The Invisible Woman - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Invisible Woman Reviews

Page 1 of 8
June 9, 2020
Love period pieces. Love Ralph Fiennes. Pacing is a little off and is frustrating to the watching the plot unfold.
January 7, 2020
I am in awe of The Invisible Woman.
August 7, 2019
What's most audacious are the long silences that pervade the drama: a true luxury in a multiplex culture intent on deafening the viewer.
June 7, 2019
Beautifully shot and performed but lacking in clarity, The Invisible Woman is a series of snapshots rather than a coherent whole.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
April 3, 2019
I constantly found myself taking momentary vacations from the story to admire the elaborate furnishings, because whatever British ho-humming the characters on screen were doing was losing its grip on me.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.7/10
March 6, 2019
Fine performances from Fiennes, Jones et al, some beautiful visuals and several excellent scenes keep The Invisible Woman interesting and watchable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 16, 2019
The Invisible Woman is a quietly compelling chronicle of an uneven but binding relationship.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 18, 2018
Fiennes has crafted one of the more original heritage movies of recent years.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 31, 2018
Fiennes ... [is] a hammy, unconvincing Dickens, and his scenes with Jones lack spark.
August 23, 2018
Fiennes' sophomore directorial outing remains little more than Dickens fetishism.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
August 22, 2018
A dreary disappointment. Were I invisible, [Ralph Fiennes] might be on the receiving end of a few pranks for taking two hours of my life.
May 4, 2018
An elegantly staged British costume drama from the Victorian Age that however failed to move me.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
February 21, 2018
This is everything a period drama almost never is: underplayed, witty, poignant and, above all, real.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 30, 2017
Fiennes is excellent -- delivering both the charm, charisma and showmanship we expect and the flaws and the weaknesses we do not.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 12, 2015
Far more attentive to visual storytelling than most actors who step behind the camera, Fiennes conveys shifting dynamics through his characters' positions within the frame.
October 10, 2014
It's unhurried yet confident, familiar yet provocative. With fine cinematography by Robert Hardy (Blitz), most 'Expectations' will, indeed, be met.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 10, 2014
The performances are first-rate -- Fiennes and Jones are stellar, as are Kristin Scott Thomas as Nelly's mother and Tom Hollander as playwright Collins -- and the score and period details are sumptuous. But the film still drags.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
August 18, 2014
The Invisible Woman is a beautiful picture with strong performances, but made unnecessarily convoluted.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
May 14, 2014
The Invisible Woman is so subtle and secretive that it sets a record as the most low-keyed of its usually feverish genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
May 2, 2014
The Invisible Woman is a fine-looking period piece and Fiennes has an eye for nuance as Dickens tries handling the public news of his private life in a world that has just discovered the thrill of newspaper gossip.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 8