The Breadwinner - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Breadwinner Reviews

Page 1 of 5
March 11, 2019
Another movie worth seeing! The girls and I watched it last night, and they were just as enthralled as I was.
February 22, 2019
detailed and great story telling of a girl's experience in a land under Sharia.
½ February 7, 2019
i can see why this got so mush praise
music was great
animation was good
plot was nice, a bit predictable
a nice change from the other movies
½ February 4, 2019
Well voiced and expertly paced, The Breadwinner finds a difficult yet delicate balance between eye-popping color and visuals with the harsh reality of life under Taliban rule in Afghanistan
December 23, 2018
Absolutely amazing film. Spellbinding, sad, extraordinary.
December 18, 2018
This was an interesting perspective
Super Reviewer
December 15, 2018
With beautiful visuals and a similar premise to the devastating Osama, this is a poignant animated film that doesn't shy away from its harrowing subject and yet is able to come up with a surprising amount of lightness in the fantasy stories that its protagonist always returns to.
December 9, 2018
I don't think I'm going out on a limb here when I say that the Taliban are a pack of shits. Slavishly devoted to a crooked reading of a religion they have no reason to believe is true, the more I hear about them the less I like them. And so when you set a story in a world that is controlled by these medieval-but-somehow-modern-day barbarians, and I get a sense that the story is a realistic one and it's unlikely that someone in tights and a cape isn't going to sweep down and punch them in their stupid faces, I get sad. It's not that a tough story set in a tough world can't make a good film, but for me it puts a ceiling on the enjoyment I can get from it, because any ray of hope is dashed by the knowledge that the characters, after whatever small victories they can find, will still be trapped under this cruel regime. And this film does a great job of finding those moments of happiness, and those people who will show true kindness, and the bleak backdrop serves to make these moments all the more precious and meaningful. But there was a part of me that always knew that this was the kind of film that wouldn't allow truly happy endings, for any of its characters. Having said that, the film is animated beautifully, the bonds it creates between its characters are genuine and warm, and the hardships are felt very keenly. It's a powerful film that serves as a powerful reminder that people are, at this very moment, living in terrible conditions dictated by terrible people. But I think it is possible to create that feeling and tell a more cohesive, less depressing story at the same time. As the film itself seems to tell us, stories can be a great way to escape from the horrors of the world. I'd have preferred it if this film had practiced what it preached a little more.
November 28, 2018
I wants to see the real movie
November 24, 2018
A culturally representational narrative simply demonstrates the strength of family love through rebellious survival in an irrational harsh society with unbelievable desperation of strict cruelty. While it is subtlety dark as a norm for the medium, it mostly satisfies with a strong yet fragile heart from the rich animation to graceful performances. (A-)

(Full review TBD)
November 11, 2018
Such a sweet drama. I cried a couple of times.
October 28, 2018
Emotional and painfully realistic, The Breadwinner dares to take animated features to the next level by telling a story not just to entertain children. This movie delves deep into the plight of good people struggling to live in harsh conditions without traumatizing its younger audience. Instead, the story is told through beautiful animation and a fairytale hero overcoming all adversity.
October 23, 2018
My favorite movie EVER. Breathtakingly beautiful..I adored it.
October 14, 2018
A beautiful story of bravery, courage, and familial love. The animation is captivating (unsurprisingly -- I was originally interested in seeing this because it was done by the same animators who did The Secret of Kells) -- definitely worth watching!
October 12, 2018
Magnificently somber and hopeful. Worthy 700th RT review.
September 22, 2018
A very good movie honestly, but pretty sad and heavy. Most the time I'm looking for something less sad haha, but I really enjoyed it anyways.
September 22, 2018
An eye-opening story from another perspective. Emotional but stunning. Beautiful characters and well written.
September 8, 2018
When we read (or watch) "The handmaid's tale" we call it dystopic, forgetting that in some part of our little planet the life's conditions are similar if not worse. Movies like these are part of the reminder, and they are always welcome. That being said: visually is very good, but the story miss some structure.
August 30, 2018
This is the best movie I've seen all year. A work of art in art in more ways than one.
August 12, 2018
Visually stunning, 'The Breadwinner' is a beautifully animated film (the backgrounds and surroundings are really nice and transport you to another part of the world) that tells the story of a young girl who shows incredible courage in a world full of violence, hate and oppression. The atmosphere is very well captured and it does a good job of conveying the suffering and fear of the people under the rule of the Taliban. It's clear that the film has a certain message that it's trying to get across - humanising the people who are so often thought of as little more than "those guys in the Middle East who are killing each other" and showing the terrible effects of tyrannical rulers -- and it isn't interested in distracting from or complicating it. Regardless of whether or not you agree entirely with its portrayal of the circumstances, the story is undoubtedly inspiring, captivating and touching, and achieves exactly what it set out to do.
Page 1 of 5