The 9th Life of Louis Drax - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The 9th Life of Louis Drax Reviews

Page 1 of 3
½ April 13, 2019
Cool movie to watch, kind of unexpected in the beginning but turns quite expected the further you get into it. There is a "big" twist in the end but I guess you figured that out a bit before they let you in on the "big twist". Apart from that, a good movie, with a good script. I liked the camera work when they switched to something upside down or to the place Louis was while in his coma. Very beautiful locations and a good cast. I was pleasantly surprised by Aiden Longworth who plays Louis Drax. I wasn't sure whether to love or to hate him, to be honest. I'm basically in love with both Jamie Dornan and Sarah Gadon so not much to complain about for me there. I must say that Sarah Gadon her acting stood out for me. She did really really well. Someone who also surprised me was Oliver Platt as Dr. Perez. I can't remember seeing him in any other movie before, but I think he is a pretty good actor. The casting for this movie altogether was very well done. Aaron Paul as Peter Drax was a brilliant choice (you'll get that once you watch the movie), his face just fits the character so well.

Not my favorite movie but if you enjoy thrillers with kind of messed up people and twists, you should watch this for sure.
½ March 14, 2019
The movie was slow, so goddamn slow.
We are fooled into thinking there is some supernatural element, which there really isn't.

The pointless love story that gets plopped in also feels unnecessary, without it the story would still work the same.
December 28, 2018
The story follows accident prone Louis Drax who has one final accident when he falls off a cliff during a family picnic. This results in Louis being left comatose, his father missing being the chief suspect in Louis's "accident" and his distraught mother revealing secrets of their lives together to the concerned specialist who is looking after Louis in his comatose state. We here stories of what lead to this unfortunate accident from his mother, his psychiatrist and Louis who is trapped in some sort of fantasy dreamland limbo with a strange creature who is helping him navigate this new world.
I really enjoyed this film, it was a decent mystery with a powerful and emotion-fuelled ending. Well worth seeing. I will perhaps have to read the book now (the wrong way around I know) as reading other reviews has revealed they changed the ending from the book.
October 27, 2018
It starts as a TV movie that reveals itself straightforwardly until it veers off into uncharted territory. I had given up on the film but when the story veered, I stopped and rewinded 10 minutes to catch the drift. I found the film excellent and the beginning is just lulling the viewer before getting into high gears. Bravo!
½ April 3, 2018
I thought this was very good and close to 4 stars. I thought the story flowed well with the right mix of actors.
½ March 29, 2018
very close to a great film. The unraveling of the mystery was worth sticking around for
February 14, 2018
There's a lot here that suggests there was a great film somewhere amongst the rubble, but alas, it was not meant to be. From the perplexing mishmash of parts that don't fit together very well at all, to the fact that the main mystery upon which the film focuses is incredibly obvious from the very start, 'The 9th Life of Louis Drax' doesn't achieve its full potential and only ends up diluting what could have been a powerful and interesting story.
February 9, 2018
I enjoyed the movie. Kept me interested the whole way through. I however figured out The plot line about half way into it but nevertheless, would watch again. The kid has a spunky attitude which I find charming, the leading lady is absolutely beautiful and then you have Aaron Paul and Jamie Dornan; so a great cast. It drives home that looks simply don't tell the whole story.
½ December 5, 2017
If you like the Sixth Sense then this might be something for you. Although it didn't get a great rating from others, I did find the story compelling enough. If you get a freebee Showtime week, I think they air it.
October 10, 2017
Wonderful psychological that is well written & directed. Good twists throughout especially the end. My husband & I both enjoyed it.
September 4, 2017
Cool, but very creepy and sort of expected.
August 29, 2017
An acclaimed neurologist (Jamie Dornan) taps into the unconscious mind of a 9-year-old boy (Aiden Longworth) who has survived nine near-death accidents.
August 6, 2017
It was a clever 'who done it' movie.
½ July 29, 2017
For me, this movie was terrible. Like a terrible cross between a Stephen King novel and a Law and Order: SVU episode. I find the child's character to be extremely annoying and rude to the point of being offensive enough to not care about him.
July 28, 2017
I liked it a lot- what's with the low rating??
½ July 25, 2017
I thought this film was very unusual and interesting. All except for the terrible acting of Jamie Dornan. He really should stop acting. He ruined the Fifty Shades movies (well, along with the poor scripts) and he doesn't even have the acting talents of our local TV weatherman.
June 26, 2017
The curious deathtraps of Louis Drax.

This is not what the director is famous for. But still the suspense keeps us hoping for the turnaround at any time. The film was based on the book of the same name. With a decent cast and production, the film somewhat achieved its goal. The screenplay was not that bad, but the contents lacked. Even though it is a mystery theme, you would predict a few things. Not everybody does that, but I did, I figured it out the puzzle at a certain stage of the narration, before it disclosed at the crucial part.

It's about a boy in the title name. He has survived many times from the death since he was in foetus. But it seems for the 9th time he was out of the luck. It was not yet game over for him, because he's now in the coma fighting between the life and death. Meanwhile, his recent past was revealed and her mother starts to get close to the doctor who treating him. From all, the biggest suspense is what made him to end in this condition and when the film reaches the final stage, everything comes out with a twist.

It's certainly a watchable film, but the quality of preserving the secret was not up to the par what a normal viewer expects from this kind of storyline. The suitable atmosphere was created, and so the characters. With a decent runtime and its pace, pretty much an okay film, but somewhat, something is not quite well in it. From the direction to the actors, they all very dedicated for to their parts. Thematically, I loved it, yet it should have been more eventful, I mean more story and more developments. Overall, not a must see film, but once.

6/10
June 26, 2017
Interesting. Weird script.
June 16, 2017
maybe the mystery runs deeper.
May 31, 2017
akhirnya kelar juga nonton ini filem, setelah beberapa kali ke skip nyicil-nyicil nontonnya... plot terbaik dari segi ceritanya pas udah-udah mau akhir sih ntaff
Page 1 of 3