The Best of Enemies - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Best of Enemies Reviews

Page 1 of 6
½ May 21, 2019
The Best of Enemies is a decent film. It is about civil rights activist Ann Atwater who faces off against C.P. Ellis, Exalted Cyclops of the Ku Klux Klan, in 1971 Durham, North Carolina. Taraji P. Henson and Sam Rockwell give good performances. The screenplay is a little slow in places. Robin Bissell did an alright job directing this movie. I liked this motion picture because of the drama.
½ May 17, 2019
Another big box office representation of racial reconciliation that's currently prominent in Hollywood, "The Best of Enemies" still does a good job to shed light on the troubles faced by Black Americans during the Civil Rights movement without feeling too repetitive. The film seems to take a focus on the white protagonist more so than the victims of the story, emphasizing him overcoming racism instead of a win for desegregation. Sam Rockwell and Taraji P. Henson give fantastic performances as two polar opposites who eventually realize they're not that different. begging the question, "Did we just become best friends?!"
½ May 9, 2019
A ho-hum picture that wants to join the library of celebratory civil rights films but I just don't think this film had a strong enough story or characters to be that compelling. I find it hard to sympathize with a Klansman which the film rather wants you to do as his character is explored and the black female half of the duo was rather empty to me except for being loud and passionate. The ending felt unearned honestly, I don't know how close to reality this film is but it felt out of left field for me. Supporting cast just felt stereotypical, evil grinning whtie racists and the gospel singing, hopeful blacks. Nothing felt addressed beyond surface level. Disappointment.

I hope Sam Rockwell isn't going to be locked into this kind of roll got to say, he was great in Three Billboards but here was really one note.
May 8, 2019
This was a great movie based on a true story, great actors and well put together.
May 1, 2019
Both Taraji Henson and Sam Rockwell have done an excellent job portraiting the characters. This is a true story. It is very touching to see how they turned from enemies and became life time friends. The script was well written. It was sad to see how serious discrimination was in the past and appreciate what the history has changed to.
April 24, 2019
The movie was beautiful. The movie delves in to important concepts that need to be addressed in society. Where by having a guided dialogue we can create a form of understanding. This movie has some slow parts that maybe a bit dreary. While taking this into consideration I must say that the movie may not be packed perfectly but the message it portrays comes across quite phenomenally clear and concisely! Also I like how tried to show the KKK in a light that even people within the organization can change. I would watch this movie again being a spectator 1/2 1/2 1/2' 1/2 1/2 1/2? 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2 1/2? 3/4!
April 24, 2019
Really good movie. Great acting. Good plot and storyline. The only reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is because I thought there needed to be more plot development showing how the 2 people developed their relationship. She did 1 thing and the next thing you know he goes from being a leader of the klan to leaving them. I didn't see the ice breaking between them.
April 23, 2019
If you liked Green Book (2018) and Selma (2014) here's another story of character and hope with AAA casting, script and production values.

I'll address what critics disliked:

- "Not enuf backstory on the blacks." The script is not primarily about blacks or black lives. It's about the character arc of Klansman who become an AFL-CIO organizer after this experience. One memorable, searing speech about the lives of black children outside of school is one of few glimpses here. The direction of detail and nuance is primarily how Black Lives Matter is SHOWN in this film not TOLD. I lived thru this period. It's spot on.

- "The script is thin." Then perhaps AAA filmmaking does not hold your attention much. It's a movie about small things having out-size consequences, the small things which make us human to each other. Were you expecting super heroes?

- "The real story was changed." This was pretty obvious in the vote scene climax. However the re-arranging of actual events supports the main arc of the main character and supports the dramatic payoff of this scene and the scene to follow. That's what writers can do.

See it if you have an interest in better, improved human relations anywhere.
April 23, 2019
Excellent movie, Excellent acting, a must see!
April 22, 2019
Just AMAZING!!! KKK President sees the truth. It goes to show how kindness, doing the right thing, can truly change the world! Share the love folks
April 22, 2019
This is a pretty good film. Ignore the negative critics who, once again, cant function coherently when the safe, delusional being of their monolithic, identity politics gets shattered by the hammer of realism and individualism.

This film (and Green Book) is their version of integration except now.... THEY'RE the Klan. Its sad & terrifying if you think about how any supposedly educated person could condemn a film's unifying message where both black and white emerge as victors. But that doesnt align with their victimization dogma so it must be cast aside and rebuked. It really is pathetic.

CP Ellis's transformation and Ann Atwater's passionate advocacy are equally commendable but more importantly, equally human. Rockwell and Henson give great performances as two adversaries who, through trial by fire, eventually, grudgingly, learn to coexist. I also found the backdrop
dynamic between the pacifist approach of the civil rights leaders and the repugnant, vigilante violence of the KKK gave the film a good, dooming drama.

I also appreciated the film's portrayal of the social & economic costs associated with defying the Klan, especially for white people. Showing that DOES NOT diminish or minimize what African Americans went through although the critics somehow, ridiculously think it does. Right is right. Courage is courage. We dont need a skin color on it to celebrate it. Its not that hard a concept. A thought provoking film I definitely recommend.
½ April 21, 2019
This was a much better movie than I expected. Tarah & Sam did a wonderful job of portraying their characters. It's a film about the work to be done to make changes happen. Good film.
April 21, 2019
The subject of this movie is more complex than they show. The actors did a good job but overall the directing and screenwriting could have been better. At more than two hours in length they should have delved more into the complexities of one changing their view of people of a different race and why they changed their outlook. They took the easy way out and showcased killing them with kindness when that is seldom realistic in race relations. I'd imagine members of the KKK had a good laugh at this. This movie was barely realistic even if it is a true story.
April 19, 2019
I think at this point, people look for anything to yell at with a movie like this, and I think there's much more of a case for 'Green Book' than this. While the shift in focus is interesting, for lack of a worse word, as the main story goes to the KKK leader Sam Rockwell instead of Taraji Henson's character, but I don't think that's a terrible thing. Because this is a true story, I think the story of how a KKK president turned from his dark past should be inspiring to people in a time where we hope all people will turn from racism. I think the reason it is received so poorly is because it sidelines Taraji's storyline for this one. And while I think the movie is interesting and enjoyable, I would've liked to seen more from the victim's point of view since that's how the movie was marketed.
April 19, 2019
This was a good damn movie true or not. Well acted.
April 19, 2019
This is a movie that should be seen, now more than ever. Unfortunately, too many critics have labeled it a "white savior" movie. I guess that's the vogue thing to say, but I would borrow the phrase "who saved whom". Sure, one character has a major change of heart, and that is the story's hook, but you see how many wonderful people made a difference by being brave enough to be themselves. None the least of which is Bill Riddick, without whom most likely nothing unexpected would have happened. Do we really want to create a situation where studios don't want to make movies that involve race relations for fear of getting slammed by critics? I hope more people defy the professional critics and go to see this gem.
April 17, 2019
Worth seeing to see Taraji P Henson and Sam Rockwell act together. I know it's predictable, but came out with a feeling of hope.
April 16, 2019
Good acting. Enjoyable!
April 16, 2019
I really enjoyed this movie! Superb acting on both sides. It just a shame this story isn't in history books!
April 15, 2019
Outstanding! I am very surprised that the Rotten Tomato professional critics did not give this movie at least an 85. Makes so sense. It was that great and the acting phenomenal.
Page 1 of 6