The Only Living Boy in New York - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Only Living Boy in New York Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 16, 2019
He's on a quest for one girl right out of college but gets sucked into a relationship with his dad's mistress at the prompting of a poetic neighbor.
January 20, 2019
No final não à (C) a história mais original do mundo e algumas coisas ficam sem resolução, mas foi um filme que me surpreendeu positivamente.
½ December 10, 2018
I liked the story and the cast but it all felt a bit disconnected to me, I mean the events, venues and such. However I didn't liked the portrait of New York they painted, not that I know it but it didn't sound accurate.
December 9, 2018
There's a genre of films that focus on rich New Yorkers philosophising about life direction and familial strife and have nice quotes in them, great casts and usually feature at least one character who writes novels (or is trying to). I find watching these films to be safe, and comfortable, and enjoyable with sparks of great direction or writing or acting, or sometimes all three. I like them a lot. This film started as one of those, but then became derailed towards the end. The setup is nice and simple and messy. A young man (of indeterminate age - 28? 19?) discovers his father is having an affair, and over the course of finding out more, falls for the mistress. There's 90 minutes of drama in there already. Add the cold relationship between son and father, fragile bipolar mother and a wise, mysterious, new neighbour for the boy to discuss and explore this dynamic with and you're off to the flippin' races. The cast is good as well. Pierce Brosnan can play a disapproving prick really well, the mistress role isn't given much to do other than be attractive and flirty but if you're going to get someone to do those things you can do a lot worse than Kate Beckinsale and if I ever have a difficult moral situation crop up in my life I hope I get to talk it out with a wise, alcoholic neighbour played by Jeff Bridges. Kersey Clemons crops up as well in a small role and I do like Kersey Clemons. The problem comes most of the way through, when this story resolves fairly quickly, only to be replaced with an entirely new story, that seems largely unconnected with the previous story in theme or subject. It's a real shame, as it leaves the film on a down, and no amount of nice shots of New York or Simon and Garfunkel songs can counteract.
½ November 3, 2018
We enjoyed this movie. The characters were well developed with a depth of maturity. The interactions between them was genuine. We like Pierce Brosnan as Ethan, and always like Jeff Bridges. They were very believable and relatable. Not to review with a spoiler, the development of the plot unfolded in a way that it was realistic and without crazy drama that some love stories have. I would appeal to baby boomers but millennials as well.
September 29, 2018
Ugh. What a waste of time.
September 19, 2018
Great movie, great plot twists. Shows the dynamics in families and the vulnerability of attraction.
September 4, 2018
i thought this was pretty good
½ September 2, 2018
A nicely-made, kinder reverse of "The Graduate" with a little more touching thought that seems to be the main takeaway plot-wise along with reflective and understandable performances from a nice cast, particularly Tatum and Bridges with a sugarcoated approach. (B)

(Full review TBD)
August 30, 2018
Totally forgot I watched this even though it has big named actors in it.
August 23, 2018
Interesting tale. 3 stars for Kate being fit.
June 24, 2018
Like cold lemonade without passion.
½ May 29, 2018
Es mas una historia para un telefilm.
April 12, 2018
Great movie! Extremely well written.
½ April 4, 2018
Gosh. Who writes stuff like this? It's like listening to modern jazz or beat poetry., so stylized and groovy, man. Instead, like modern jazz and beat poetry, no one actually likes it. And rightly so. It's so conscious of genuflecting to itself it can't get up off it's knees. Instead, it just winds up going up it's own arse. The young actors must have thought this was their big break. The arty script and uber cool settings. Instead, it looks like an acting class from hell. The ever grouchy Jeff Bridges as the, let's face it, totally implausible neighbour dispensing advice and finishing your sentences off for you. Eccentric? Is that the American word for pseudo-intellectual pushy twat? Because if it is, he's due another award. If a geriatric, bare foot (yes, really!) man I'd never met invited me to his apartment, I'd be calling social services not joining him drinking red wine out of tumblers (yes, really!) I had a sinking feeling as I watched the opening credits. I should have listened to them.
½ March 31, 2018
Solid flick. Definitely thought this would have been in the 70-80 range.
March 25, 2018
The lead actor, Callum Turner, sticks out as a sore thumb amongst the otherwise talented cast. While the premise is interesting, it is slow and leaves the viewer to ask what was the point.
March 15, 2018
Much better than I was expecting, but come on.
February 25, 2018
Beginning is slow. But really strong performances over all.
½ January 27, 2018
Extraordinary performances and a literary beauty that is rare in a film. I watched streaming, and went back to watch it a second time right after. Jeff Bridges and Pierce Brosnan particularly touched my heart.
Page 1 of 3