The Public - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Public Reviews

Page 1 of 3
May 17, 2019
It was cute and funny and serious and well acted, though I didn't know what the movie was really going for or what it was trying to say, and it seemed neither did the movie. Still enjoyable though. Sincere, though mixed up.
May 7, 2019
Really good story about a need that is overlooked in alot of towns/cities....Emilio Estevez does a good acting and directing job in the movie...it tugs at your heart ...
May 1, 2019
A great pleasure to watch it. Thanks for making such films. I know you don't get a good box office, but you do get a great appreciation from of your audience.
April 30, 2019
A well done movie, worth a watch at least once.
April 24, 2019
Went to see this with my 13 year old daughter and we both thought it was a very good movie. My daughter thought it was very realistic. And I think it brings to light a good point. Very that this movie was made. It shines light on an Several important issues we have in our societie today.
April 22, 2019
Really underrated film. The movie explores homelessness when it is least convenient for the government to admit it is a real problem. Estevez' characters take on a reality that is not often seen on film.
April 22, 2019
I was fortunate enough to receive an invitation to the Chicago premiere of the movie "The Public" and afterwards a Q & A with Emilio Estevez and Ryan Dowd (the executive director of Hesed House) Ryan wrote a book on how Libraries deal with the homeless and Emilio invited him to one of his preopening screenings and the 2 have been friends and tour mates ever since.
"The Public" is an important film with a great message. It shows the plight of Cincinnati's homeless and the Library's struggle to provide for them. Having worked with the homeless for 30+ years, including starting a "Streetwise" homeless magazine in Chicago, I think Emilio hit it out of the park with his portrayal of the homeless. Its' not an easy issue and not a problem that can be solved with a "bake sale", to steal a line from the movie. I will tell you one thing, once someone is homeless, its very difficult to get out. Regardless of WHY they got there.
It took Emilio 12 years to write and get the movie made and one of the reasons is that it is such a deep problem and it takes years to understand. Emilio also stars in the Movie, along with Alec Baldwin. It is not a heavy movie, rather it is uplifting and informative. The current audience review score is 93 on Rotten Tomatoes. I went with my Suzanne and friends Charlie, Donna and Gandi to see it for the second time Saturday, and they all loved it. And you will too. Its been out for a while so don't wait! Its at TinselTown in North Aurora at least through this Thursday and hopefully another week! Please check it our and tell your friends. You won't be disappointed!
April 20, 2019
Surprising twist and turns and could be any city. Movie made that appeals to all demographics. Enjoyed it even more as I am from Cinti. and a frequent library visitor. It was also fun to recognize local sites, including a shot of a building I used to live in.
April 18, 2019
Yes - its a fictional situation, but easily could be true life. And it portrays many if the real-life issues facing ALL of our public libraries. Because they're "free" public institutions 99% of the population think they"re "free" - just like the water that comes out of their tap. No thought of how they're funded and what it takes to keep them operating. And ALL of our elected officials see the library funding as a soft target. Few will "get" the several tongue-in-cheek "You can't fix it with a bake sale" references which are used for fundraising at your local public library.
April 17, 2019
Excellent film about a very important subject matter. Residents of the Queen City will be especially touched by this film. Slightly two-dimensional acting from the television reporter and Christian Slater's evil politician character likewise seemed a little shallow and predictable, but all in all a very realistic and plausible film. Emilio is great in his role, one of his better films in my opinion. The idea of the homeless population "occuping" the library, which incidentally is actually located across the street from the park where Occupy Cincinnati "occupied" in 2011, is thought provoking. After all, why are these public spaces often closed to the most public members of our society? Especially when they are most in need?
½ April 16, 2019
Only movie I have ever walked out of and I've seen some doozies! Main problem: oversimplification of homeless problem and making all homeless people seem sympathetic.
I'm sorry but the homeless people in this film are easy to like
and sympathetic unlike the real homeless people who shit and piss and shoot up and trash our libraries and all public areas. The homeless in this film seem easy and sane but in reality: they are crazy ass motherfuckers who are a danger to all and the fucking worst! Please don't paint homeless people as nice guy martyrs because they aren't. Also, I'm not a trump supporter so please don't even come at me with that 1/2 1/2' (C)
April 14, 2019
Really enjoyable film with some tremendous performances. Yes, there are a few hole sin the plot here and there, especially if you watch it with a librarian but overall it is quality film.
½ April 12, 2019
A sensitive social issue with good comedy relief. Bravo Emilio Esteves.
April 12, 2019
As a long time Library employee, I feel proud to say that this movie was awesome. Emilio Estevez spent YEARS researching and creating it. I know he spent a ton of time at Los Angeles Public Library, as far back as 2007. It is a labor of love. It is inspiring, as well as an accurate portrayal of what is happening in the real world. See it. It's worth your time if you care about the growing homeless population, or simply our society in general.
½ April 10, 2019
Timely serious social commentary, for all political points of view. Freezing cold affects us all; even Alec Baldwin declines to walk his ex to her door in a Cincinnati winter.
And Cincinnati shines -- the architecture, the street scenes, the (some recognizable) locals, hired as extras -- especially the true star of the movie, our incomparable Public Library.
April 9, 2019
Fun, liberational, inspiring and has a great soundtrack and a great cast.
April 9, 2019
A sentient timely film. Full of reality, drama, laughter. You won't see the ending coming!
April 9, 2019
This was a good movie. Offered an interesting perspective of humanity. While there are flaws the intention was well place. I can agree that every story matters. Thanks Emilio Estevez.
April 8, 2019
a great movie. and a great ending. i am starting to think that it is primarily teenagers who determine the tomatometer ratings. this is about books and libraries and social issues which are things that may not appeal to most teenagers.
½ April 8, 2019
Emilio Estevez has created a film dedicated to telling the story of public service, homelessness and libraries. It's seems an impossible task and one that could so tremendously wrong but he has prevailed and you really need to go see this film. Public libraries are respected (for the most part) institutions dedicated to serving people regardless of race, class, gender, ethnicity, etc but there are plenty of stories inside that are not between the covers of a book.
Estevez, Alec Baldwin, Christian Slater put on strong performances. Michael Kenneth Williams is extraordinary as Jackson---the organizer of this civil disobedience act. Although Taylor Schilling delivers a believable character---it is one that I feel could be left out. Beyond this, there are few flaws. Estevez has done his research and on the elements he did not know enough about--homelessness in the library--he reached out to the experts.
An insightful look into a humanitarian crisis but fear not--one filled with both humor and humanity.
Page 1 of 3