The Way Back - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Way Back Reviews

Page 1 of 10
July 18, 2020
We admire the script's attempt to make the character arc about something more than just basketball, but the heavy dramatic elements occasionally feel cliche. ... By the time we get to the final act, you might even miss the basketball.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 4, 2020
Ben Affleck does his best not to channel brother Casey in this unsubtle re-thread of Casey's Oscar winning performance, dressed up as a sports comeback movie
Full Review | Original Score: D+
March 4, 2020
... just another average sports drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/20
March 8, 2020
Unfortunately, while there's something to be said for a well-enough told story, when there's a lack of passion and subtlety driving it, the experience is unbearable.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
July 10, 2020
O'Connor and Ingelsby seem far too reliant on generic narrative tropes for the film to be anything but yet another predictable sports movie by the numbers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 6, 2020
The film makes the path to basketball glory and the road to personal redemption seem oddly effortless.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 5, 2020
Compared to some of his recent work, Affleck's acting here feels effortlessly restrained and, for obvious reasons, deeply personal. Too bad the movie itself, filled with familiar beats, can't live up to Affleck's passionate delivery. [C+]
Full Review | Original Score: C+
March 5, 2020
The trouble is, despite a couple of decent performances at its heart and a nice shift behind the camera from Eduard Grau (Buried) The Way Back just never achieves lift off.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 12, 2020
Sold as a sports movie, The Way Back wishes instead to render a harrowing portrait of addiction but only manages to evoke the bleariest stages of a midweek hangover.
March 11, 2020
It's a solid effort. There are guts here, just not quite enough glory.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
March 13, 2020
Could have been a contender, ended up a bummer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 5, 2020
Brad Ingelsby's screenplay is the film's guiltiest instrument, shortchanging even the most conventional pleasures of a redemption-themed sports film.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
March 4, 2020
It's neither happily hokey tear-jerking sports movie nor low-to-the-ground, unforgiving indie about an alcoholic. It's stuck in some awkward space between those tropes: not roundly poignant and not unflinching enough.
March 9, 2020
Ben Affleck is good in this mostly tough human drama which, despite a few surprises and subversion, proves so familiar that you just about could have written it yourself.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
March 4, 2020
The Way Back is a film stuck on the runway, quietly circling around, always threatening to fly but never managing to get off the ground.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
April 5, 2020
The Way Back is a humdrum movie saved from complete tedium by an affecting Affleck performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
March 5, 2020
I'm an Affleck fan. But man, if you don't let us see the suffering, what's the point?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
March 27, 2020
The Way Back is not only a soap opera - it's a beer opera.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.0/5
March 9, 2020
The force of Ben Affleck's perpetually anguished glower suggests depths that this redemption-through-sports drama doesn't reach.
July 15, 2020
Yet, in its decision to burden Affleck's character with a specific emotional wound (which it hides from us for a while),it becomes far more trite than it needed to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
March 25, 2020
I was pleasantly surprised. I liked this a lot. It didn't spend much time trying to squeeze tears out of you, and yet it does...
Page 1 of 10