The Ground Beneath My Feet (Der Boden unter den Füssen) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ground Beneath My Feet (Der Boden unter den Füssen) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 21, 2020
Marie Kreutzer's film - with all its chilly details - is an effective study of a life at breaking point.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
June 19, 2020
The Ground Beneath My Feet has admirable ideas and an intriguing premise at the core of its story, but the execution is sadly flat and lacking in the kind of energy that could have made its unreliable narrator conceit truly compelling.
June 18, 2020
[An] elegant and mysterious psychological drama...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 17, 2020
First-rate Austrian drama is a damning diagnosis of the neurosis at the heart of contemporary society.
June 15, 2020
It's terrifyingly credible in its depiction of the stress and slog of extreme work pressure.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 14, 2020
[A] tightly focused psychological drama...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 11, 2020
It's a truly remarkable performance in what is an engaging, tense and ultimately rewarding film.
May 26, 2020
This is sophisticated queer filmmaking whose concerns stretch beyond the ghetto or the boardroom.
January 12, 2020
Well-crafted clinically observed art house tale of a modern-day business woman trapped in a rotten job.
Full Review | Original Score: B
January 2, 2020
Here director Marie Kreutzer examines the unknown. The mysterious. While giving it the look and tone of a thriller. Though it isn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 13, 2019
The Ground Beneath My Feet is writer-director Marie Kreutzer's take on the 21st century working woman. It's a jarring confrontation, a mirror placed in front of the audience to show how we're working ourselves to death.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 10, 2019
[Marie] Kreutzer paints a... nuanced portrait of the dehumanizing effects of the aesthetically-sterile, male-dominated business world.
October 10, 2019
"The Ground Beneath My Feet" consistently serves as a powerful showcase for the talented Pachner, who manages a performance that is both distant and achingly vulnerable.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 1, 2019
Considering it's a film about working way too hard, it doesn't seem to learn from its own central lesson.
August 23, 2019
The performances are strong and it has a creepy, ominous way of moving along the story that is effective.
August 21, 2019
The Ground Beneath My Feet thus raises the age-old and sadly still relevant question: can a woman ever be truly free when living in the patriarchy?
August 2, 2019
In the superbly calibrated new feature from Austrian writer-director Marie Kreutzer, the clash between these opposite approaches to life and work is interpreted as an ambivalent psychological thriller enriched with searing social commentary.
August 1, 2019
It's as 21st century as portrayals get, and it's a knockout.
July 25, 2019
While it sometimes dons the characteristics of a psychological thriller, "Ground" eventually unfolds a powerful, metaphor-driven fable, one full of sorrow and anger about the way we live now.
July 21, 2019
Yet another examination of mental illness and how that affects the schizoid woman's sister.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Page 1 of 2