The Invisible Woman - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Invisible Woman Reviews

Page 1 of 9
March 5, 2017
The costume design and production design are both impressive and the performances are decent. But the script it's a slow slow burn and the movie is pretty darn boring. I wasn't engaged at all with the characters or story. A snoozer. Don't watch this one if you're tired.
½ February 3, 2017
A grotesque romanticization of an extremely selfish and cruel act on the part of a man who exploited his power and position to needlessly wound the woman and children who had a right to expect the reverse treatment.

The attempt to assert that 'Nelly' actually loved Dickens seems more like wishful thinking on the part of the middle-aged director. It falls apart on the slightest historical investigation, nor does it hold up in the film. There's zero chemistry between the lead roles.

As to the artistic direction, yes the acting was good, but when the days of shaky cam and self-indulgent long shots end, it will be a great day for cinema.
September 5, 2016
A beautiful looking (costumes, sets, geography) and finely filmed period piece. Three quarters of the film is subtle, delicately exposing the complications of falling in love within the confines of expected and established social conventions. The last quarter of the film though loses this subtlety and dips into melodrama with a hasty and unconvincing ending.
August 10, 2016
Ralph Fienes Coriolanus hinted at some gall behind the camera to mirror his gall in front of it, but this film squashes all hope of that. It is exactly the reason actors are loathed to direct. A weepy, treacly, overly-sentimental true story with no subtext that is a bore to watch. Fiennes' Charles Dickens is only mildly interesting as he leaves his wife for another woman he takes as his mistress. Felicity Jones plays the mistress and bookends the film as the same mistress as an unhappily married older woman whose greatest memories are of DIckens. Jones is once again a black hole of charisma with an inert character whose sole attribute is "proud." Fiennes should stick to good roles in other people's films.
June 30, 2016
I love romantic movies because I enjoy losing myself for a few hours and being totally absorbed by the screen. It was easy to keep track of myself for the entire time as I did not feel any chemistry between Nelly and Charles. However, I appreciated the period costumes and the story line. I feel like I am in the know now about the long affair of Charles and Nelly. I am glad that I took the time to watch.
June 20, 2016
An Invisible Woman is a good allegory for the state of celebrity and the affairs that have a tendency to occur between creative people, in this case it happens to be set in Dickens era England with the man himself Charles Dickens as played by its director Ralph Finnes with one of his directorial chamber pieces and co stars his English Patient co star Kristen Scott Thomas and new up and comer Felicity Jones who is seemingly everywhere especially with the up and coming Rogue One. The acting is very solid if quiet and intimate and the costumes are picture perfect as one would expect. Its almost one of those Merchant Ivory films in some respects. Not bad and acts as a solid patch for a theatre piece for actors to research and I can easily see it being translated to a stage play at some point. Not bad.
March 7, 2016
For me a terrible boring story set in an aria which i don't like....the first 40 minutes did hurt my eyes and ears , second half they start a relation , got a baby , baby dies ....blablabla relation over !
February 23, 2016
As cute and believable as Jones is, the rest is awkward, unbalanced and without any real depth or goals. I am not sure what the real point of the story was. That Dickens had an long affair with a woman he kept secret? It somehow made that question into a two hour movie. Showing and telling little else.
Super Reviewer
December 24, 2015
Ralph Fiennes plays a good Dickens but fails to develop adequate chemistry with his co-star. Nice try though.
November 29, 2015
un film ennuyant qui se passe beaucoup au théâtre. A éviter
½ August 16, 2015
Dull and unengaging, despite the cast.

The true story of how, in later life, Charles Dickens (played by Ralph Fiennes), while married, becomes infatuated with a younger woman, Nelly (played by Felicity Jones). The movie follows their relationship.

On the plus side, this isn't your usual syrupy-sweet, trite romance. There is a degree of vulnerability on both sides, and it's not all wine-and-roses. However, the story never really grabs you. It just seems to drift along with the only telling scene being the final one involving Felicity Jones.

On that note, Felicity Jones is wonderful (as always) as Nelly. Ralph Fiennes is solid as Charles Dickens. Good support from Kristen Scott Thomas.
½ June 13, 2015
Neither of the protagonists are likeable whatsoever. They have no chemistry with each other; the romance feels random and has no meaning.. Felicity Jones' character has no will of her own and is totally dependent on other people telling her what to do. I found myself diverting my attention to the remarkable attention to detail in the costume and set design to entertain myself, because they really were incredible.
½ June 1, 2015
The plot is slow-moving but the story is good and the Felicity Jones and Ralph Fiennes give great performances. Fiennes also shows some directing talent here.
May 28, 2015
Superb. An imagining of the state of mind of Nellie Ternan, Dickens' mistress for thirteen years, after his death and her reinvention as an eighteen-year-old at the age of thirty-one. The script, acting and filming are all excellent, and the tale itself is haunting. All kinds of issues around the role of women and the nature of Victorian society are presented for consideration in a non-judgemental framework.
½ April 30, 2015
Invisible Woman is rich with well written lines and well acted performances. Ralph Fiennes and Felicity Jones are brilliant. Here we explore the relationship between Charles Dickens and his lover Nelly that he kept secret for many years. We really feel for Nelly as she is being manipulated by Dickens. She is too weak to stand up for herself. With no guidance she hides herself from the public and becomes the invisible woman. The film gives insight into a famous writers life and how out of the spot light he wasn't immortal but a man that did what many have done and will continue doing.
½ March 11, 2015
Nice job by Ralph Fieness on his directorial debut.
March 5, 2015
I was excited to see this movie. I love period pieces and I live Dickens. I thought this would be a match made in heaven but this movie was never realized. It was the seed of a story that never grew into anything. It is probably that there just wasn't much of a story to tell. The truth about Dickens and Ternan isn't well known. There was no written evidence and both their families kept silent about their affair. So there really was no meat to this story. A good writer of course could fill this in but I found the details of their story lacking. There wasn't much to tell.

I noted that Fiennes also directed and I think he split his focus and the overall quality of the film suffered. He should direct or act in a film but not both.
February 26, 2015
Its extremely slow pace as lacking events definitely contributed to this films failure but its major flaw was its poor directing.
February 25, 2015
Not one of my personal favorites. The story was lacking and the ending was so vague it left me only with more questions. Although the cast was good, the movie unfortunately didn't turn out so well.
Page 1 of 9