Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am Reviews

Page 1 of 4
November 15, 2019
It's a film that will inspire people to read more of her work but, perhaps more importantly, it's a film that will inspire people to write.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
November 1, 2019
Complicated, difficult, necessary reckoning is at the core of her work.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 1, 2019
I think the film falters because it's too long and they don't seem to trust their subject... Toni Morrison is so eloquent -- just let her talk and she takes us where we need to go.
August 15, 2019
This rousing documentary celebrates the acts of writing and reading, and of language itself as an immortal expression of innate humanness.
August 13, 2019
Toni Morrison was a treasure, and "The Pieces I Am" paints a luminous portrait of this cherished writer.
August 5, 2019
Though the content and presentation is a bit routine, its subject alone makes watching "Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am" an insightful experience.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 2, 2019
Fans of Morrison's work will fall even more in love with her here, where her warm demeanor is on full display.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
August 2, 2019
"And she was loved!"
August 1, 2019
She's very guarded, but a friend, director Timothy Greenfield-Sanders, got her to open up in a fascinating way.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 31, 2019
The focus here, fittingly, is on Morrison's work and its place in the literary firmament.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
July 30, 2019
The overall image that emerges from The Pieces I Am is one of a thoughtful, down-to-earth thinker.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 29, 2019
In these divisive times, perhaps a figure like Morrison, presented in these practically perfect terms, is precisely what humanity needs to unite and move forward together.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 26, 2019
Readers of Morrison's work will find much to love here, but writers should also take note: Consider this a master class in writing from one of the world's greatest living novelists.
July 25, 2019
This can't be overstated: Having a documentary which allows Toni Morrison to tell her own narrative is a golden document.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
July 24, 2019
The Pieces I Am succeeds in putting together a necessary documentation of her life and impact.
July 19, 2019
You know you've made it when Oprah Winfrey descends from Mount Goddess to sit down and gush over you in a documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 18, 2019
The Pieces I Am is an homage to the woman who has uniquely brought to life the brutality of this nation's history through the personal, fictitious and yet oh-so-real narratives of her characters, along with the eloquence of her own voice.
July 16, 2019
The Pieces I Am does an excellent job of reminding us that before [Toni] Morrison, few, if any, novels discussed slavery from a female perspective, took Black girls seriously as characters, or focused so much on female friendships.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
July 15, 2019
[Toni] Morrison remains an inspiration for many reasons, but especially because she believed in her own talents long before the institutional arbiters of such things caught on to them.
July 12, 2019
Toni Morrison: The Pieces I Am is an English major's dream doc, but it appeals to anyone who loves Toni Morrison's well-wrought words.
Page 1 of 4