The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley Reviews

Page 1 of 1
May 17, 2019
What a strange person and strange situation.
April 29, 2019
There's nothing terribly notable about this surface-level crime doc, except for the presence of Elizabeth Holmes herself. She's such a uniquely strange but charismatic individual, who perfectly embodies the problems with the formula for unearned Silicon Valley success.
April 18, 2019
It's a really good doc but it's also very incomplete, and for the juiciest part too. It tells a nice story of how this nerd Elizabeth Thanos was a child star and dropped out of Stanford at 19. A few years later she's in Silicon Valley, with a powerful board and many media features proclaiming her genius. The only problem is that it was all based on bullshit. A great concept that was near impossible to execute (yet she went around proclaiming it was already executing to perfection). And that lie got her hundreds of millions in investments from VC's and uber millionaires. A combination of that and irresponsibly putting the public at risk via an agreement with Walgreens to roll out their faulty product/service.
Elizabeth made sure that employees were so scared of their monitoring and NDA's that they fear reprisals for letting the public know what was really going. That is except for 2 brave souls who took steps to confide in the Wall St Journal and the other to CMS a government regulatory agency. And between them they took a $10,000,000,000 down to less than $0. And that's where the documentary stops, and it only focused on the "less than $0" part for 5-10 min... when in fact, that story is the most exciting part. They never showed her being accountable for all her fraud and lies. Or the POV from swindled investors. Etc. So instead of being a 5* doc it settled at being a 4* doc. But that's still a compliment as the doc is very entertaining and interesting, and definitely worth a watch.
April 7, 2019
Elizabeth Holmes is a complete nut and sociopath!
March 30, 2019
I read John Carreyrou's book and was super excited to see this. It has all the traits of a great scandalous fraud story or at the very least a good episode of American Greed. HBO is so great at making documentaries, I kind of figured that this would be amazing. It really underwhelms. I would encourage you to go read the full book instead. If you're short for time, just read John Carreyrou's WSJ articles.
½ March 28, 2019
Very good overview of the case. It shows the profile of a commercial sociopath who was so blinded by ambition and the public spotlight that she didn't care who she hurt. What's even more disturbing is how so many people took her narrative solely on its face. A great cautionary tale for all of us.
March 26, 2019
The content is so interesting that I wish the filmmakers didn't go in such a stylistic direction. I wish there were more information jam packed in here. Still, fascinating documentary.
½ March 25, 2019
The Inventor works best when it focuses on the events and players involved in the rise and fall of Theranos. It takes a while to get there, with detours involving comparisons to Thomas Edison and questions surrounding human behavior and ethics which are somehow less interesting and effective.
½ March 24, 2019
Wish I could give this zero stars. The podcast was far more interesting. It´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)s like Gibney doesn´┐ 1/2 1/2(TM)t know what makes a scandal scandalous. Totally boring, never really gets to a point.
March 24, 2019
Fascinating dive into a mind: genius or lunatic?
½ March 21, 2019
The Inventor: Out for Blood in Silicon Valley (2019)

Elizabeth Holmes is the sleazy type of psycho/sociopath at whom people will near-blindly throw their money and trust. She and her cohort, "Sunny" (Ramesh Balwani), deserve their indictments, penalties, and any time they will serve.

I wish this documentary had been a 2-3 part series, as there is so much information about this woman and her lackeys that it simply could not be covered in 119 minutes. While Ms. Holmes is a real-life villain in this film, stories about the heroes (whistle-blowers) were far too brief.

While Elizabeth Holmes bamboozled so many investors and employees (even government agencies), it would be interesting to hear from WALGREENS. Why did they allow such an unproven "system" into their popular stores - putting people at serious risk?

Methinks the motive was more financial than altruistic...as with so many of Ms. Holmes "blind" investors and evangelists, including many feminists and tech worshippers.

-March 2019
½ March 20, 2019
Great story.. terrible documentary
½ March 20, 2019
I've never wanted to leave a review or have cared about leaving one until now. I don't believe that critics hold the correct view for any film, you should experience it yourself and form your own opinions about it. And if you liked it then good, because I did like some parts of this documentary.
I was very excited about this being made when I first heard about it, an in depth look at the mess that was Theranos; who was involved? Why did people who had doubts become convinced? Who really was Elizabeth Holmes? Who got hurt? What was the problem with the "Edison" blood devices ?

Sadly we only get a glimpse to of some these questions, rather than an in depth look. A few YouTube video can give you better answers then this documentary.

There were a few other things that were mentioned that got glanced over:

- A suicide of an employee (who was a very qualified individual for the job)
- Why Walgreens had said yes to allowing untested machines in there stores, and paying them to bring them in
- who was Elizabeth Holmes family
- her relationship with her employees and the manipulation that happened in the Theranos office

Now I don't know if this was intentional or not, for all I know they could've been threaten if they talked about certain things. The one thing you do learn is how they kept stretching the truth so that no one would see that there machines didn't work.

Other things they focused on: Elizabeth Holmes ambition, the machines that didn't work, and the people involved. I literally summarized the documentary for you, and it bums me out because I really wanted it to be so much more, especially since this was going to get more attention being aired on HBO.

What still bothering me is the employee suicide, they gave it only a little bit of attention to it, which is almost the way Theranos reacted to his death. Just like Theranos and there "Edison" machines, the documentary feels like a somewhat good idea, with an underwhelming result.
March 20, 2019
Could have been so much better. They took is easy on Holmes and Balwani in my opinion. More focus should have been placed on their shady dealings.
March 20, 2019
I did not like the documentary unfortunately. The book and podcast are so much better. It is not hard hitting. Makes her seem like someone with a big dream who just got caught up in the ethos of Silicon Valley. Way way way too sympathetic. I think that if people watch it without knowing anything else they will just see a naive passionate entrepreneur trying to keep up with her idols and peers.
½ March 19, 2019
Otro gran trabajo de Gibney. En este documental queda claro como la locura de una persona puede arrastrar a tantos cegados por la avaricia as├ş se trate de jugar con la salud de sus compatriotas. Nada nuevo, pero es un grandioso ejemplo tomado de Silicon Valley.
March 19, 2019
Just okay. Expected much more out of this documentary, this topic had so much potential.
March 18, 2019
In an all too familiar tale of Americans being easily bedazzled and bamboozled by good looking, fast talking con artists with a smooth line of bull-caca, this film shows how capitalism really works in this country. Spin a good lie with plenty of schmoozing and boozing with the elite, cozy up to powerful people who flatter easily, hire lawyers to protect your lie and then Ponzi scheme your way to billions. Elizabeth Holmes had it all; looks, brains, confidence and mankind-saving charisma by the truckload. What she did not have was ethics, morality, a conscience or the protective sense that her house of cards could collapse with a few blown whistles and an intrepid reporter. Which is exactly what happened. This film is really a two hour version of "American Greed", which any fan of that show knows follows the predictable script written for Ms Holmes by the likes of Ken Lay, Bernie Madoff et al. Expect many more stories like this.
March 18, 2019
Average at best. Elizabeth Holmes is 35, she was 19 when she started Theranos and Gibney uses old timey footage for some reason to chronicle her life and redundant needle to skin cut screens. In addition it's also nothing terribly revealing. If you want a more penetrating docu check out the podcast: The Dropout.
Page 1 of 1