The Beast With Five Fingers - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Beast With Five Fingers Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Antonius Block
Super Reviewer
October 10, 2018
This film has two good things going for it - a few scenes with a disembodied hand scrambling about on its own, which is creepy especially for 1946, and of course, Peter Lorre. Unfortunately, they're not enough to overcome poor storytelling and a very weak script. The pace of this film is tedious for about the first hour, and it's padded with filler and a silly romance. Other than Lorre, the rest of the cast is mediocre. The tone of the film is off as well, with cheesy superfluous things tossed in like howling outside in the night and a silly epilogue going for B-movie camp value, but taking away from what would have been better darker. The special effects are excellent and how the film resolves itself with Lorre is interesting, so it's a shame the film wasn't in better hands. A better one with both Lorre and murderous, severed hands from a pianist, though with a different premise, is 'Mad Love' (1935).
January 1, 2018
Cheesy, but groundbreakingly thrilling. Could have been better.
½ October 28, 2016
Can be taken a lot more seriously than you'd think.
April 29, 2016
Such a good movie. Gorgeous cinematography for one thing, but great performances, well-told story, everything you could ever want. One of the best 40's horror movies I've ever seen.
October 24, 2015
It's an awkward fit of company identity and historical importance: Warner's was never one of the biggest players in the genre, and much of the film, especially its infamously stupid, winking ending, feels like a conscious attempt to distance the movie from its own content. Which is, as you can maybe guess from the title, a disembodied hand that murders people.
½ October 17, 2015
It's only in your mind.

A former famous pianist in Italy lives in a Mansion on the countryside and now only has one hand. He is in a wheel chair and lives with his nurse and loyal servant. When the pianist dies in an unfortunate accident the pianist leaves all of his money to the nurse. The family of the pianist complains of the will and comes to the mansion to protest. A murderous streak begins by the hand of the owner.

"The devil is haunting this house."

Robert Florey, director of King of Alcatraz, Hotel Imperial, Two in a Taxi, The Desert Song, This Way Please, Till We Meet Again, and The Payoff, delivers The Beast with Five Fingers. The storyline for this picture is fun and unfolds well. The acting is also first rate and the cast includes Peter Lorre, Andrea King, Robert Alda, John Alvin, and Patricia Barry.

"Nothing can stop me, neither ghosts nor bullies."

I came across this on Turner Classic Movies (TCM) this Halloween season and had to DVR it. This was entertaining and fun to watch unfold. I loved Peter Lorre's performance. This is a nice classic horror picture that is worth your time.

"The hand tried to strangle him."

Grade: B-
½ October 11, 2015
Star Peter Lorre has covered this ground before, playing a one of several scheming individuals who stand to inherit a dead rich man's wealth. The plot then thickest when that said rich man's severed hand begins killing people. Curt Siodmak wrote this preposterous script. I'd always thought he was a solid writer, but then I looked up his IMDB and he did have a good portion of his filmography made up of films like "Frankenstein Meets the Wolf Man" or "Tarzan's Magic Fountain." The film is stylishly shot by director Robert Florey and Lorre delivers another nicely demented performance (though he apparently did all he could to get out of having to make this film, which ended up being his last film at Warner Bros.). And the finale when Lorre fights a severed hand, I was totally seeing Bruce Campbell in "Evil Dead 2: Dead by Dawn"!
April 27, 2015
Deliriously bonkers Old Dark House chiller, made watchable by wonderful art direction, a plangent score by Max Steiner and - most notably - a brilliant deranged performance by Peter Lorre, skirting close to farce. "NO! NO! IT WAS THE HAND! THE HORRIBLE HAND!" Alan Alda's dad Robert plays an oleaginous con man.
½ January 20, 2015
Pelicula de terror serie B , a pesar de sus limitaciones logra una atmòsfera
gòtica y escalofriante destaca el gran actor Peter Lorre.
Cinema-Maniac
Super Reviewer
January 16, 2013
A film biggest challenge is it ability to stand the test of times which is why even decades later we are still watching Charlie Chaplin comedies and many films made several decades ago. Unfortunately that is not case for "The Beast With Fingers" when even it title sounds cheesy. This film might have scared movie goers back in the day when it was release, but today it would make movie goers laugh.

The Beast With Five Fingers takes place in an Italian village where the locals believe evil has taken over the estate of a recently deceased pianist where several murders have taken place. The alleged killer: is someone with five fingers. That plot synopsis is pretty much what makes up 80% percent of the movie. It's clear who the killer is, but I have to admit the writing kept things interesting enough to keep my attention. The characters are interesting and the effects on the moving severed hand look shockingly real. The effects do not look dated at all. To bad everything else did not aged as well. For starter the acting tends to be cheesy, especially Peter Lorre who outshines everyone in that category. He gives over the top facial expression and his line delivery are unintentionally funny. The best way to describe Peter Lorre acting is trying to imagine Matthew Broderick in cheesy horror role: unintentionally funny, but charming at the same time. The music is does add to the atmosphere, though it's about as generic as a horror music can get. The last twenty is where it becomes very slow with an ending that feels it came from a cartoon. It hasn't aged well as some other movies, but it wasn't bad as I expected.

The Beast With Five Fingers is not a well aged horror movie, but it was a good enough experience to a sixty. If you're a fan of cheesy horror movie than this one might do the trick even if the last twenty minutes are not as strong. For everyone else, look elsewhere for your scares.
September 2, 2012
not bad early horror pic
½ April 6, 2012
After the death of a concert pianist residents of his Italian manor are haunted by his severed hand.

"Your flesh will creep at the hand that crawls"

This is an old fashioned scare-fest that's best watched late at night with all the lights off. Highly recommended for Peter Lorre fans (like me!).
½ March 31, 2012
Not a fantastic piece of work, but well-written and interesting. Peter Lorre is, of course, the reason to watch the movie - although the ending was really silly and definitely felt tacked on.
October 15, 2011
Peter Lorre is terrific, as is the moody production design. The story is pretty ridiculous stuff, though, and the eventual climax doesn't have much of an impact.
January 21, 2011
I remember watching this movie with my dad.
FilmFanatik
Super Reviewer
½ December 30, 2010
Not a fantastic piece of work, but well-written and interesting. Peter Lorre is, of course, the reason to watch the movie - although the ending was really silly and definitely felt tacked on.
October 20, 2010
Seen this first when I was a child. Still genuinely spooky. Classic horror.
½ September 7, 2010
Seen this first when I was a child. Still genuinely spooky. Classic horror.
August 29, 2010
Somewhat slow semi-haunted house movie has Peter Lorre and company spooked out by a patriatch's disembodied hand walking around and killing everyone. It\s very slow at the beginning, but once the hand comes around, it picks up a little, but then gets slightly boring again. There's other, better disembodied hand moves out there folks. Shop around.
June 26, 2010
Pelicula de terror serie B , a pesar de sus limitaciones logra una atmòsfera
gòtica y escalofriante destaca el gran actor Peter Lorre.
Page 1 of 2