Evil Dead - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Evil Dead Reviews

Page 1 of 10
April 9, 2020
We are shocked, scared, and horrified by what happens on screen during the running time of The Evil Dead. But we love it because of its creativity, craftsmanship...
November 18, 2019
What separates the original Evil Dead from other horror flicks is that it moves away from the idea of a Last Girl and allows Campbell to play the role of Last Boy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.2/5
August 14, 2019
Watch Evil Dead at your own risk...
August 6, 2019
It's just another bland gore-fest that plays like the reheated remains of far better films that have come before.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
April 12, 2019
What makes the film work is that it's not completely consumed with hitting every single beat from the original. It paves its own gory path, though the spirit of Raimi and Campbell can be felt throughout.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
April 9, 2019
Director Fede Alvarez digs deep into the genre's familiar bag of tricks but concocts a movie that is a pretty bloody good time.
March 2, 2019
Scary, uncomfortable, entertaining, gross, bloody, and disgusting-with a pretty decent plot to boot. I can't wait to see it again.
February 27, 2019
Much like the Dawn of the Dead remake, at first assumed a travesty yet surprisingly good, Evil Dead can almost boast the same. Almost.
February 12, 2019
A perfectly functional horror reboot that far surpasses usual dire sequels, prequels and reimaginings that litter the cinema landscape.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 25, 2019
Evil Dead does pretty much everything a good horror movie ought to do, given that it's a remake and there's only so much innovation we expect.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
November 16, 2018
...as far as horror retreads go, this movie shocker sizzles as it competently echoes the terrorizing triumph of its lurid legacy channeling wayward chills and spills.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 1, 2018
Whilst the effects are spot-on and Levy gives a performance that could define her career, the film never quite nails what made the originals such classics.
Full Review | Original Score: 6.5/10
October 22, 2018
Conversely, the picture's overall impression is forgettable.
October 14, 2018
This film was one of the most disappointing and boring horror films of 2013.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
October 10, 2018
This may not be 'my' Evil Dead, but it's the closest I've seen in 3 decades and one I can't wait to enjoy for another round.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
August 26, 2018
It's easily the bloodiest studio film I've ever seen and a flat out riot to watch.
Read More | Original Score: 3.5/4
May 23, 2018
Not only is the Evil Dead remake humorless, but there's even a concerted effort at having a meaningful, emotional subtext to all the horror.
March 5, 2018
I don't know if this gives you anything new when it comes to horror, but it is fun. It's B-movie goodness.
October 31, 2017
Thirty-plus years on, this tale of five teens trapped in a cabin in the woods being pursued by dark, supernatural forces just seems familiar and silly, with Alvarez doing little to breathe new life into the genre.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
September 5, 2017
A gory, old-fashioned slice of schlock horror that, by successfully paying homage to one of the greats, puts many of its contemporaries in the shade.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 10