The Ground Beneath My Feet (Der Boden unter den Füssen) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ground Beneath My Feet (Der Boden unter den Füssen) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
September 1, 2019
Considering it's a film about working way too hard, it doesn't seem to learn from its own central lesson.
November 13, 2019
The Ground Beneath My Feet is writer-director Marie Kreutzer's take on the 21st century working woman. It's a jarring confrontation, a mirror placed in front of the audience to show how we're working ourselves to death.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 2, 2020
Here director Marie Kreutzer examines the unknown. The mysterious. While giving it the look and tone of a thriller. Though it isn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
February 12, 2019
The Ground Beneath My Feet captures the taxing realities of mental illness on those affected and their carers without sentimentality or sugarcoating.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
February 13, 2019
The Ground Beneath My Feet is dead-on with its note of family fear, the reciprocal sickness it summons.
August 21, 2019
The Ground Beneath My Feet thus raises the age-old and sadly still relevant question: can a woman ever be truly free when living in the patriarchy?
April 22, 2019
As an exploration of the emotional toll on women in the male dominated world of business, it would definitely make for a delightfully oddball double bill with Toni Erdmann.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
March 13, 2019
Kreutzer finds the holes to filter a psychological thriller in which without our hands suddenly we see these two sisters as the dark mirror of the other with an overwhelming force. [Full Review in Spanish]
August 2, 2019
In the superbly calibrated new feature from Austrian writer-director Marie Kreutzer, the clash between these opposite approaches to life and work is interpreted as an ambivalent psychological thriller enriched with searing social commentary.
February 11, 2019
Kreutzer's film [has] a depth of insight that is rare in the cinematic treatment of this most misunderstood of diseases.
October 10, 2019
[Marie] Kreutzer paints a... nuanced portrait of the dehumanizing effects of the aesthetically-sterile, male-dominated business world.
October 10, 2019
"The Ground Beneath My Feet" consistently serves as a powerful showcase for the talented Pachner, who manages a performance that is both distant and achingly vulnerable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
February 11, 2019
A seemingly conventional family and social-issue drama... shades engagingly in and out of psychological thriller territory in Austrian director Marie Kreutzer's new film.
January 12, 2020
Well-crafted clinically observed art house tale of a modern-day business woman trapped in a rotten job.
Full Review | Original Score: B
February 11, 2019
An impressively controlled feature about the messy nature of contemporary life.
August 1, 2019
It's as 21st century as portrayals get, and it's a knockout.
July 21, 2019
Yet another examination of mental illness and how that affects the schizoid woman's sister.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
July 25, 2019
While it sometimes dons the characteristics of a psychological thriller, "Ground" eventually unfolds a powerful, metaphor-driven fable, one full of sorrow and anger about the way we live now.
August 23, 2019
The performances are strong and it has a creepy, ominous way of moving along the story that is effective.
Page 1 of 1