The Art of Getting By - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Art of Getting By Reviews

Page 1 of 33
May 19, 2019
This is one of the best movies I've watched EVER. Its very relatable and gives you a different perspective on life and it's AMAZING. It's really had a great impact on me and i'm beyond glad i ran across this movie :)
April 2, 2019
Appropriate Title: "The Art of Setting up a Horrible Disaster"

'll save you sometime... This is a movie about a horrible young woman, and a stupid awkward young man who likes her. His infatuation almost wrecks his chances to graduate. He actually steps up his game and manages to graduate. Then he allows this woman back into his life after she emotionally manipulated him and vindictively seduced his mentor.

They're not going to live happily ever. The end of the movie is just a setup for a horrible disaster.
January 26, 2019
What those bad reviews are for ? This movie helped me with my life more than any other . The story is actually realistic and emotional , the acting was not bad at all and for those who are quiet and calm and they like to hear to people's problems will know the meaning of it .
" We live alone , we die alone " , suffering from loneliness is quiet depressing and it could be serious . Maybe the dialoges wer'nt built right , but I find this a good thing to make it more realistic .
½ January 25, 2019
This little Indy coming-of-age romance has been much aligned by both critics and audiences, but I'm here to tell you: I really, really enjoyed this movie. I connected to it. I went through all the feels. I rooted for the couple at the center of the story and loathed the individuals who tried to get in the way.

In my opinion, "formulaic" is often a lazy criticism. It's something critics and fans throw around when they don't connect to a movie. The same way a non-formulaic movie they don't connect to gets labeled "tonally all over the place". Does The Art of Getting By follow a familiar formula of bad-boy-falls-for-manic-pixie-dream-girl-and-becomes-worse-and-simultaneously-better-for-it? Yes. But this film does it well, and I'm not going to fault it for it.

I love Emma Roberts and Freddie Highmore in this film and their dynamic. They're believable and they sell the beautiful heartache that is young love wonderfully.

Honestly, the only things I would have changed about this film were a few of the subplots. I'm not sure how the step-father storyline affected the storyline for instance.

So all in all, if you catch this review and had been thinking about giving this one a shot but thought against it due to the overwhelmingly negative reviews - I'd ask you to give it a shot. You may just "connect to the formula" like I did.
½ September 6, 2017
The Art of Getting By is an unnecessary and boring movie, that counts with a cliched script and with a formulaic, unoriginal and predictable story. As for the Actors, althought Freddie Highmore is perhaps my favorite actor because of his excellent performances on Bates Motel, I have to admit that his hiring was a mistake this time.
November 2, 2016
This movie was very well made, but it has been made many times before. A coming of age, whole future is ahead of you story with emphasis on the main character going through an existential crisis. SPOILERS. The solution offered to kids who may feel the same way is: just get the girl of your dreams to fall in love with you.
August 6, 2016
WHAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAT?????????????????????????????????????????????????????? THE ENDING IS NOT SATISFYING!!!!!!! (Spoiler alert: they did not kiss at the end and they needed too, that is why you should not watch the movie unless you like sucky endings that leave you feeling unsatisfied.) Other than that, the movie was okay.
February 2, 2016
In summary: Nerds can win trophy girls too sometimes, and when they do, trophy girls might even have some depth.
January 27, 2016
I thought it was cute
January 26, 2016
anything is possible
January 1, 2016
Existential and arty. Liked it!
Super Reviewer
November 9, 2015
"The Art of Getting By" stars Freddie Highmore in the leading role as a very smart loner becomes entangled with his high school crush and begins to slack off in school when he can no longer focus. With themes about the meaning of life, the outlook on the world itself, and how love can find it's way back no matter what, this is a very well-made picture. A very small-budget film with a great script are always my kind of film, seeing as the crew and cast all devote their time to something they believe in. This story works on many levels and the editing style is very unique. The cinematography, mainly the filters used over the lenses for each particular scene, was genius. Although I think the film loses an insane amount of ground when the love interest, played by Emma Roberts, is an extremely unlikable character, going for his friends other than him. The first half is a very enjoyable indie film, but everything good is swallowed up halfway through. The cast is great but the characters are not likeable enough by the end. I really enjoyed the outlooks on life, but the film is kind of a mess otherwise and the conclusion really didn't feel earned.
½ September 17, 2015
Jag gillar alltid Freddie, åtminstone i allt han gjort som barn. Men jag får annars inte riktigt den feeling som filmen verkar sikta på.
½ July 4, 2015
A little weak on the script part, but still remains a good movie to watch.
June 29, 2015
Achei incrível por seguir uma linha de pensamento não-convencional, apesar de clichê.
½ January 19, 2015
muka Freddie Highmore terlalu imut -_- dan kemistrinya agak gimana gitu di sandingkan dengan Emma Roberts (kesannya kakak-beradik). yang saya suka cuma peran dari ke dua orangtuanya yang feel-nya dapat. Sally hanya cocok dengan Dustin not George but Sally and George like brothers.
½ January 19, 2015
i wanted to see such movie...
December 16, 2014
It was hard to understand because I was hard to catch heroine's mind.
However it left a long aftertaste.
Thus I want to watch this movie again.
December 9, 2014
i love Freddie Highmore but this was boring
November 14, 2014
Pointlessly miserable.
Page 1 of 33