Third Person - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Third Person Reviews

Page 1 of 12
October 22, 2018
Liam Neeson is really out of shape in this movie. He comes across a bit smug. I think most writers are. Olivia Wilde who played his younger love interest comes across as 30 something teenager who acts like a socialite on heat. Kim Basinger well shes on the phone most of the movie , blubbering. Italy based Adrien Brody is a good actor but he looks kinda slimey. Its his nose. But his storyline with the gypsy lady and the con was most interesting. Oh yes and Italians can be annoying. Mila Kunis/James Franco estranged couple. She was fine, best character in the movie. James Franco acted stoned. Mario Bello as the lawyer. Always looks a bit rough to me. Too many drink and smokes I think. All in all a jumbled up drag of a movie that is watchable because of the stellar cast.
Super Reviewer
½ October 5, 2018
I admire the type of narrative exercise that Haggis is aiming at here, but the result is prolix, convoluted and disjointed, trying to bite off more than it can chew with too many silly revelations and moving from one twist to the next like a messy soap opera.
August 8, 2018
Trust is essential to any love relationship, writer-director Paul Haggis wants us to know, though he trusts us so little to grasp this theme ourselves that he makes his alter ego here, a world-weary novelist played by Liam Neeson, spell it out.
June 6, 2018
Haggis has made a pretty uninteresting film about a washed up writer and his Mistress. To make up for a lousy script itīs over 2 hours long.
½ June 3, 2018
A very badly constructed movie involving three different stories in three different cities. The director tries to be clever-clever by interweaving them, but just ends up confusing us. Compare this crap to Woody Allen's brilliant "To Rome with Love".
January 15, 2018
Really rather pretentious melodrama. What is going on with Haggis...? Seems like he's trying too hard to recapture the magic from Crash. It's an incoherent mess that drags far too long. What a great cast wasted...
April 13, 2017
Can't understand the low ratings. A very well-done, thought-provoking film.
November 15, 2016
What started out as an interesting, complex drama ended in the most disappointing way possible: without clearing anything. Not to mention the million questions that are left unanswered.
½ October 27, 2016
Great cast. Convoluted story line. Complicated. Pointless. Continuity gaps. Leaves you wondering the entire movie. Stupid movie. Lame ending but it explains it.
October 22, 2016
I don't understand what happened. What did Mila Kunis do to her son? Is Olivia Wilde having an affair with her dad?!? More of that would have been interesting... The gypsy woman does not really have a daughter is all I know for sure. Blah.
July 20, 2016
Can't believe the reviews.
Solipsistic? No; thoughtful, well observed and excoriatingly honest.
This film is a very writerly meditation on grief, love and trust and their counterpoints of denial, lust and betrayal.
Yes the plot is byzantine but it is tight although you really have to pay attention. All the loose ends tie up, all the allusions fit and all the characters and their scenes add to the overall purpose.
Yes, hard work; but worth it. I can only imagine that some critics did not pay attention, others found some of the themes repulsive and yet others just were not in the mood.
This film may suffer from the "not auteur" myopia of others. We have polarised cinema now so it is challenging to see a list actors and directors doing something we usually only accept from Indi film makers.
Go watch it.
½ May 9, 2016
This was a snooooooooze. This film bored the hell out of me. Every character is dealing with a sense of loss of some sort and it sort of ties them all together? Sort of? The ending is really confusing and I have no desire to understand it lol. Didn't enjoy this one, at all
½ March 27, 2016
At first, I was like, "Oh my God, this is so good. They are all incredible." But then at the end, I frowned and mumbled, "Wait, what's this!?"
½ March 20, 2016
would have been better if I could understand the ending
½ January 19, 2016
Between art film and Hollywood: After I watched this movie, I was reminded of one of my favorite movies, an "art film" I saw in 1995 or 1996 in Budapest in a movie theater that featured art films, not Hollywood films. I can't even remember the name, nor have ever succeeded in finding that film again, but it was about a sound man who shows up at the director's house (or ?) in Spain or somewhere in the Mediterranean and records the entire soundtrack based on notes left for him by the director without ever meeting him. I don't think there was any dialogue. The two films aren't alike in any way, except for a quality of the cinematography. The "sound man" film was completely symbolic, while when watching "Third Person" it seems to tell the story of the painfully raw circumstances of the characters in the film, which in the end you realize are also meant to be symbolic of the deeper theme of both films: trust. Worth watching, especially for the contemplative mind.
½ January 14, 2016
Too slow to develop, unclear where it was going, annoying characters. So gave up after~ 30 min.
January 11, 2016
Great cast and some decent performances. Unlike Crash, a lot of these stories just are not very compelling. The movie gets boring with no good finish at the end. The cinematography is great with good location. Don't expect this to be the next crash.
½ January 6, 2016
Have you ever seen a movie and hate every single character in it from beginning to end? If that's your thing this is your movie.
December 28, 2015
Interesting concept, film a bit too long but felt the acting was very good.
December 20, 2015
I loved this movie. Great mystery till the very end.
Page 1 of 12