The Wife - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Wife Reviews

Page 1 of 11
February 20, 2020
Stoicism Does Exist In The Female Of The Species..& Ms Close Absolutely Nails It. Front & Centre, With A Story That Adds Further Weight To A Masterful Performance. I Am Woman, Hear Me Silently Roar.
May 21, 2019
Glenn Close gives a truly electrifying performance as Joan, the wife of a hugely successful and critically acclaimed author, Joe Castleman (Jonathan Pryce). She has always played the supporting role to her husband who has a somewhat mercurial personality. This is something she has been happy to do, shunning the limelight and allowing Joe to take the centre stage during their 40 year marriage. However, when Joe receives news he is to be awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature and an investigative biographer begins to stalk the couple, nerves begin to fray and a closely guarded secret between the couple begins to emerge. As thrillers go, this is hardly life and death stuff and indeed, the central mystery at the heart of the story quickly becomes apparent to the viewer but it is the interplay between the two leads that makes this such a fascinating film to watch. It is a real study in the love, sacrifice and control that exists between the couple. For me, this was particularly mesmerising when Close's character is talking with Christian Slater as the would-be-biographer Nathaniel Bone. You can just read the hidden truth in the way she smokes a cigarette and her defiance over his probing questions is unbearably tense to watch. Close shows herself to be a true master of her art and here she is at the height of her powers.
½ May 10, 2019
Watching Glenn Close begin to burn with resentment as her husband (Jonathan Pryce) receives the Nobel Prize for Literature is a sombre affair. As he meets various Swedish officials and other celebrated figures, he is quick to acknowledge his wife, Joan, and his debt to her. We learn that she gave up her own writing career to raise a family, a sacrifice so many women have made (to the detriment of society?). Despite his efforts to include his wife, it is clear that Joe Castleman (Pryce) is insensitive and self-absorbed (which also impacts his son, Max Irons, who is a fledgling writer). As played with great control by Close, Joan is attentive to her husband's needs and whims, but clearly losing patience. When she declares a desire to be by herself, she is stalked by aspiring biographer Christian Slater, who seeks some dirt on Joe, raising the possibility that Joan herself had ghost written some of her husband's novels. She brushes him off but the tension within her starts to mount. Swedish director Björn Runge doesn't quite make it to Bergman territory here (where couples really do tear each other apart); although the acting is strong from the leads, the dialogue doesn't quite keep pace. Moreover, the plot becomes increasingly far-fetched, undercutting the focus on the very real power imbalances within families, by portraying an extreme example. Flashback scenes (featuring Glenn Close's real daughter Annie Starke) don't operate at the same level of quality as the modern scenes. But there is no doubt that Glenn Close deserved the kudos she received for her work on this film " and this theme deserves closer scrutiny.
May 2, 2019
The Wife is a look at the ~woman behind the man'. Close is excellent, portraying someone who simmers with resentment beneath the surface. A timeless and relevant drama by Runge. Couples everywhere will relate.
½ May 2, 2019
Honest characters. Captivating work from Close.
April 28, 2019
One of the only movies that is actually better than the book.
April 27, 2019
Why is Close smoking in every scene? It is so distracting to see product placement, esp by the tobacco industry, that it invalidates any believable story.
April 11, 2019
Good story, well directed and played, as it was expected from a wonderful cast.
½ April 11, 2019
What an intriguing film, I was less than impressed with the first half and the second half left me wanting more, wanting to dive further into the conflict at hand. It felt as though the film was incomplete in some sense.

Glenn Close was solid, but best actress seems like a stretch to me. That's no disrespect to her, but outside of a few scenes she was just okay. I think Jonathan Price out acted her throughout in a story that feels like it's been done before, over and over again.

Overall I didn't mind watching it, it honestly shocks me that a film like this even got made in today's climate. It's ironic that a film so heavily influenced by writing had such drab writing itself.

It seems as though the film itself is a total hit or miss with critics, for me the film missed by a mile. Overall, I think the thing that hurt the most is that it's a dated film that would've been better received 10 years ago. Even the "twist" felt like it was forced down your throat.

Oh well, onto the next one and the next and the next. 11 left to go until I've seen all the nominees (not counting the shorts)
April 9, 2019
Best movie I've seen in a while. Good to see Glenn sinking her teeth into a chilling role again. Perfection.
½ March 30, 2019
solid performance from both Close & Pryce, but I can see how stretching out the "whowroteit" theme just got to be too frustrating and long-drawn. Nonetheless, a well worthwhile movie to watch from the female perspective
March 26, 2019
Glen Close was amazing. Thats about it for me. The woman who plays her younger self was too subdued. Her and the other cast members either fell flat or tried too hard. When those scenes happened, I was left feeling confused as to why. Her husband was predictable and contrived. Basically, the movie fell short for me except for Glen Close.
½ March 24, 2019
In the center of the modernly tackled Shakespearean anonymous theory into the case of genderism and questioning life choices including the romantic foundation is Glenn Close actually being the highlight/main focus in the slow drama. (B)

(Full review TBD)
March 23, 2019
When husband and wife pick a date night movie, is there a better selection than 'The Wife'. And would you believe we were in complete agreement on the rights and wrongs of the film. No Mansplaining needed!

Glenn Close and Jonathan Pryce play a wife and husband who have a secret. The duo have a remarkably sharp and precise chemistry. The entire cast, including Christian Slater and Annie Starke, the real life daughter of Close, who plays a younger version of the star, are sharp. The problem is after the reveal there's no there there. The movie just stalls. The acting remains exhilarating, but there isn't any progression with the story. This is some of Close's best work, probably Pryce's best, yet it doesn't come together overall. Final Scores: Husband 7.8/Wife 7.7 Average: 7.75/10
March 21, 2019
Make way for Glenn. Close to winning an Oscar.
March 9, 2019
This movie was outstanding. Glenn Close was brilliant and subtle and real. Pryce was a loud, terrible, piece of shit. I loved them both. I loved this movie. More movies like this, where the stakes are believable and relatable, deserve to be made. Sometimes all you need are great performances, not the world is going to end consequences, to tell an unforgettable story.
March 9, 2019
Sorry Glenn. The movie lacked that dynamic that leads to the audience to say wow. It kept us at a eh kinda state. Still we love Glenn Close.
½ March 6, 2019
I was ultimately disappointed with this movie. Of course it was well acted and watchable, however i was left with the question "why did you let this happen?" and really didn't feel any sympathy for the ridiculous plight "The Wife" had allowed herself to be in at the expense of her child, self worth and fame. She was not, in my view, a heroine.
March 6, 2019
Glenn Close stars as Joan Castleman, the wife of a celebrated American novelist who has just won the Nobel Prize. When a tenacious biographer digs into their lives and uncovers the secret behind their relationship, it dregs up unwelcome memories for Close and
puts everything she holds dear in jeopardy. As a woman determined to wear a brave face at all times, Close gives a quiet, finely-calibrated performance; Jonathan Pryce as her internationally famous (and habitually unfaithful) husband, Joe Castleman, is no less genuine, no less believable. Directed with subtlety and precision by Bjorn Runge from an insightful, character-driven screenplay by Jane Anderson. With Christian Slater as the biographer, Max Irons as the unhappy son, and Annie Starke and Harry Lloyd (who appear in flashbacks) as Joan and Joe's younger selves. A gem.
Page 1 of 11