The Night We Called It A Day - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Night We Called It A Day Reviews

Page 1 of 1
½ June 15, 2016
good historical bio-pic
July 29, 2013
Based on a true incident that happened on his tour of Austraila, Frank Sinatra, unconvincingly played here by Dennis Hopper (?), calls a female reporter a two buck whore. When outrage hits the union of tv and radio people, an offical boycott results in the aussies hting on old blue eyes. Some what a historical drama mixed with slapstick, this is not as fun as you would think it would be. not all that good, but loads of aussie's trying to talk with american accents very poorly. nice try.
Super Reviewer
May 19, 2013
Watched bits of it. Just couldn't get into it, even though I like some of the cast. Liked the 70's setting.
August 18, 2012
Entertaining and well acted.
½ March 2, 2012
I'm not a big fan of Australian movies though this movie does show a lot of true colours of a good watch. Great acting and an interesting storyline.
½ May 17, 2011
weird little film from down under showcasing the douchiness of frank sinatra.
February 4, 2009
clever title thats about all
January 29, 2008
The historical event was hilarious but not quite done justice in this film. I think the key problem was the casting - dennis hopper and melanie griffiths were great but the australian actors were surprisingly quite poor - with the sole exception of David Field
½ November 24, 2007
I'm not a big fan of Australian movies though this movie does show a lot of true colours of a good watch. Great acting and an interesting storyline.
½ November 11, 2007
Good Aussie flick. About Frank Sinatra's tour to Australia in the 70's where he got into a lot of trouble among other things for calling a female journo "A two dollar whore"....class...haha.
November 2, 2007
good screenplay. good acting. good film. not bad acting from dennis hopper, but must be the most difficult thing in the world to do sinatra.
½ September 29, 2007
Trevligt fynd från downunder bland dvd premiärerna. En för mig sann men okänd historia om Frank Sinatras skandalomsusande turné i Australien under 70-talet. Dennis Hopper som trovärdig Sinatra och diverse bra aussiskådisar. Helt ok lördagsunderhållning och kul med film någonannanstansifrån än USA å UK.
½ September 26, 2007
Very nice piece about young Oz promoter who is trying to get Frank Sinatra down under. Dennis Hopper rules!
½ August 8, 2007
I'm still confused as to whether this is an Aussie film ..
June 26, 2007
An entertaining take on an interesting event in Australian history. Shows a clash between Australian and US culture during the 70s. I liked this film because it showed some unique features of Australian culture, like the tall poppy syndrome at its fiercest. Was particularly impressed by Griffith's excellent performance. Only gripe I have with this film was the unnecessary love story.
June 6, 2007
I really enjoyed the movie, then I lent the DVD to someone and never got it back.
December 19, 2006
A GOOD STORY WITH DENNIS HOPPER AS FRANK SINATRA IN A TRUE TALE OF HIS COMEBACK IN AUSTRALIA IN 1974....
Page 1 of 1