The Way Back - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Way Back Reviews

Page 1 of 10
August 1, 2020
The Way Back is a strong, intelligent take on addiction that is made stronger by Affleck's evident commitment to the role and to the issues surrounding its central conceit
July 28, 2020
Grau's long shots are clean, and his close-ups are gritty and shaky. Together, they create a masterful portrait of being stuck in languor.
July 22, 2020
It's an agreeable formula - I quite enjoyed being manipulated as each predictable plot point popped up - made more engaging because the performances are so sweet and thoughtful.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 18, 2020
We admire the script's attempt to make the character arc about something more than just basketball, but the heavy dramatic elements occasionally feel cliche. ... By the time we get to the final act, you might even miss the basketball.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
July 15, 2020
Yet, in its decision to burden Affleck's character with a specific emotional wound (which it hides from us for a while),it becomes far more trite than it needed to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 15, 2020
The beats are played with conviction. Eventually, Gavin O'Connor's film even rewards Affleck's commitment with a flicker of the unexpected.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 14, 2020
The Way Back isn't a bad way to spend a couple of hours watching a serviceable drama. It's just not the most essential film about basketball coaches or alcoholism.
July 14, 2020
Gavin O'Connor's Finding The Way Back (also known as The Way Back) might be a traditional sporting drama which uses the age-old trope of a coach taking a losing team to glory, but it manages to do it in a way that feels heartfelt and compelling.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
July 12, 2020
If you mourn the days when montage was king or have wondered why magic hour lens flare shots seemed to fall out of vogue, then you can fill your boots with Finding The Way Back
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 10, 2020
I've always preferred Introspective Affleck to Hollywood Affleck and this reminds us how good he can be.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 10, 2020
Ben Affleck has just given what could end up being the performance of his see-saw career. It's certainly the toughest watch.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
July 10, 2020
Ben Affleck gives his first truly transformative, vanity-free performance as an alcoholic high-school basketball coach in this otherwise familiar underdog sports yarn.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 10, 2020
O'Connor and Ingelsby seem far too reliant on generic narrative tropes for the film to be anything but yet another predictable sports movie by the numbers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
July 9, 2020
It cleaves closely to the familiar, but Finding The Way Back scores points by finding different beats within the formula and from a great Ben Affleck performance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 8, 2020
Plays it too safe, but Affleck goes the extra mile.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 8, 2020
I was yearning to find the way out.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
July 8, 2020
With an awards-worthy, thoroughly authentic turn from Affleck, and a big beating heart to be mined from the drama, The Way Back is an undeniable triumph.
May 19, 2020
Ben Affleck gives a tour-de-force performance that is wonderfully and heartbreakingly subtle.
May 7, 2020
The Way Back effectively shows how redemption and recovery can be a slow, but in the end, cathartic process. The finale is open-ended and hopeful, but has a true to life feel to it.
May 6, 2020
Affleck deserves special mention for not just for pulling off a credible acting performance but for, given his own well-publicized struggles with alcohol, taking the role of Jack in the first place.
Page 1 of 10