The Current War: Director's Cut - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Current War: Director's Cut Reviews

Page 2 of 5
October 29, 2019
To my eyes, "The Current War: Director's Cut" is a terrific film, vibrant and constantly crackling, like electricity.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 28, 2019
It is entertaining, informative and perhaps the only time you will hear the complaint that a modern film might have benefited from a longer running time.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 28, 2019
The truly winning aspect of this film is Chung Hoon-Chung's cinematography.
October 28, 2019
Ultimately, The Current War finds itself a victim of expectations. Everything on paper should see this film be a rousing success. However, in stylistic choices made behind the camera and a convoluted script overwhelm the action on screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 28, 2019
What I think really makes this film special is that it gives more of a role to Michael Shannon as George Westinghouse and talking about the financial risks that both of these men were taking. It kind of sets up the world we see today.
October 28, 2019
A movie about its making would be compelling, dynamic and a livewire rush. The thing itself is a dead end.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 28, 2019
The movie has no idea what it wants to be.
October 28, 2019
Director Alfonso Gomez-Rejon creates a darkly beautiful visual palette, and at the same time sets a snappy pace.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 28, 2019
A breezy, highly entertaining tour through about 15 years of history
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 28, 2019
Thanks to rich visuals, excellent performances, and a solid script, this relevant film shines bright. Gomez-Rejon is one of the most interesting directors of his generation. [Full review in Spanish]
October 27, 2019
Fortunately, I didn't see the original cut, so I can't judge how much of an improvement has been made, but I can attest that what's here isn't all that bad. In fact, I'd say it's almost a "cut" above average.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 27, 2019
Despite the star-studded cast, this is flaccid film-making, lacking tension and energy.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
October 26, 2019
A comeback story like [The Current War: Director's Cut] might surprise you, but considering the players involved, the end result shouldn't come as a shock.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 26, 2019
Sometimes curious and frequently interesting-a mild recommendation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 25, 2019
The Current War: The Director's Cut is visually lucid but thematically scattershot.
October 25, 2019
Even the likes of Thomas Edison would have to go back to the lab and do some tinkering to make this one shine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 25, 2019
But the odds have been stacked against box office success for this movie from the onset.
October 25, 2019
I enjoyed watching it, while I didn't have a deep emotional connection going on with it.
October 25, 2019
A bright idea that delivers more heat than illumination, The Current War: Director's Cut traffics in sensation and sizzle. Insight, not so much. But what a gorgeous ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 25, 2019
Will I remember it in a year or two? Possibly not, but I left the theater with a smile on my face.
Page 2 of 5