The Internship - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Internship Reviews

Page 1 of 174
½ May 12, 2019
I think y'all are high, this movie is amazing. It's inspiring with the hope of the American dream.
May 12, 2019
I really like this movie and it's pretty funny and I always can laugh.
½ April 6, 2019
Se deja ver, cae en muchos estereotipos.
½ March 8, 2019
Had a couple moments but was overly predictable for the majority of the film.
February 8, 2019
Vince Vaughn is brilliant as usual, a great movie for anyone who had to live through the aftermath mess that was the financial crash of 2008
September 29, 2018
Cliché as fuck but hey at least we get the Owen Vincent combo
July 7, 2018
When it comes to movies, this is really one of them! I laugh almost hole movie, most of all during strip club part. I turn to Elroy and say "Oh Elroy! this too much!!" He then say "its funny all right!" But best part when Billy say "most radical move is be yourself" what does it mean? Who know! its what make the "intern ship" one of the best mystery I've ever seen

but hole movie I sit there and think "where is the intern ship"? not one boat in hole movie. not even a sailor. When they go to Gold gate bridge, I say "oh finally, we get to see the ship!" But no ship happens. I guess that part of "mystery" movie.

Still good movie, just don't get your hope up for any boat to come. Thanks, John
June 19, 2018
Interesting enough concept, with two unskillful dudes going into one of the richest/biggest companies in the world, but not all that hilarious on the comedy side. While the drama was decent, it too may not have been completely satisfactory. Solid enough film overall.
May 14, 2018
Very fun story but not realistic to real life. It isn't that easy irl.
½ April 12, 2018
beguiling, 'the internship' opens with good chemistry between a comedic match made in heaven. but not until the actual internship begins does it slip out of the fish-out-of-water convention into a vexed, lazy, 'feel-good' cliche-fest.
½ March 15, 2018
A pretty harmless and entertaining comedy that is a quasi sequel to Wedding crashers. Due to the success of wedding Crashers we get another comedy that is nowhere near as good or as original.
Wilson and Vaughan are always entertaining to watch but the script they are given lacks any real laughs.
This film is a credit to the 2 leads who suck out every laugh they can out of this tired script.
Still it's a fun watch and a good hangover movie for fans of the 2 leads.
March 12, 2018
Strengths: The reason Owen Wilson (Nick) and Vince Vaughn (Billy) work together so often is because they play well off each other. That was the case here. Their scenes together were the highlights and they did what they could to overcome the other shortcomings of the movie. Tiya Sircar (Neha) was fine in her role, while Josh Gad (Headphones) had himself a fun little role. There were a few scenes that stood out as good work for those involved. The one at the strip club and what comes next were strong team building moments. I also liked the Quidditch game.

Weaknesses: This is a very formulaic flick. It's paint-by-numbers and follows what you've come to expect from fish out of water and underdog stories. Though there are some laughs from things like the Quidditch game, but not enough to overcome the clichés. There's a severe misuse of some of the more talented people in the cast. Rose Byrne (Diana) has shown comedic chops before, but is mostly on the sidelines here. Also, why cast the hilarious Eric Andre (Sid) if you're going to have him do next to nothing? And what was up with Max Minghella (Graham) and his awful accent? I know it was supposed to be a fake one, but it was just so bad. Lastly, at just about two hours, the movie drags a bit. There's just no need for it to be that long.

Overall: Nowhere near the level of the best Wilson and Vaughn have to offer (Wedding Crashers). They still utilize that chemistry they're so well known for, but the script is too formulaic to make this anything special.
½ February 21, 2018
I watched this for Dylan O'Brien, but not even he could save this movie. The jokes aren't funny and the ones that barely are dragged on for way too long. I don't even think the writers have met a real woman before writing this film.
December 24, 2017
I only watched this movie once last year, but I just wanted to share my opinion about it already.
From what I remember about it, I thought it was unfunny and uninteresting - and not even Josh Gad could save this piece-of-crap show.
To be honest, I'm not a huge Vince Vaughn fan. He looks funny on the outside, but on the inside...well, he just tries his best, I guess.
For your information, you should have just called this 'The Google Movie', instead of 'The Internship'. It's the most unconvincing film title like 'Their Finest'!
November 24, 2017
I liked it. Good cast with good laughs.
November 19, 2017
What can i say about this movie. It is perfect in every single way possible. characters? amazing. writing? amazing. concept of the entire movie? amazing! the dynamic duo of vince vaughn and owen wilson adds so much along with the acting of all the side characters. the best part of the entire movie is the end; however, so please stop ruining this move with this God awful rating.
½ August 29, 2017
Very formulaic. Talk about film by numbers. However, I was surprised to find I did enjoy some of it. But there's too much familiarity about it, then I realised it's just like all the other films they've starred in together.
August 27, 2017
Surprisingly good movie, pretty funny, and has a great message.
August 21, 2017
6/10 A bit funny, more a giant ad for Google...
August 20, 2017
GREG: (Greg Smith, Founder of Agile Writers of Richmond, VA) Well, Scott, after watching The Internship I want to run right out and get a job with Google!

SCOTT: (Dr. Scott Allison, Professor of Psychology, University of Richmond) Me, too, Greg. This movie allowed us to witness the behind-the-scenes coolness of how Google operates. Well, at least the Hollywood version of how it operates.

GREG: Our story starts out with two intrepid salesmen, Billy and Nick (Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson) selling watches to a retailer. They don t get far into their polished pitch when the mark tells them their business folded and they are out of jobs. They rush back to headquarters where their boss, (John Goodman), tells them they are dinosaurs. Nobody needs a watch because everyone has a smartphone to tell time with.

SCOTT: Desperate for money, the two men apply for summer internship positions at Google and only get the job because they differ from the norm. They are clearly misfits at Google and are thrown together with quirky Google employee Lyle (Josh Brener) and three other outliers, Stuart (Dylan O Brien), Yo-Yo (Tobit Rafael), and Leha (Tiya Sicar). The six of them form a team that must meet a series of competitive challenges to land a permanent job at the company.

GREG: But things aren t as easy as they might seem. Aside from the fact that our heroes are obviously out of their element, they have a nemesis in Graham (Max Minghella), an overly ambitious and arrogant Noogler (new Googler) who is out to derail team Lyle. Scott, this is a classic fish out of water tale with Google as the ocean our buddies have landed in. If you mixed Meatballs and One Flew Over the Cuckoo s Nest you d have a pretty good idea of what is to come. I was all set to hate this movie s formulaic premise, but Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson are so incredibly likable that it is hard to not to get sucked into the plot and start cheering for these underdogs.

SCOTT: I agree, Greg. Vaughn and Wilson play two lovable goofballs who find themselves in way over their heads and yet are so sweet and endearing that we find ourselves rooting for them to succeed in an environment that they can t possibly thrive in. We won t give away what happens, but we can say that their experience as sales people end up serving them well at Google. We know from the movie trailer that The Internship is a traditional underdog story involving two old tech-challenged guys competing with tech-savvy college students. The old guys even refer to a 1980s underdog movie, Flashdance, in an attempt to make their points to the students who aren t even old enough to get the reference. So once we see it s an underdog movie, we re clued into how the film must end, but that s okay as long as we can enjoy the ride there.

GREG: You ll find everything in it s place: the underdog guy shooting for the impossible girl, the loser who has to overcome his lack of confidence, the geeky guy who comes out of his shell, and the hot girl who has never had a date. There are no surprises and yet it all comes together very nicely. Google, Inc. has claimed no money exchanged hands in the making of the film. However, the film crew were allowed to shoot 5 days at Googleplex - the headquarters of Google in Mountain View, California. We re treated to what it is like to work and live within the Googleplex: free food, free volleyball, and energy pods (a designated area for napping). Despite not contributing to the bottom line, this is a pretty sweet ad for Google.

SCOTT: Yes, Google comes out smelling like a rose in this film, which I m sure was their intent. I didn t mind one bit, however, as we re treated to their impressive facilities, their army of sweet overachieving geeks, and their progressive corporate philosophy. The Internship is a good-natured yet formulaic comedy that is deficient in the laugh department but is nevertheless fairly enjoyable. The movie features appealing characters who overcome their limitations in rising to the occasion to meet both intellectual and romantic challenges. I give The Internship 3 Reels out of 5 for it s overall charm and appeal. The team of heroes underwent a nice transformation, with each individual in the group discovering his or her missing quality. The team itself came together nicely, although I m not sure that a night of drunken debauchery was the only way to achieve team unity. This wasn t a terrific hero story but as a comedy it satisfied me plenty. I give it 3 Heroes out of 5. Movie: Hero:

GREG: All the elements of the hero s journey are in place, and they arrive at just the right times. I was pleased with the buddy story; Billy and Nick are equals in this tale and each props up the other s weaknesses. Sadly, all the funniest bits and major turning points are in the trailer - which is a common problem with today s films. So, for a likable pair of underdogs who pull us in and make us love them, I give The Internship 3 Reels and 3 Heroes. Movie: Hero:
Page 1 of 174