Too Big to Fail - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Too Big to Fail Reviews

June 25, 2018
Without taking an partisan position on what happened... Too Big To Fail simply and clearly explicates a chilling moment in recent history. And for that, it has value.
June 25, 2018
The movie... captures the frustration of government officials as each hole they patched was followed by an even bigger leak.
June 25, 2018
Just a dramatized synopsis in which some noble cynics guard our citadel. It is hardboiled-instead of admitting that the egg just exploded.
June 25, 2018
HBO's rendition of the Wall Street meltdown still manages to feel fresh, entertaining, and even educational. But does it get to the point?
June 25, 2018
Too Big to Fail is a chronicle of recent events... But it fails to transform those events into anything valuable or special, beyond docudramatic re-creation. Ultimately, it's scope is too big, and it fails.
June 25, 2018
The movie may do an adequate job of mining what's left of our collective outrage, but it comes up short as an artistic expression of post-recession catharsis.
June 25, 2018
Pretty consistent low-key entertainment if not exactly enlightening (because it is an impersonation of the truth) or gripping (because we already know how it sort of ends).
June 25, 2018
The movie is a tense vignette with a nonending.
June 25, 2018
At its best, Too Big to Fail captures the inherent dysfunction in the system, which ensures that a perfect solution - especially against the backdrop of an election year - is never an option.
June 25, 2018
The ride is engrossing. And successful, in that it is bound to leave most viewers with a better grasp of the sequence of events that unfolded in 2008.
June 25, 2018
This version of events is largely correct, I think, and the movie tells it with exemplary clarity. I've never come closer than the two minutes after watching Too Big to Fail to understanding what a "credit default swap" is.
June 25, 2018
Director Curtis Hanson paces the whole thing like a thriller, as if the fate of the entire world were at stake. By the end, even if we don't entirely understand the complexity of the threat, we're convinced that's exactly how serious the crisis was.
June 25, 2018
In a cast full of beautifully minimalist performances from superb actors, William Hurt gets to remind viewers who might have otherwise forgot just how great he can be.
June 25, 2018
Whether you agree or disagree, the film sorts out a complex situation in simple and human terms.
June 25, 2018
What could have been a snoozy jeremiad becomes something closer to a thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 25, 2018
Too Big to Fail effectively follows the money while humanizing most of the moneychangers.
Full Review | Original Score: B+