The Air I Breathe - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Air I Breathe Reviews

May 1, 2020
The final installment teeters close to camp, a sensibility that might have actually rescued Air. Instead, the film wallows in pop-psych platitudes.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
May 1, 2020
Pretentious at best, risible for the rest of the time, this is most notable for Andy Garcia's staggeringly hammy cameo as the opera-loving moneylender Fingers.
April 30, 2020
This pompous, concept-driven debut from American director Jieho Lee is about as hollow and doom-harbouring as an empty coffin.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
April 30, 2020
The Air I Breathe is a poor addition to a cycle of movies in which a succession of people (played by well-known actors) is linked by coincidence or perverse destiny.
April 30, 2020
"The Air I Breathe" ultimately registers as a gangster movie with delusions of grandeur.
April 30, 2020
No subversive genius here, just a sad stab at Art.
April 30, 2020
A top-notch varied group of actors, no doubt attracted by the colorfulness of their roles, has been assembled, but their hardworking efforts are ultimately done in by the supremely pretentious nature of the material.
September 7, 2011
Filmmaker-y posturing on the part of first-time writer-director Jieho Lee interferes with the clarity of his interwoven stories in The Air I Breathe.
Full Review | Original Score: D-
January 25, 2008
Each story has its moments, but Air lacks an overarching vision.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 25, 2008
Brendan Fraser is Pleasure, Sarah Michelle Gellar is Sorrow, Kevin Bacon is Love, Forest Whitaker is Happiness, and the director is Pretension.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 25, 2008
I can't fault any of the actors for anything other than bad judgment. Their performances are fine, but a good fortune cookie might have told them to stay away from this.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 25, 2008
A stew of cheap irony, ponderous but meaningless allegory, violence and pretension, the movie is all borrowed style and calculated pandering. It does, however, get more ludicrous by the minute. So in that sense, it's good for an occasional laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 24, 2008
With any luck, The Air I Breathe should be the last gasp of the faux-Altmanesque school of serendipitous storytelling.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 22, 2008
Morosely pretentious.
Top Critic
January 16, 2008
For rock-bottom nasty, with no social relevance, there is The Air I Breathe, a load of amateurish bilge so silly I thought I was watching a screening at Comedy Central.