The Beach Bum - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Beach Bum Reviews

Page 1 of 7
May 21, 2019
'The Beach Bum' is a messy, weirdly mesmerizing and ambiguous film about awful people doing awful actions.
½ May 19, 2019
I simply can not understand why people like this movie. It's slow, boring, and feels pointless. Wants me to like Moondog, but only does things to make me dislike him. Story makes little sense and is all over the place.
May 17, 2019
The lack of plot and continuity throughout the film will bother most moviegoers, but "The Beach Bum" is a far out trip of a movie, and once you realize that you're not going to understand what is going on, you can begin to enjoy the comedic lead characters crazy antics. Matthew McConaughey is a perfect fit and turns a wonderfully hilarious performance as modern day hippy poet Moondog, who is joined by a stellar cast of cameos throughout the film. It's as if McConaughey's character from Dazed and Confused 26 years ago grew up to become Moondog..."Say man, you got a joint? It'd be a lot cooler if you did."
May 9, 2019
This movie rules. There's nothing about this that isn't pure fun by one of the last soldiers of cinema. Harm made a wonderful sun soaked lil cult film that will grow in stature once everyone remembers how the fuck to have fun
½ May 3, 2019
I kept waiting for him to have a "aha" moment. We got up and left after it just got worse and worse.
½ April 28, 2019
This was absolutely terrible and entirely incoherent. The only movie worse than this one is Spring Breakers, made by the same person and equally as pointless and incoherent.
April 26, 2019
This movie felt like someone told McConaughey to be a beach bum, and then left the cameras running, with no script. There were a few funny scenes, but mostly, I felt like I was watching a bad version of Up In Smoke.
April 23, 2019
I only gave one star because zero isn't an option. people walked out.
½ April 20, 2019
There isn't a rating low enough for this disaster of a movie. What a disappointment.
½ April 19, 2019
Completely off the rails the whole damn time and never gets back on the tracks. Moondog and Co. Made my goddamn day!!!

Never bet against THE BEACH BUM!

THANKS A TON H. KORINE!

#WELCOMETOTHEFISTFIGHT
½ April 15, 2019
So boring. Waste of money.
½ April 14, 2019
This was one of the most boring movies I've ever seen and the little plot it has wasn't even that original looking at the TV show Californication. Actually, watching people react to the boring nature of this movie in the cinema by leaving the room or falling asleep was way more fun than the movie itself and the only thing about it that was even remotely interesting.
½ April 13, 2019
This movie was actually terrible. There was no story line, plot, or remotely any character development. Would highly not recommend
April 12, 2019
Matthew McConaughey makes another amazing performance in Harmony Korine's killer follow up to "Spring Breakers." For everyone expecting a mainstream movie, be prepared to be disappointed as the film follows a charismatic character Moondog (McConaughey) aimlessly and selfishly wandering through life drinking, writing and partying every day. Through a series of crazy hijinks Moondog finds himself hijacking a wedding, going to rehab and partying with Jimmy Buffet amongst other things. Moondog is an antihero and a protagonist who doesn't care what happens embodying an "Alright Alright Alright" type of mantra. This fantastic film features an eccletic ensemble with Isla Fisher, Snoop Dogg, Zac Efron, Martin Lawrence, Jonah Hill and Jimmy Buffett destined to be a cult classic. It's stunning soundtrack and unbelievable cinemotagraphy captured by Benoit Debit delivers a sensory overload with a wonderful cult comedy movie. The film is not for everyone, but anyone willing to take the trip and let loose will certainly appreciate the awesome and amazing filmmaking done by Korine. For fans of Korine, cult classics, stoner comedies and anyone wanting a ridiculous movie is in for a treat
½ April 9, 2019
Went to the movies to see a film because everything on Netflix is horrible and actually saw something far worse. A movie woth such good actors and horrible directing and script. I am a fan of Matthew McConaughey but this is by far his dumbest movie choice he has ever taken and I may never go see another movie with him in.
½ April 9, 2019
Beach bum worst movie ever dont waste your time or money
April 9, 2019
Beach Bum has got to be the worst movie I've ever seen.
April 8, 2019
Only giving it one star for scenery (except for the plethora of women's breasts). Plot? What plot? Dumb movie, sorry I wasted my money. If you want to watch people smoke doobies, use the f-bomb every other word, and just act stupid, this is the movie for you.
½ April 8, 2019
One of the worst movie I've seen for a long time...
April 7, 2019
I want 1.5 hours of my life back.
I've never seen a more purposeless movie. I'm certain this is just a narcissist's wet dream. Reckless film making with no story, no emotion, no actually character development. The whole film I was just waiting for or maybe hoping for "Moon doggie's death. The message this movie sends to it's target audience, white men in their teens and early twenties and/or and elderly Florida Man who sees this film as a way to live out the fantasy that he is too poor or not charismatic enough to ever actually execute, is don't worry do whatever you want, stand idly by while everyone around you is physically and emotionally harmed, but worry not you will experience no personal consequences. Stop calling this a stoner comedy, this is a white male privileged porn waiting to be queued up while you get high with your bros before your next circle jerk.
Page 1 of 7