The Tracey Fragments - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Tracey Fragments Reviews

Page 1 of 2
March 30, 2020
McDonald succeeds in capturing all the desperation, alienation, fantasies, and pain of a struggling adolescent, and the kaleidoscopic storytelling furthers his narrative instead of hindering it.
March 13, 2020
While it's not completely the return to form we were hoping from this filmmaker, it is a strong indicator that he's back and willing to take creative risks at any cost.
Full Review | Original Score: B
March 11, 2020
Not for everybody, but relevant to everyone. There isn't a person alive who hasn't felt like the world was falling apart around them, and it is here that we can truly empathize with Tracey.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
March 11, 2020
Bruce McDonald's adaptation of Maureen Medved's stream-of-consciousness teen novel The Tracey Fragments turns the screen into an ever-shifting mosaic, with anywhere from two to 20 separate images appearing at the same time.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
December 13, 2017
The first time I saw The Tracey Fragments, I felt as if I was seeing a revolution in film form, a new visual concept that made us process images in a fundamentally different way.
June 13, 2008
The split screen has never been used so purposefully or with such aesthetic care, capturing the multiple perspectives of a character who cannot separate reality from illusion because the whole world is inside her head.
Full Review | Original Score: B
May 9, 2008
Viewed as the sum of its sad incidents, The Tracey Fragments seems like the kind of adolescent melodrama that has become a staple of young-adult literature.
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
May 9, 2008
But Tracey Berkowitz is the anti-Juno: Where Cody Diablo's heroine is insouciant and confidently nonchalant, Tracey is angry, insecure and filled with an unsettling self-loathing, which Page brings to life with a searing immediacy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 9, 2008
I have a feeling that this is the last time we'll see a down-and-dirty Ellen Page.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 8, 2008
Director Bruce McDonald splits his screen eight ways to Sunday in The Tracey Fragments, a splintered form ostensibly intended to match the psyche of his protagonist.
May 7, 2008
Unlike the frustrating gimmickry of Mike Figgis's Timecode and Hotel, McDonald's bedazzling multi-frame experiment poeticizes and enhances an otherwise slender story (forgivable at only 77 minutes long)...
May 7, 2008
Director Bruce McDonald deserves high praise for the chance he takes, here, departing from convention by experimenting with split screens for the duration of the claustrophobic psychodrama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 7, 2008
Ellen Page remains one of the few stellar newcomers who deserves to be seen in anything she chooses to do.
April 24, 2008
Likely to overwhelm and annoy viewers hoping for Juno Part II, it is nonetheless an audacious and imaginative work that's sure to remain one of the year's best.
April 16, 2008
A multi-tiered narrative is not enough to patch the "been there, done that" storyline, even in spite of Page's usually memorable performance...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 2, 2007
This is a tough watch, but a rewarding one for those open to experimentation.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
July 5, 2019
There are quite a few things to like about The Tracey Fragments, but the ultimate feeling I left with was one of contrivance - of difference for difference's sake.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 24, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
July 24, 2009
Even with the film's scant running time of 77 minutes, the unrelenting use of Mondrian splitscreen is bound to give anyone a headache.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/4
Page 1 of 2