The Conversation - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Conversation Reviews

Page 1 of 3
April 6, 2020
Coming after the dark, sumptuous classicism of The Godfather, The Conversation's choppy, elliptical style looked almost like the work of a different filmmaker, one willing to take risks with new forms and techniques.
March 23, 2020
The coldest, most alienated Hollywood film from an era of suspicion and anxiety, a time in American life when we realized that ordinary discourse had to be decoded, that the unseen forces controlling our lives were sinister, and knowledge was fragmentary.
February 27, 2020
A tense psychological thriller. But dig deeper and you'll find the tragedy of Hackman's Harry Caul. His burden and his loneliness add a melancholic tone to the entire film amidst the commentary on technology and privacy that is all too relevant today.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
February 10, 2020
It proves, ten years early, in a compelling, chilling vision, how close we are to Orwell's 1984.
December 16, 2019
I frankly don't quite know what to make of Francis Ford Coppola's new film, The Conversation, though I should hasten to add that I was fascinated by much of it.
April 1, 2019
The Conversation, it's called, and it's a volcano of a movie, an absolute sensation. I liked it better even than The Godfather... The fun of seeing it for the first time is all your's and I envy you.
November 1, 2016
Classic Coppola thriller has suspense, violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
August 15, 2016
Thanks to Walter Murch's keen, intuitive sound montage and Hackman's clammy, subtle performance, the movie captures [an] elusive and universal fear-that of losing the power to respond, emotionally and morally, to the evidence of one's own senses.
November 21, 2011
A film OF the 1970s, The Conversation is rooted in the new American anxiety of the time, the idea that behind every ideal was a rotten, festering truth.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 15, 2011
The Conversation is for me the masterpiece of American cinema.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
November 8, 2011
Coppola may have made films of a more spectacular nature but here he makes a virtue of a introversion - so that the film's horror moment is all the more vibrantly terrible when set in relief.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 11, 2009
Coppola shows off his arty aspirations by doing for audio technology what Antonioni did for photography. But The Conversation is a different animal entirely, steering clear of the existential dilemmas in Antonioni's film and creating a character pi
Full Review | Original Score: 93/100
March 27, 2009
There's a strong case to be made for The Conversation being Coppola's greatest film. Which, when you consider what else he's made, is high praise indeed.
October 18, 2008
A major artistic asset to the film -- besides script, direction and the top performances -- is supervising editor Walter Murch's sound collage and re-recording.
August 12, 2007
Coppola manages to turn an expert thriller into a portrayal of the conflict between ritual and responsibility without ever letting the levels of tension subside or the complicated plot get muddled.
August 12, 2007
A movie of real authority.
October 31, 2006
This is one of Coppola's masterpieces, a prophetic film about paranoia, the growing role of technology in our daily lives, and the impossibility of privacy even in public spaces.
Full Review | Original Score: A
Top Critic
February 9, 2006
A bleak and devastatingly brilliant film.
October 9, 2005
An absorbing character study of a paranoid loner. Hackman is superb.
| Original Score: 4/5
August 26, 2005
brilliant conspiracy thriller
| Original Score: 5/5
Page 1 of 3