The Mercy - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Mercy Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ March 18, 2019
The Mercy, basada en una historia real me parece una muy buena película biográfica con un casting de primera. La recomiendo.
March 10, 2019
Good. The documentary was better, though. Colin Firth was excellent as Crowhurst. But the script was a bit lacking in expressing Crowhurst's complex character, mental issues, and predicament he was in, eventually. So Firth was unable to fully portray all that. Weisz did the wife justice, except a bit too pretty for the role. But a good movie, all the same. It just could have been better; the fault was in the script.
March 9, 2019
Lack of depth or substance. Almost as bad as c.m. If you have a choice between the two, watch this one.
December 7, 2018
Excellent acting. Worth one watch.
November 7, 2018
The Mercy follows amateur sailor Donald Crowhurst as he signs up for a solo around the world voyage in 1968 for the simple reason of proving to himself that he can do it and he didn't stand by and watch others have adventures while he lived his day to day life. It's only while at sea he realises his limitations on the journey he has taken as he struggles with boat repairs, sailing proficiency, loneliness and his mind slowly unravelling while everyone at home believes he is actually making record breaking progress against his competitors.
It was a very decent story, not something I knew anything about. Colin Firth was very good in the lead role beginning the film bustling with excitement and confidence and ending a frail wreck of a man. Rachael Weisz was somewhat underused but good in the scenes she had. An entertaining true story that's worth watching.
November 6, 2018
The Mercy follows amateur sailor Donald Crowhurst as he signs up for a solo around the world voyage in 1968 for the simple reason of proving to himself that he can do and he didn't stand by and watch others have adventures while he lived his day to day life. It's only while at sea he realises his limitations on the journey he has taken as he struggles with boat repairs, sailing proficiency, loneliness and his mind slowly unravelling while everyone at home believes he is actually making record breaking progress against his competitors.
It was a very decent story, not something I knew anything about. Colin Firth was very good in the lead role beginning the film bustling with excitement and confidence and ending a frail wreck of a man. Rachael Weisz was somewhat underused but good in the scenes she had. An entertaining true story that's worth watching.
October 27, 2018
Colin Firth is outstanding. A desperately sad tale of innocent dreams, thwarted ambition, and a family ripped apart.
August 31, 2018
Once again if not for Colin Firth carrying the film with his usual depth of performance this movie might have fallen short.
July 18, 2018
With no great experience at sailing in the open ocean, and in a boat that was untested Donald Crowhurst left Teignmouth, Devon, in the United Kingdom in the 31st of October 1968. Donald was a contestant in the Sunday Times Golden Globe race to circumnavigate the world solo. Donald put up his house and business in order to raise the money to compete. The film chronicles the obstacles faced by Donald Before and during the race. The film features Colin Firth as Donald Crowhurst. Rachel Weisz plays Donald's wife Clair. The film also features David Thewlis as Donald's publicist. The film was written by Scott Z. Burns and is directed by James Marsh. The film does what a film is supposed to do. It entertains and touches one's emotions. Don't believe what you read about this movie, at an hour and fifty-two minutes it is just the right length.
July 17, 2018
A good film but a bit slow for my liking and not really as thrilling as i'd hoped it was going to be.
½ July 15, 2018
Starts off interesting, but turns into a snoozer.
½ June 8, 2018
I was really excited about this film. Unfortunately it was a bit of a let down. I was disappointed in the story and acting.
June 4, 2018
watch the DOCO DEEP WATER (2006) instead. Way better and adds more depth to the race as much as the participants. Moitissier is incredible.
½ March 17, 2018
Interesting story, but not a special movie. Colin Firth show his usual competence
March 16, 2018
A fascinating story that somehow feels like it deserves somewhat more intensity than a handsome telling.
March 6, 2018
THE MERCY - THE PERIOD BIOPIC OF DONALD CROWHURST - AN AMATEUR SAILOR WHO DECIDED TO ENTER THE SUNDAY TIMES GOLDEN GLOBE AROUND THE WORLD SAILING RACE. HEY - IT HAS COLIN FIRTH AND RACHEL WEISZ - IT'S WORTHY OF A VIEWING.

THE MERCY IS NOT GOING TO BE THE BE ALL AND END ALL OF CINEMA AS WE KNOW IT, BUT AS IT STANDS, THE UPCOMING WEEKS OF FILMS ARE LOOKING TO BE A BIT OF A SLUDGE HERE IN AUSTRALIA, WITH ALL THE INTERESTING FILMS NOT COMING OUT UNTIL LATE MARCH AT THE EARLIEST. SO, IF YOU'RE AFTER SOMETHING WITH A LITTLE MORE THEMATIC INTEREST THAN WHAT MAINSTREAM CINEMAS ARE SURE TO BE OFFERING THESE NEXT FEW WEEKS, I'D CERTAINLY RECOMMEND THE MERCY.

FULL REVIEW IS NOW UP ON SALTY POPCORN.
March 6, 2018
not Colin firths best
½ February 23, 2018
I liked this film much more than I thought I would. Generally understated, gentle, poignant telling of an unusual story. There are striking shots of the open sea, both in its most calm and sparkling state and at its most dark and destructive. I thought I would find Colin Firth too old for the role of Donald Crowhurst but his touching portrayal of a dreamer out of his depth was perfect. Also a great performance by David Thewlis as Crowhurst's publicist pumping up the pressure surrounding the yachtsman. On looking out for who had produced the amazing score for this film I was sad to see it was Johann Johannsson who only recently passed away. I felt the music was a major part of the haunting nature of the film and it is incredibly sad that someone who was capable of adding so much to a film is no longer here.
½ February 19, 2018
Bland characters and a horrible waste of Rachel Weisz, who spends the whole movie just looking sad for her oh so heoric husband. Bechdel Test anyone?
February 15, 2018
Great performance from Colin Firth, which gives you real sympathy for Donald Crowhurst and his situation. Not a feel-good movie but definitely a thought-provoking one.
Page 1 of 2