The Pearl of Death - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Pearl of Death Reviews

Page 1 of 3
October 24, 2018
A pearl is stolen and hidden in one of 6 busts of Napoleon, Holmes must get to the buyers of the busts before they are killed by the villains who are searching for the hidden gem, just wonderful,
½ November 6, 2017
It's a little bit Sherlock Holmes by numbers but still greatly entertaining. Worth it for The Creeper alone!
September 13, 2012
A Sherlock Holmes installment that has the scariest and most disturbing villain in the series - The Creeper. Very well-written plot shows an intriguing and engrossing mystery behind a priceless pearl, which happens to be hidden in a seemingly cheap piece of porcelain. After investigating a bunch of gruesome neck-breaking murders, and a few encounters with a mysterious woman Naomi Drake, Sherlock Homes is finally able to add up all the pieces together and is on his way for an appointment with death, in the frightful persona of the aforementioned The Creeper. Well worth a watch.
½ August 6, 2012
Holmes' Creeping Menace--Sherlock Holmes against the Hoxton Creeper. He must protect his third lumbar vertebrae!!
June 11, 2012
When all of these are done, and they ask me which one I liked the best, it's going to be VERY hard. Here's another great entry in this great series. A pearl has gone missing! Through a most ridiculous chain of events (but it's fun) a gruesome back breaking murderer, Napoleon Bonaparte and bric a brac all lead up to the conclusion. Nothing but fun all around.
½ April 15, 2012
Suspenseful and smart Holmes film.
½ March 24, 2012
a super entry in the roy william neill holmes films.hats off also to rondo hatton, great.also dennis hoey,lestrade,who when in a holmes film,for me,always brings it up a notch.
½ September 18, 2011
There was a little bit aggression this entry.
bbcfloridabound
Super Reviewer
June 10, 2011
Another one of Basil Rathbone's Sherlock Holmes film's, and ranks at the top with his other movies. This one about a huge pearl that's curse, a lot of blood has been spilt over this pearl, Film opens with it being stole from a man on a passenger ship, only to end up in the hands of the clever Sherlock Holmes, who returns it to the owners a museum. But is Sherlock really clever as the Pearl is stole when Sherlock disconnects the security alarm system . What does it take to recover it, you will have to watch the film to find out. A 4 star film in Black and White. I want to thank UCLA University for remastering these films.
June 6, 2011
A solid entry in the franchise, Holmes and Watson must battle the wits of a Moriarty-lite mastermind, but also the hulking menace of Rondo Hatton's gargantuan back-breaker, The Creeper! The Beastly Serial Killer is definitely the most interesting element of what is essentially just a heist mystery, but Rathbone's eventual confrontation with the monster is well worth the wait. VF.
½ May 26, 2011
The one with The Hoxton Creeper, played by tragic agromegaly-sufferer Rondo Hatton. They build up the suspense by showing him in silhouette right up until the last few minutes of the film when Conover craves a boon of him, namely would he mind awfully snapping Holmes's back (Lumbar region, third vertebrae)? Of course he doesn't succeed but his grand entrance doesn't disappoint. Otherwise it's a pretty good story about crims on a hunt for the pearl of the title, hidden in one of several busts of Napoleon, and efficiently done. However, Watson and Lestrade are particularly dumb in this one. You wonder how Holmes restrains himself from delivering a torrent of verbal abuse sometimes. It also contains one of my favourite lines from the series: as Holmes sits down gingerly and starts removing his latest disguise, he says "Oh, I'm as stiff as a varnished eel!"
½ November 20, 2010
Stock-standard Rathbone/Bruce entry, but still quite a bit of fun. The "creeper" element seems to come in out of nowhere - although it ties into the main plot eventually, the introduction is clumsy. Dennis Hoey continues to be hilarious as Lestrade - his reaction to Watson hiding the eponymous pearl in his mouth a [i]second[/i] time is priceless.
November 3, 2010
Another high point in the Universal Pictures' Sherlock Holmes series of films. This one features Rondo Hatton as the Hoxton Creeper, " possibly one of the greatest and most memorable film villans of all time!" As with all of these films this one is tremendously creepy and atmospheric but here made all the more memorable by Hattons' performance.
September 30, 2010
Havn't seen any of the other Holmes from this era, so i can't really give this a rating. Apparently this Lestrade is "a great fool" and Watson isn't very helpful with rein-acting crimes - which was an amusing scene. There are similarities and differences, but of course this is dramatically different from seeing Holmes portrayed by Benedict Cumberbatch (best surname EVER) or Robert Downey Jr. Despite being in black and white and having the story set at a slow pace, the time went quickly and there some interesting scenes.
September 17, 2010
NOT INTERESTED I WANT 2 C
August 20, 2010
Great fun. Exciting!
½ May 6, 2010
I love mystery movies of all kinds........
March 14, 2010
One of the best of the Rathbone/Bruce series involves the search for a missing pearl and a back braking murderer, The Creeper, chillingly portrayed by the real life hulking sufferer of acromegaly, Rondo Hatton. Miles Mander and Evelyn Ankers are good as the villains and Dennis Hoey once again offers comic relief in support of the brilliant Nigel Bruce and Basil Rathbone. Holmes Herbert and Ian Wolfe also appear briefly.
½ March 6, 2010
I've seen this one a lot, but this is probably the first time I've seen it in 15 years and I'm glad to say its still one of the best Holmes mysteries. This features some nice atmospheric photography as director Neill builds up the suspense over the dreaded Creeper. Holmes gets outsmarted a couple of times it seems by Coniffer, and his gang (How in the world does Holmes let Ian Wolfe get away?). One wonders what would have happened had Coniffer put a bomb in that book rather than a spring loaded knife. Good use of Rondo Hatten but Evelyn Ankers isn't in enough scenes for my taste. I think she's terrific.
February 23, 2010
Fantastic plot, great scene with Watson trying to find a clipped news article he'd inadvertently glued to his arm, great banter between Holmes and Watson, etc. etc. etc. I liked it a lot :).
Page 1 of 3