The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society Reviews

Page 1 of 7
May 15, 2019
A great Movie to watch if you cannot sleep, for a girls-night or other activities where the main focus isn't the movie.
The plot has potential on being something more than a typical WW2-Lovestory, but it does not use it. There are too many plotholes and random prop- and filming mistakes to watch it fully without cringing. The movie is Comfort Food- nothing more, nothing less.
April 13, 2019
I truly enjoyed The Guernsey Literary & Potato Peel Pie Society. (I think that this is the first movie title that I genuinely can't pronouns). It is a story of love, friendship, war and ambition. The film location and the costumes were beautiful and the acting was great. Filled with characters you can't help but fall in love with. Some scenes are light and easy going while the next few scenes tell the saddest stories. This movie found the perfect balance between it all. Playing not only with your emotions but with your heart as well, if you ask me. I for sure am watching it again, as soon as possible.
April 10, 2019
I loved this movie. It had what so many movies these days don't have - a gripping story, great acting, old fashioned good movie! #ChickFlick #FeelGood!
March 24, 2019
One of the best movies I have seen. Trust me. I know a good film.
½ March 14, 2019
A long title for quite a small-scale movie, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society tells something of a largely forgotten episode of World War II, namely, the occupation of the Channel islands by the Nazis. To be honest, looking back on it, I can't say a great deal happens but what does happen is beautifully touching. I was particularly moved by the performance of the excellent Penelope Wilton who manages to portray that kind of buttoned-up emotion that when it bursts out, really gives you goose pimples.
March 11, 2019
I really did not have any expectations for this movie, but I LOVED it. In fact, I watched it twice and then read the book, which I NEVER do. I believe, in this case, that the movie should be watched first. That is the best way to enjoy both. The movie sets up the characters better and the book gives a deeper history and a richness that can not possibly be packed into the movie.
½ March 1, 2019
romantic, thrilling, funny, highly recommend
February 28, 2019
It was a great cast. A very hard, but also lovely story. I was immediately drawn into the characters and relatable story.
February 23, 2019
A wonderful escapist film just right for the Trump error....
½ February 19, 2019
what an amazing story about the love and hatred that people feel deep inside the during war... The worst and the best characteristics of a person mysteriously forward in those difficult times. Loved it!
½ February 13, 2019
There´┐ 1/2(TM)s a children´┐ 1/2(TM)s book somewhere in this curious title, and as the original story was completed by the author´┐ 1/2(TM)s niece, Annie Barrows (who happens to be a writer of children´┐ 1/2(TM)s books) it makes me wonder if this was her Auntie´┐ 1/2(TM)s original title? Mary Ann Shaffer, sadly died before her book was published, and from comments made by those who have read ´┐ 1/2~their´┐ 1/2(TM) novel - the film adaption is disappointing. That said, it´┐ 1/2(TM)s highly likely those who read the book, after seeing the movie, may find the reverse. Books and screenplay adaptations can be, and are, a world apart. On its own merits, this is a highly enjoyable movie - offering fine performances, direction, wonderful locations, superior cinematography and convincing recreation of a past era - though, at times, it comes across as part ´┐ 1/2~feature´┐ 1/2(TM) movie and part TV show. There´┐ 1/2(TM)s also a scene where a Bible is rather obviously being used to ´┐ 1/2~push´┐ 1/2(TM) a modern feminist´┐ 1/2(TM)s call.

Lead actress Lily James is like a dream come true - she was the perfect ´┐ 1/2~Cinderella´┐ 1/2(TM) in ´┐ 1/2(TM)15, it´┐ 1/2(TM)s easy to see why she won that part and the accolades. This story is an account of Germany´┐ 1/2(TM)s brutal occupation of Guernsey from 1940-45, detailing its dramatic impact on a group of families and friends. It´┐ 1/2(TM)s both a sentimental romantic tale and an examination of the tragedies experienced by all individuals living under siege. From other reviewer´┐ 1/2(TM)s comments ´┐ 1/2" it might seem certain modern viewers may have perhaps lost the ability to appreciate the effect these times had on long suffering participants ´┐ 1/2" so, some might tend to view certain aspects of this tale with a degree of cynicism. But generally, the majority of audiences should be pleased with the time they spend being entertained by this engaging story.
½ January 31, 2019
I don't think it's a film about literature or Nazism. Instead, I believe that Newell has aimed higher by proposing a universal reflection on how to handle a community trauma. The indissoluble social bonds provoked by a shared existential tragedy are viscerally ambivalent, what unites is the same unspeakable that divides and separates among grudges, rivalses, recriminations. And in front of the narrative of the ineffable or the cinema of the unrepresentable, one can resort to allusive atmospheres but not to sequences or figures that leave the sign: just like the art of Virginia Woolf that, as said in the film, can stir up emotions even with only the inner life and without external actions, and just like the book finally written by the protagonist, not to be published but to bring together the tortured memories of the witnesses, who no longer live but survive by clinging to the sedative of a too classical style and of trivial characters, ridiculous subplots, tearjerker scenes, matter from sitcom, soap opera, melodrama: any kind of distraction. Great metacinema.
(Mauro Lanari)
January 25, 2019
Sweet like a British cozy. Nice acting and scenery.
½ January 22, 2019
The second half is better than the first in that that´┐ 1/2(TM)s where the majority of the conflict and drama takes place in real time (a lot of setup and flashbacks in the first half).Great setting on the English channel, great actors, great concept. Just not delivered in the most satisfying way. Touching ending though!
January 2, 2019
Beautiful scenery and lovely story.
December 29, 2018
Very unusual to love the movie as much as the book. Both were wonderful.
December 26, 2018
A sweet romantic comedy, with a funny setup. The romance was not played up particularly well. You would know what was going to happen, yet no snippets to help you get there. The end love seemed very rushed and abrupt. Lily James was great, but couldn't make this film separate from the Rom-Com pack. The cinematography was amazing.
December 24, 2018
A lovely period romantic drama with sublime actors and a beautiful story. Just sit back and enjoy on a rainy afternoon or romantic evening.
December 23, 2018
Excellent. Loved it!
December 15, 2018
This movie is a very poor refection of the book. I feel the producers have ignored major elements of the storyline and sacrificed them on the altar of ... some weird image of what a modern movie needs to be. I was really disappointed and could hardly keep watching as the story was told in a strangely twisted manner. Do yourself a favour and read or listen to the book.
Page 1 of 7