Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am Reviews

Page 1 of 4
June 24, 2019
Director Greenfield-Sanders crafts a documentary that's almost claustrophobic in its structure and form, a film that's reverence for its subject fosters pure hagiography.
June 19, 2019
The film resists analysis in its essayistic plainness. Though Morrison's writing is alive-jumping, soaring and diving deep-Greenfield-Sanders' film lays flat on the surface.
October 1, 2019
I think the film falters because it's too long and they don't seem to trust their subject... Toni Morrison is so eloquent -- just let her talk and she takes us where we need to go.
July 18, 2019
The Pieces I Am is an homage to the woman who has uniquely brought to life the brutality of this nation's history through the personal, fictitious and yet oh-so-real narratives of her characters, along with the eloquence of her own voice.
July 26, 2019
Readers of Morrison's work will find much to love here, but writers should also take note: Consider this a master class in writing from one of the world's greatest living novelists.
July 29, 2019
In these divisive times, perhaps a figure like Morrison, presented in these practically perfect terms, is precisely what humanity needs to unite and move forward together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
June 28, 2019
It's like attending office hours for the professor you love and fear.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
July 12, 2019
It's nevertheless beautiful to hear: Toni Morrison, she is loved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 5, 2019
This long overdue portrait of the influential Nobel and Pulitzer Prize winning author of The Bluest Eye and Beloved is rich with Morrison's down to earth wisdom, poetry, and humour.
August 2, 2019
"And she was loved!"
May 1, 2019
Though clearly made for a wide audience, Greenfield-Sanders doesn't back away from Morrison's candid critiques of racism and misogyny.
February 2, 2019
Toni Morrison, The Pieces I Am, is the perfect tribute to a literary queen whose work shall live on for decades transforming even more lives with each passing day.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
June 26, 2019
The diary of a brilliant woman who will pry your mind open and dip it into the universe.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
June 21, 2019
Indeed, one of the best things about The Pieces I Am is how much it allows the audience to understand the thought and, frankly, genius behind Morrison's work.
July 5, 2019
What Morrison conveys is a tale of struggle, perseverance, and an unwavering defiance that will have you looking at her career in a whole new light.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
June 19, 2019
The Pieces I Am's reverent and intimate tone works well for its mission: the canonization of a literary saint.
July 25, 2019
This can't be overstated: Having a documentary which allows Toni Morrison to tell her own narrative is a golden document.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
January 28, 2019
The film will make you want to go out and buy all of her books immediately.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
July 10, 2019
Morrison's interaction for Greenfield-Sanders's camera has a playful quality.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5
August 13, 2019
Toni Morrison was a treasure, and "The Pieces I Am" paints a luminous portrait of this cherished writer.
Page 1 of 4