They Live - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

They Live Reviews

Page 1 of 158
½ May 16, 2019
Classic Carpenter. Obvious political undertones, but also doesn't take itself too seriously. Thoroughly entertaining story. The scene where he first puts on the sunglasses is classic moment... a must see for any JC fans.
½ May 13, 2019
imi place ca e retro as hell.
May 8, 2019
The best movie quote ever spoken: "I have come here to chew bubble gum and kick ass, and I'm all out of bubble gum."
½ April 16, 2019
Awful. Just awful...
March 19, 2019
Excellent John Carpenter film
March 8, 2019
Cult classic and a must watch. Brilliant movie and a sci-fi classic
½ February 25, 2019
The part that everyone misses is that John Carpenter apparently knew that aliens were actually living among us just as he depicted in the movie. We are not alone, and some of them look just like us. This is a documentary.
January 28, 2019
Carpenter on the hight of his powers offers an awesome critique on capitalism, and our consumerist way of life. An absolute must see flick that resist the test of time.
January 24, 2019
An extremely fun tongue-in-cheek social and political action farce. Slow at first but once this movie gets going, it's a perpetually growing ball of absurdity with clever jabs at the modern world. Beautiful and uncomfortable depictions of the aliens are portrayed in a manner that resonates with just about everyone because we have all asked this question, "what if these crazy unnamed forces that control are lives not from this world?". This movie answers that with in insane ride you get to partake in.
January 16, 2019
This movie was waaaay ahead of its time. With warnings about class wars, consumerism, subliminal messaging, the elite controlling the message/media, etc. This movie could have been today and it would have even more impact than it did back then. Carpenter does an amazing job here, showing that he can adapt to different subgenres within horror. Rowdy Roddy Piper was great in the lead role. The only thing I thought could be improved upon slightly was the ending... I wish could've seen more about the impact it had on the aliens and on their eventual demise. But I loved that Piper died in the end, so it wasn't a perfect Disney ending... it made it that much darker. Highly recommend this to horror and sci-fi fans.
January 13, 2019
This movie is pretty good. i like it a lot, its an interesting Alien Intrusion story that makes me happy i like these type of movies.
December 16, 2018
Interesting concept, the creepy thing is that it's not very far from reality, maybe even more now that's already 30 years from its release
½ December 2, 2018
Thematic parallel of illuminati/hidden social power structures, using alien social control to 'standing up to the man'.
November 23, 2018
Interesting but sometimes the acting and specific scenes are so surreal and awkward that it takes you out of the world and into some low budget film student project.
½ November 4, 2018
Another one of John Carpenter's early successes.
Roddy Piper, Keith David.
Nada is homeless and jobless in the city of Detriot. He lands a construction job and makes friends with a fellow co worker. Almost everyone has been laid off and the movie does serve as timely as it did 30 years ago given the Trump era we live in now. Immigrants and people whom are underclass are being exploited through the media possibly filtering our way of thinking and how we perceive them to be.
With this film in particular Nada comes across a pair of sunglasses that allow him to see people as actual aliens bent on dominating the human race. Not only that but also signs that have commands saying obey, reproduce, no free thinking etc.
even some human followers have surrendered to their temptations
These things view our world as another third world much like we view other nations.
So what happens when there's nothing left to conquer, do we all sell out and exploit one another?
This film is highly enjoyable and action packed and offers some great political satire on Carpenters part
November 2, 2018
A penetrating commentary on consumerism
October 26, 2018
From his movies I've watched so far, I can say that Carpenter's movies share a cool style of direction, cool ideas, and cool characters. But They Live has something more.... a cool way of unraveling and unfolding the plot!

Carpenter here unfurls his movie's story as if he says to his audience: "I don't care whether you're enjoying the movie or not. You came here for the movie's bizarre and outlandish concept, and here it is!".

Not too much dialogue; the thing that may make the viewer feel a bit bored, especially before the action rises. But so what as long as this brilliantly reflects the movie's themes of working-class subjection and media control!

A very slow way of resolving the conflict of the plot; the thing that may infuriate the viewer, and make him worried lest the denouement would be so rushed. But so what as long as the results, as the movie proceeds and the end result, are more than fulfilling and rewarding!

In all honesty, Carpenter went a bit too far to say the least. As the transitions between an act to another are quite abrupt and scrappy that can make you feel as if something is missing; something that is necessary to make you more convinced. The transition between the first and the second act can redeemed; because there is an information that is represented later at the second act in a most subtle way. But this is not the case about the transition between the second and the third act. As there are some things that should have been quite difficult to work out, but they ended up being solved pretty quick by some coincidences and plot holes. Let alone the major plot hole concerns the whole story that you may realize at the end, if not while watching the movie.

It goes without saying that in They Live, Carpenter offers a timeless biting and daring political satire neatly encapsulated in a loony thought-provoking sci-fi flick while maintaining, at its core, its B-movie quality the genius director famous for.

(8/10)
½ October 13, 2018
Few movies can change your life, this is one of them. The only thing this film suffers from is having a budget that is too low for the story it is trying to tell. A perfect example of using scifi as a vehicle for political dissidence.
October 13, 2018
This may be the greatest B movie of all time. A classic Sci-Fi genre homage with overt political messages drawing on late-night radio conspiracy theory tropes, They Live is a perfect example of hitting the mark you aim for.

This is not high-end special-effects driven space battle scii-fi, nor is this Oscar material. But the directing, tone, writing and acting are all perfect for this B movie. Roddy Piper is fantastic in the lead role, posturing through wonderfully quotable quips and bringing his wrestling skills to bear on the longest and perhaps most-parodied fight scene in movie history.
If you like cheezy B movie sci-fi this is right up your alley. If you love quotable movies, this one is a cornucopia. If you are looking for subtle drama, romance or high-minded Oscar bait, this movie is not for you. But for what it is, you won't find anything better.
October 1, 2018
Underrated and hidden film nobody has seen. Word is it was pulled silently from theatres just weeks after its debut. That says something!
Page 1 of 158