The Conversation - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Conversation Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 14, 2003
Outdated techno-thriller. Hackman is great, but it doesn't hold up.
| Original Score: 2/5
December 16, 2019
I frankly don't quite know what to make of Francis Ford Coppola's new film, The Conversation, though I should hasten to add that I was fascinated by much of it.
February 27, 2020
A tense psychological thriller. But dig deeper and you'll find the tragedy of Hackman's Harry Caul. His burden and his loneliness add a melancholic tone to the entire film amidst the commentary on technology and privacy that is all too relevant today.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
April 1, 2019
The Conversation, it's called, and it's a volcano of a movie, an absolute sensation. I liked it better even than The Godfather... The fun of seeing it for the first time is all your's and I envy you.
March 27, 2009
There's a strong case to be made for The Conversation being Coppola's greatest film. Which, when you consider what else he's made, is high praise indeed.
February 27, 2001
A taut, intelligent thriller.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
March 13, 2003
Read More | Original Score: 5/5
March 23, 2020
The coldest, most alienated Hollywood film from an era of suspicion and anxiety, a time in American life when we realized that ordinary discourse had to be decoded, that the unseen forces controlling our lives were sinister, and knowledge was fragmentary.
November 7, 2002
Director Francis Ford Coppola's paranoid classic is brilliantly revived on DVD.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 11, 2009
Coppola shows off his arty aspirations by doing for audio technology what Antonioni did for photography. But The Conversation is a different animal entirely, steering clear of the existential dilemmas in Antonioni's film and creating a character pi
Full Review | Original Score: 93/100
November 21, 2011
A film OF the 1970s, The Conversation is rooted in the new American anxiety of the time, the idea that behind every ideal was a rotten, festering truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
January 14, 2005
| Original Score: 4/5
February 21, 2003
| Original Score: 4/5
November 14, 2005
| Original Score: 3/5
February 13, 2001
Though the film is an acknowledged tribute to Michelangelo Antonioni's Blowup (1966), The Conversation has aged far better than that '60s relic.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
October 24, 2007
Read More | Original Score: 4/5
November 8, 2011
Coppola may have made films of a more spectacular nature but here he makes a virtue of a introversion - so that the film's horror moment is all the more vibrantly terrible when set in relief.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
October 18, 2008
A major artistic asset to the film -- besides script, direction and the top performances -- is supervising editor Walter Murch's sound collage and re-recording.
August 30, 2002
| Original Score: 4/5
January 1, 2000
A unique film, enhanced further by a great sound track by Walter Murch.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Page 1 of 3