Toolbox Murders - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Toolbox Murders Reviews

Page 1 of 17
November 25, 2018
i thought it was pretty good, reminded me alot of movies like death trap, people under the stairs, crawlspace
½ March 10, 2017
A surprisingly effective, minimalistic slasher.
April 24, 2016
Most excellent....Angela Bettis is a great scream queen
½ July 27, 2015
Since his early success with the original Texas Chainsaw Massacre, director Tobe Hooper has turned in to one of the worst film makers out there. In saying that, this is one of his better films of recent times, and is very well shot.
July 10, 2015
TOOLBOX MURDERS (2004)
January 3, 2015
Don't know what my problem was before... It's a pretty solid little slasher remake. Even it's a little cliche, it's entertaining enough.
December 22, 2014
Gorier than hell this is a remake to the 1979 box office hit Toolbox Murders. It's a good movie with jumpy scenes and hammering people's faces all through.
October 25, 2013
The movie gets boring near the end. It isn't even a remake, as it has absolutely nothing to do with the original, I should know. I watched them back-to-back. The concept is just freaking weird. And there are apparently two sequels, one is unofficial and could be a sequel to this or the original film. The other is "Coffin Baby" that came out in January of this year. It's definitely still creepy like the original and better than the original, that never happens.

The only similarity between this and the original are the same tools used to take out the victims. Not in the same order through. Same Flintstones looking toolbox used.
June 26, 2013
Tobe Hooper is Back, Baby--Hollywood Occult!!
½ April 1, 2013
half decent horror flick
February 25, 2013
toolbox is great keep it up tobe.
January 18, 2013
Not exactly a remake of the Toolbox Murders, Tobe Hooper's version is pretty good considering his post-TCM2 career. Dont get me wrong, Hooper is my favorite American Master of Horror and there is decent and entertaining stuff in even his worst stuff. I caught this a few years ago and enjoyed it. Hooper's Toolbox Murders features a batch of strange characters who border on tolerable to annoying, which works in horror, especially in their demises. Speaking of demises, the death scenes involving the tools were pretty cool. It got a little too rushed and cliched at the end but this was a more return to form for Hooper.
December 7, 2012
Could be worth a viewing, would like to see it sometime in the future.
October 30, 2012
So bad it's embarrassing as it's directed by Mr. Texas Chainsaw himself
TheDudeLebowski65
Super Reviewer
October 18, 2012
As far as remakes are concerned, Toolbox Murders is a pretty good film that captures the essence of the original, and modernizing them. In this version directed by Tobe Hooper, he tends to give the film a much darker atmosphere which is strength of the film because the original was pretty sleazy in its conception. Also a standout with this version is the fact that there is a slightly better plot this time around and the kills are much better done with more blood to appeal to gore fans everywhere. Toolbox Murders is a fine return to form for Horror master Tobe Hooper as his work tended to suffer quite a bit in the 1990's, which is a great shame because Hooper's earlier movies were terrific and are classics in the genre. However despite this short return to form, Hooper's work would fall apart again with his follow up, Mortuary. Toolbox Murders on the other hand shows that Tobe Hooper still can a good horror yarn when he truly puts his mind to it, and I think that he still has the drive to make other good movies. Hooper's direction with this film is top notch, and though it isn't perfect, this remake is pretty good and the cast do a fine job and are well cast in their parts. If you love Slasher films, then check this one out, it's definitely one of the better remakes in recent memory and it may not be the best film that Hooper has directed, but it definitely is the best film that he's directed in a long time.
½ October 14, 2012
Convoluted, confusing, full of inconsistencies and one of the most irritating actresses I have ever seen, I lost all interest pretty soon. The only bit worth watching is the extended version of the drill death.. pretty gruesome.
September 7, 2012
Not bad love the gore.
August 23, 2012
Toolbox Murders is somewhat a secret confession of mine! I do quite enjoy this movie! I've always loved slashers, especially those will a little mystery and suspense and this film gives just that! It goes to prove that Tobe still has what it takes to make a good horror film., especially since the slasher genre hasn't exactly been stellar since the close of the 80's, he done a great job of reminding us!
½ July 23, 2012
Easily a 3 1/2 out of 5 star movie! Tobe Hooper shows that he still has 'it' in this very loosely based re-imagining of the late 70's slasher of the same title. For those who have seen or heard much about the original Toolbox, there will not be much here at all that is familiar; save for an apt building, some strong inspiration for a couple of the kills, and some tenants that may seem vaguely familiar but . . . not really haha. What you get is a very intense and adequately creepy story with enough inventive ideas and interesting twists to make things somewhat fresh but certainly not alienating. Horror buffs will appreciate apparent nods to Polanski's apt trilogy and even Hooper potentially paying his classic Texas Chainsaw Massacre some appropriate dues with the mannerisms of this killer! Above average horror/slasher stuff to say the least! Check it out!
½ June 15, 2012
Nasty gore punctuates this scare film. Super good.
Page 1 of 17