The Raid 2 - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Raid 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 88
Super Reviewer
½ April 12, 2019
A lot more involved than the original Raid film, with a more complex story taking place over more time and in more places. Sounds great, but I think the smaller, contained tale of the original actually served the premise better. But make no mistake, The Raid 2 is awesome. It provokes more discussion than the original, and the fight scenes (which let's be honest, is 100% the reason we're all here) are absolutely up to specs.
March 30, 2019
My favorite action movie of all time. There's an unshakeable feeling of escalation that never wavers while still following a clear story that follows the aftermath of the first movie.
March 17, 2019
I really liked the first one. I don't think this one should have been called "The Raid" but whatever, anyway it was great... action crazy, fights choreography was fantastic. Only it could have been 100-110 minutes long not longer than that.
February 13, 2019
Just simply mind-blowing. This film is fascinating, it has to be the most well made action flick I've ever seen. The stunts are exhilarating and non-stop, the whole film is basically an orgy of action-packed, gory violence. And it's just great. While some scenes can get long after a while, this sequel is in several ways superior to the first movie, like in terms of quality production. And sometimes, you'd just wish that I'd never stop. And Iko Uwais gives another good lead performance. Overall, this gory and entertaining action flick has got to be in the list of the best action pics ever made. Recommended !!
½ November 13, 2018
Ambitious sequel. A hell of an adrenaline-pumping martial arts film.
November 1, 2018
set a new bar to action movies, period.
October 27, 2018
With more crazy stuntwork and violence, The Raid 2 might occasionally let itself slip into outlandish territories but maintains all the signature markings of the first to make it a worthy sequel.
August 21, 2018
sebuah film seni bela diri yang hebat dengan koreografi yang luar biasa oleh iko uwais dan disutradai dengan baik oleh gareth evans membuat film ini keren dan thrilling untuk ditonton. Film indonesia terbaik.
August 15, 2018
wow, what a movie, it will blow you away and tire you from the relentless action that is going on from start to finish. I love this film.
½ June 5, 2018
Lots of action, fights, pursuits, shootings, a bit like Tarantino. The film has a decent story for the genre but really, I feel the pain and no exhiliration watching people getting beaten to a pulp.
½ June 3, 2018
I prefer the film's claustrophobic nature, but this film is still a solid film.
May 30, 2018
The setup is a little haphazard and hard to follow if you haven't seen the original, but the execution is absolutely glorious. Despite the meandering and unnecessarily thick plot, this is the best action movie ever made.

The Raid 2 follows the continuing story of Rama, a now undercover cop tasked with taking down corrupt police officials within the seedy underbelly of Jakarta. But what ensues is an even grander tale of betrayal and back-stabs, with our hero Rama in the middle of it all. The Raid 2 is an ultimately simplistic movie that follows a basic plot and predictable turns at its core. But what we're really here for is the stellar, bloody, brutal and hardcore action. And you'll get your cake and eat the whole thing.

The multiple fights throughout are choreographed with incredible style and professionalism, and exceed the first in every way. The new villains as well are the strongest fights of the whole film and are a great addition to the formula and add a sort of wild fantastical element to The Raid 2. There's not much more to say; the action is simply peerless and fans of intense and violent martial arts movies will be thrilled. This is not for the squeamish or those used to American action movies.

Performances are strong and very believable, with main character Iko Uwais doing a great job as the conflicted undercover cop. The rest of the cast is intense and well acted too, and the villains really remind me of the various badguys from classic John Woo films from back in the 1980's. The soundtrack is typical, a little annoying at times. The bone crunching effects bring a fantastic level of realism and brutality to each fight.

There's really not much more to say than that. The Raid 2 is simply peerless in action, choreography, martial arts and ultra-violence. It's your classic undercover-cop-fighting-crime-lords story, where the good guys win and the bad guys lose. But, like all of the great artists in history have said at one point some way or another: the beauty is in the execution. And indeed it is beautiful.

Second Time Through: the plot made much more sense (and it helps to watch 1 & 2 back to back). It's definitely far better than the original, and the crime drama is actually pretty good (seeing it the first time through was a little confusing - the fast paced Indonesian dialogue is sometimes hard to keep up with!). Overall, an exhaustingly brutal and epically violent crime tale that is a blast to watch.
½ April 11, 2018
'the raid 2' bears little resemblance to its predecessor, a straightforward martial-arts slugfest with no plot but never had a dull moment. the issue here is that it ventures to be the exact opposite: an unoriginal, overlong gangland plot is a drab and there's very little fighting.
½ February 12, 2018
Two and a half hours of exhilarating-non-stop-over the top action that follows the epicness of its previous installment in a more ambitious and detailed fashion, respecting the elements that made the first one a blast and, literally, multiplying them as every good sequel should, and while its plot may turn a little bit pretentious and hard to follow, the action, choreographed fights and astonishing cinematography that follows them are quite enough to sustain this uprising franchise in a worthy follow up.
January 16, 2018
Great fights but boring plot make this slightly above average
December 28, 2017
Hard hitting and high octane action is the name of the game, which is great for fans of the genre. What's grossly distracting is the fact that the criminals are extremely discrete about using firearms, which contradicts the proposed realism the action scenes are going for.
December 21, 2017
I really enjoyed the first film but it was 15/20mins too long. I enjoyed this but this is easily over an hour too long. At nearly 3 hours it's frankly ridiculous for what is in essence popcorn fodder of people whacking the begubbins out of each other. There are some great action sequences, and in here is actually a really good film but someone please hook Evans up with a decent Editor for all our sakes.
December 18, 2017
Perfect action movie. Some great writing and performances. Even better than the first.
November 22, 2017
great fight scenes, not as good as the original but it still packs a punch
October 28, 2017
The Raid 2 has all the action fans of the first could want, but also a much larger story that bogs down the journey.
Page 1 of 88