to tell her story. One day she is asked to take care of her younger brother Sonny, she loses him & is now traumatized from the event. She can't process losing her brother nor forgive herself.
Ellen Page does an amazing job creating Tracey Horowitz for the audience, Ellen Page creates a brave portrayal of Tracey Horowitz. She manages to dominante the line of insecure youth, vulnerability with desparation and insanity. Her performance of the character. Her performance is brilliant and carries the film, because the film isn't displayed coherently. We look at Tracey as a girl that made an horribly innocent mistake the truth is revealed later. The problem with the film is that the non liner fragmented direction makes the film difficult to follow and in some ways can seem annoying. This can also make the film come off as pretentious.
April 28, 2014
Ellen Page is wonderful here. If only I could understand just what in the world was going on.
½ April 11, 2014
wow. Mind bending use of the multiple screen display dude. Just kind of a messed up story. Really twisted, but still really intersting.
January 16, 2014
You'd have better luck trying to pick fly shit out of pepper while wearing boxing gloves than understanding this film. It is however fairly intriguing and encourages multiple viewings. Not to mention there are some hilariously stupid lines.
July 15, 2013
Interesting experimental film. Not everyone will like it but that's okay.
February 20, 2013
A low budget film that relies on a good script and good acting. Page has a knack of making her character charming and likable.
January 30, 2013
This movie is soo weird and confusing. After you watch it you are going to be left confused and feeling stupid. I give the movie one good thing which is it was pretty original and ellen page kick acting was really good. but everything else. was just blah.
January 25, 2013
This movie was cool! The visuals were great , the sound mixing was very original , the characters were weird and intriguing. It was good and I'm totally surprised that just 56 % like it!
January 8, 2013
I'm a big Ellen Page fan. I rented this movie based on a A.O. Scott, movie critic, NY Times, review. Movie is in split screen (2 to 6 or more views) for most of the time. Not for everyone. I was fascinated with the disjointed story telling.
December 21, 2012
Extremely intense, utterly damaged and heartbreaking, a fantastic, confronting performance.
½ December 20, 2012
Unique and ambitious. A must see for indie film lovers.
November 25, 2012
McDonald will certainly alienate a large portion of viewers from the outset because of the film's style, but thankfully it doesn't overstay its welcome. Many will call it overly 'artsy' or pretentious, and unfortunately the style and script don't make anything easy. But that's the point I guess, so my recommendation would be to take a quick look at the source material and understand why the director and production team made the film the way they did. It may make it easier to get more enjoyment out of this interesting little piece.
October 28, 2012
Confusing (but interesting) storyline, with great performance by Ellen Page. I liked this movie, but at different points was unsure whether I was watching a 'real' scene or a fantasy sequence.
Page 1 of 54