Top Hat - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Top Hat Reviews

Page 1 of 31
October 3, 2018
A classic Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers movie. What could possibly go wrong. :)
Antonius Block
Super Reviewer
August 26, 2018
Fred Astaire is a fantastic dancer, sure, so light on his feet and making difficult moves look easy, but he's also an engaging as an actor. With his slicked back hair and those sly eyes, his interest and wooing of Ginger Rogers is charming. He's also smooth as he breaks out into several songs from the fantastic score by Irving Berlin, including 'Cheek to Cheek' ("Heaven...I'm in heaven...") and 'Top Hat, White Tie and Tails' ("I'm...puttin' on my top hat...tyin' up my white tie..."). It's such an iconic moment when the men's chorus momentarily disappears in the latter number, and the lights dim while Astaire dances solo; it's as if we're seeing a genius creating something out of nothing. I think my favorite performance was Ginger echoing Fred's moves in 'Isn't This a Lovely Day (To Be Caught in the Rain)?' She is something special as well, with as great a timing in the delivery of her lines as the timing in her dance moves, which she often performed in heels, a cumbersome dress, and needing to go backwards more often.

While the film revolves around the music and Fred and Ginger's dancing, the supporting cast is quite entertaining as well, particularly Edward Everett Horton (Astaire's producer), Eric Blore (Horton's manservant), and Helen Broderick (Horton's wife). The premise is that Rogers thinks Astaire is the one married to Broderick, which, while silly, creates a number of humorous moments between the various characters. Blore is delightful in his cheeky role, and sometimes seems to be at the center of it all.

There is little to find fault in the film; maybe the fact that 'Venice' looks like it's straight out of Las Vegas? Maybe that under the production code, some of the edge is sanded down? I don't know. For the musical genre, this is a landmark film, and I almost feel guilty not giving it an even higher score. There were certainly transcendent moments for me in the dancing; it was as if I was watching perfection, two people so supremely skilled and alive that it was if they never could have possibly aged, or been broken down by time. Perhaps with this film, we can imagine that they never really were.
August 18, 2018
Funny, charming. Feel good factor 12/10
May 20, 2018
Top Hat is an amazing film. It is about an American dancer who comes to Britain and falls for a model whom he initially annoyed. Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers give fantastic performances. The screenplay is well written. Mark Sandrich did a great job directing this movie. I enjoyed watching this motion picture because of the music and romance. Top Hat is a must see.
April 12, 2018
Absolutely adorable movie! And only to think I've postponed watching it for several years. Now it has become one of my favourites and probably the best musical I've ever seen. The pairing of Astaire and Rogers is marvelous, they are so lovely and harmonious together. The dance\song sequences perfectly fit into the narrative and what a narrative it is, it rightfully has earned a reputation of a flawless picture, hello to 'La La Land'.
January 15, 2018
A feel good musical. 1001 movies to see before you die and another lost flixster rating.
January 13, 2018
Very light and cute bit of fluff.
½ June 24, 2017
One of their best, recommend it to all.
June 4, 2017
The best Astaire/Rogers movie musical
½ August 24, 2016
Feel-good 1930s song and dance, "Top Hat" is as enchanting as it is entertaining.
½ June 24, 2016
I mostly wanted to watch this since u hear of fred astaire and ginger roger movies so much. A light hearted dancing comedy with some singing as well. Filled with hijinks and puns rather than a heavy plot or drama, not really my cup of tea. Sometimes it was a bit hammy and annoying and i didnt appreciate the blasť attitude toward men cheating on their wives. I loved their costumes and the set design tho. Fred and ginger were clearly very talented.
May 4, 2016
Convoluted rom-com misunderstandings and a general lightness of plot aside, "Top Hat" is a nicely snarky and cleverly dialogued song-and-dance film. The way Astaire can make even the simplest of tap-dances more interesting with setting and props makes him the Jackie Chan of musicals. And "I'm in Heaven" really is a beautiful little standard.
½ January 12, 2016
This movie was very funny and had a unique plot. This movie left me laughing and smiling through the entire movie. I loved the incorporation of the music and the dancing. The makers of this movie did an amazing job with this film for this time period.
½ November 27, 2015
Does it get any better than Fred and Ginger, whose chemistry is palpable both through their acting and their divine dance sequences?
Don't answer that, just watch.
September 29, 2015
Possibly one of my favorite Fred & Ginger movies. I could watch it over and over again.
½ September 25, 2015
Adorable, not to mention gorgeous. Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers had style.
September 20, 2015
Magical. Like those rare books where something delights you on every page.

Pursuing all the films in Danny Peary's Cult Movies, and his review was almost exactly the things that I'd thought watching it. Except I was even more fascinated by the Madge character and her attitude to her marriage.
July 24, 2015
just love this movie. It's Fred and Ginger at their peek. Even if they had stopped working together after this, they probably would have still been considered the greatest song-and-dance team of all time. That's how wonderful they are.Yes nobody does musicals like these anymore and if someone did who'd care to see them? Seeing Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers again dancing like only they could do, looking like if they had been born to each other, talking with their feet and their whole bodies almost makes you cry with nostalgia. These were human beings expressing their feelings not machines or robots like those we see in most nowadays movies. When this fabulous pair of tap-dancers begin to move before our eyes we forget everything else and become enraptured. That's what this movie is about and nothing else. The story? Oh yes the story is weak but who cares? In these musicals the story is only the cement which brings music and dance numbers together. However a special mention of two secondary players who go very well: Helen Broderick making the open minded wife of the theatrical manager and Eric Blore in the role of Bates the butler who presents us with a few hilarious gags. It's an old movie indeed but it still resists wear and tear of time!
July 18, 2015
I like an old musical from the 30s, I wouldn't call myself a huge fan, but I think I prefer this brand of musical to the big technicolor brand. Astair and Rogers really were a great dancing duo, but also a good comedy duo as well. The movie is not just filled with elaborate dances between the two, but it is pretty charming and funny in it's own right. I've only seen a couple of their movies, but so far I've liked this one the best.
May 31, 2015
Rogers and Astaire are perfect in this! Great dance/sing numbers, comedy and really cool art deco. If you like classic film/musicals, check this one out.
Page 1 of 31