The Man Who Killed Hitler and Then The Bigfoot - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Man Who Killed Hitler and Then The Bigfoot Reviews

Page 1 of 6
May 21, 2019
Sam Elliott is always great, but sadly he falls victims to a few weak plot points in this film.

I went into this movie excited, expecting this sort of over the top tale of a man who lived this extraordinary life...don't get me wrong his life was amazing, but I feel like they didn't really expand upon it as much as I wish they had.

I'm still rating the movie as decent because the plot and the acting were superb, it's just that the ideas weren't fleshed out enough. I'd probably watch it again if somebody wanted me to but won't seek it out.
½ May 13, 2019
This is ok. It is very boring for most of the film but I thought the weird premise still kept me interested. Oh and Bigfoot, she does not have a big foot so that's a new take on the Bigfoot.
May 4, 2019
Don't believe the critics hype - this movie is not all that.

"The Man Who Killed Hitler and Then the Bigfoot" is a mash up of two types of films. One is a poignant war movie of the sacrifices made when a man goes away to fight in WW II, and the regrets of what he didn't do before he left. Two is a complete fantasy about how that same man assassinated Hitler and - surprise - then goes on to kill Bigfoot, not because its Bigfoot, but to save the world!

I was expecting something like "FDR: American Badass", yet TMWKHATTB is so not in that vein. Sam Elliot, as always, is great. The rest of the cast also deliver. And the sets and feel for the times also standout, especially in Nazi Germany. Yet, the whole storyline just was so off. It just takes itself much, much too serious when this should have been played much more off the charts or lighthearted, anything other than the way it comes off. Thinking about it, this film is trying to be like "Big Fish", but so misses the mark.

Very disappointing.
May 2, 2019
So much was right with this film, but I couldn't suspend belief a couple times. I took the story seriously. If I was missing allegories, so be it... I wasn't ready for that watching this one only a couple days after "Us". There was a lot to like about this movie. A fine drama was in there somewhere. Even AFTER the unbelievable stuff. I just thought to myself during the movie that this is what we (mature movie goers who don't favor superheroes in tights) get from the writers coming up. Or film after film that tries to pound it home how rotten the USA is. Hmmm, maybe that's why those superhero flicks are so prevalent & popular? Not sure to give this 2 stars - the negative Me - or 4 - the positive Me, so split the difference. Saw this at a theater, may watch again on the small screen at a later time to double check the above...
[If you are under 40 or even 45 you probably cannot appreciate the performance of the 74 year old Sam Elliot.]
½ April 23, 2019
Literally the worst movie I've ever seen in my life.
½ April 14, 2019
There were some positive aspects in this god awful movie. There was two very amazing dogs. Sam Elliot's talented is wasted in this 1.5 hrs of 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2~???'. The cinematography was well done until this zombie/furry flea bag shows up looking like a 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2~monster of the week'. A day on an I'm still questioning my life choices to rent it. Trigger warning - when the final showdown happens look away because the puke can't be unseen.
April 13, 2019
Good movie. Worth to watch. Title a bit deceptive maybe, but good story, music also a plus. Great acting too. 4 star for a different movie.
April 12, 2019
Well, this is a thing. So this is about a war hero (Sam Elliott). In his youth, he was the one who actually shot Adolf Hitler, though historians may try to tell you differently. Many years later, the government approaches him once again with a new task: to track and kill the mythical and sickly Bigfoot, so as to make sure his disease doesn't spread to humanity. I'm going to be honest here: there are two reasons why this got my attention. 1. The title and, 2. It has Sam Elliott. Nobody is talking about this, and I can promise you that 99% of the rentals that this movie receives will be because of those two reasons. It's not on the level of something like Sharknado, but honestly, I think that would have been a bit of improvement. Now I will admit: I think my expectations affected how I ultimately ended up feeling about this movie. I mean really, if you read the title, you don't have much of a choice other than to picture something that is campy, tongue-in-cheek and served with a healthy portion of ham. I thought this was going to be somewhat funny, and while there are glimmers of that, they are fleeting at best. For the most part, this is told pretty straight-faced, and I don't think that was the route to go here. All that accomplishes is drawing your attention to the fact that they really don't have a whole lot going on here. Once you hit the halfway point, you realize that these are two completely different movies that don't really have anything to do with each other. Apart from a few pieces of memorabilia, you wouldn't have the faintest idea that Sam Elliot and Aidan Turner are playing the same character at different points in life. The story never intersects at any point, so why bother to put them in the same movie? This isn't dreadful, and it is always nice to see Sam Elliott on the screen. He even is given a couple of action scenes that are satisfactory, but strangely enough, the most memorable part about this is a throwaway scene where he interacts with a store clerk played by Ellar Coltrane (AKA the kid from Boyhood). At the end of the day, they did not have enough material to make one movie, so they crammed two half movies into a blender, and neither one complements the other at any point. There's a really good Labrador Retriever in this, but other than that and the aforementioned scene, this is a pass for me.
½ April 8, 2019
Elliot is so cool. But this movie is so dumb.
April 6, 2019
Sam Elliott awesome. The movie not so much.
½ April 6, 2019
One of the worst movies of all time. The ending leaves you with a bad taste in your mouth and is unsatisfying. If im gonna invest that much time in a movie i deserve to be rewarded at the end. Spoiler alert: you never find out what is in the bloody box!
½ April 5, 2019
Worst movie ever! Can I have my 2 hours of life back? Even Sam Elliot's acting could not save this STUPID movie. The only thing worse than the title is the movie plot itself. So glad this was a free viewing, no hard earned dollars were spent and even then, I paid too much! Even if a person was stoned, this movie would not be enjoyable....
April 2, 2019
i didn't care about this movie
April 2, 2019
Movie jumped around a lot. Kinda stupid.
½ March 31, 2019
An admirable work of tone and style over substance, and yet the flaws are deeply human and sympathetic; in this way the film becomes a bizarre embodiment of its protagonist, confused about what its purpose is in the first place. But this is part of what makes it so strangely engaging.
March 30, 2019
this movie has a hero we all deserve but we do not need.
½ March 29, 2019
This film is nothing. I enjoy watching Sam Elliot, I suppose. Beyond that; nothing happens and I'm given no reason to care.
March 29, 2019
insane...title says it all.
March 26, 2019
Pretty brave choice for a feature debut. I predict some interesting stuff from this cat in the future.
Page 1 of 6