The Gambler - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Gambler Reviews

Page 1 of 48
April 14, 2019
- The supporting actress was really not needed in the story.
- No clear reason why he suddenly decided to clean himself.
Super Reviewer
January 20, 2019
Marky Mark try'na sell a watch to a stereotype made me kinda shame-laugh, and the last act was an improvement on the first two, but The Gambler is not something I would recommend to, realistically, anyone at all.
January 19, 2019
Esta buena,es entretenida 7/10
½ December 19, 2018
Good film but not Mark Wahlbergs best
December 5, 2018
The Gambler has good performances all around that entertain you during a movie that has a familiar plot.
November 13, 2018
Although this thriller is more conceived as a character study than it's interested in suspense, and it has a good cast and is professionally directed, the gambler himself is a most disagreeable narcissist for whom hardly anyone can root for.
Super Reviewer
½ October 22, 2018
Wahlberg delivers one of the finest performances in recent times. The biggest problem is the film built around him sadly can't serve the story and it's this mix up that robs the film of being something grand and original. Wyatt has a consistent vision but he tends to lose the whole focus towards the end and we are essentially robbed of a film with a core purpose. I liked the film and the tone but it struggles to overcome a lucklustre love connection, which becomes one of the key parts of the story at some point. The support cast has depth and shine when provided the chance, Goodman shares one of the best scenes in the later part of the story. This is a good film but not great, the performances surrounding it are worth the ticket but the overall story is lacking where it needed to shine. 19/10/2018.
½ October 20, 2018
Competely generic and lifeless movie about a gambler. Nothing even remotely good about it. If you like old movies see the James Caan movie of the same name.
½ October 8, 2018
this is a good movie, he is not a grambler he just want to make trouble
April 23, 2018
Wouldn't like it if it wasn't for the performance from john Goodman!
December 9, 2017
Unattractive, hard to follow, boring and dull. This movie was just hard to get through.
½ October 28, 2017
Boring movie good cast n pretty much every other word is a bad word. I recommend skipping this movie total waste of time!!
½ August 21, 2017
7.5/10 Quite strong and mysterious.
August 17, 2017
This film could have been much better.
August 14, 2017
One cliche after another. ??
½ July 31, 2017
This was an alright movie, that's it. Overall, it was kind of depressing and the whole time you just feel bad for Jim Bennett (Mark Wahlberg) and everyone who has a legit gambling problem. There's not much of a storyline except for the fact that Jim owes some Asian dude a lot of money that he gambled away. There were lots of strange parts in the movie that sort of led into tangents off of the storyline throughout the movie. Not one of Mark Wahlberg's best films.

The last scene is perfect though.
July 26, 2017
my family and I found this movie very entertaining. loved it!
May 29, 2017
Not a fan of Marky Mark Wahlberg, to me he's got about as much acting power as Kristen Stewart and looks wise reminds me of an ugly version of Tom Brady. So when he's playing a very unlikeable character in an extremely boring movie, it doesn't matter if you have John Goodman, Jessica Lange and a decently cute Brie Larson, it's going to be a suckfest. BLEGH.
May 9, 2017
This was a pretty good movie for its realism. Everyone would prefer to gamble their money and win, but in reality the house always wins and usually makes profits on a bunch of suckers that don't understand probability. This plot line seemed simple enough. I thought it was original but looks like it's a remake.
April 22, 2017
Marky Mark plays a character who I really hoped was going to get what was coming to him
Page 1 of 48