The Tracey Fragments - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Tracey Fragments Reviews

March 11, 2020
Bruce McDonald's adaptation of Maureen Medved's stream-of-consciousness teen novel The Tracey Fragments turns the screen into an ever-shifting mosaic, with anywhere from two to 20 separate images appearing at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
June 13, 2008
To criticize a film called The Tracey Fragments for being too fragmented may sound a bit on-the-nose, but this experimental drama from Canadian director Bruce McDonald is interesting for a while and then goes to pieces.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
May 19, 2008
I hated this movie. I really did.
Top Critic
May 14, 2008
This audacious puzzlement is worth seeing, I guess, for some startling and innovative visual designs. But it doesn't amount to anything more substantial than a technical tour de force.
May 9, 2008
Viewed as the sum of its sad incidents, The Tracey Fragments seems like the kind of adolescent melodrama that has become a staple of young-adult literature.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 9, 2008
I have a feeling that this is the last time we'll see a down-and-dirty Ellen Page.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 9, 2008
The Tracey Fragments is a grating stunt that plays like a film-school project, cutting a bland story into a million tiny irritating pieces.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 9, 2008
This angsty Canadian movie directed by Bruce McDonald takes its title all too literally: Every sequence is splintered into multiple split screens, which means that you can follow the dreary, semi-incomprehensible action from many viewpoints at once.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
May 7, 2008
Unlike the frustrating gimmickry of Mike Figgis's Timecode and Hotel, McDonald's bedazzling multi-frame experiment poeticizes and enhances an otherwise slender story (forgivable at only 77 minutes long)...
May 7, 2008
Ellen Page remains one of the few stellar newcomers who deserves to be seen in anything she chooses to do.
November 2, 2007
This is a tough watch, but a rewarding one for those open to experimentation.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
November 2, 2007
By the time The Tracey Fragments fills in its last dark fragments, they don't have the emotional impact they probably should have.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4