The Texas Chainsaw Massacre - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre Reviews

Page 1 of 650
May 11, 2019
While this remake was indeed unnecessary, I thought it was okay.
April 30, 2019
This is so much better than the original and actually scary. The actors are brilliant in it. This should be in the top horror movie list of all time. My favourite horror movie.
April 21, 2019
Great remake love the gore it's not as good as original but Very good movie R lee Ermey is a hell of actor loved it r
April 3, 2019
Lame and not scary, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is a another disappointment installment in the franchise.
½ November 19, 2018
One of the worst horror movies ever made. STUPID MOVIE!!!! All The Texas Chainsaw Massacre movies SUCK!!!! This is a completely pointless and utterly unnecessary remake of the most overrated horror movie ever. This movie is horrendous, stupid, pointless, boring, annoying, and mean-spirited. Boring, forgettable, one-dimensional cardboard characters that viewers shouldn't give a shit about. Just a bunch of blood, gore, suspense, screaming, and murdering. That's it! There isn't even any reason these innocent people are being murdered by psychotic serial killers in a slaughterhouse in Texas. All of the characters suck. The villains are stupid, unlikable assholes and their names aren't even important. This movie was so bad that I didn't even bother to finish watching it to the end. This movie is one of the worst films ever made. Why did Hollywood even make these stupid movies? How come Hulk got a lower audience score than this piece of shit?! Hulk is a billion times better than this atrocity!!! Why do people like these stupid, god-awful movies??? I hate this movie SO MUCH!!! Such a stupid, hideous, boring, annoying, and disgusting movie. This is on my list of the top 10 worst movies I have ever watched.

Rating: 0.4/10
October 14, 2018
Whats up with all the remakes these days? I dont need to watch this to know it sucks
October 10, 2018
This should be considered another installment in the series, not necessarily a remake. The story is different, with more depth, and the villains, SPOILER ALERT---- (especially the sheriff), offer good performances. It's on a different plane than it's predecessor, not better or worse, just a different take and style on a classic horror film story.

If you don't go in expecting a play-by-play of the original, you may enjoy it. Jessica Biel plays equal parts scared and badass well, and the depth given to the story is pretty enjoyable.
October 9, 2018
Although a creative reboot/adaptation of the original, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre leaves a sour taste in people's mouths after watching an hour and a half of running, screaming, and gory action that makes you want to throw up (even more that Rob Zombie's reboot of Halloween).
August 12, 2018
dumb. not scary at all. tries to be unsettling, which is lame, and isn't even done well. bad acting, bad editing. lots of funny screaming. useless characters. the only reason i gave it a one is because i vaguely remember liking it the first time i saw it in the theater. (2 viewings)
½ June 18, 2018
While not as disturbing and straight to the point as the original 1974 film, this remake still offers an amazingly well shot film with some good scares and a trully despicable set of villans in the form of the sheriff and leatherface himself. Would recommend if you liked the original but you could pass otherwise.
½ June 10, 2018
This is a fantastic new adaptation of a franchise that had previously plummeted in quality after its original tale. This film truly lives up to its title and does not disappoint.
May 13, 2018
Always an absolute brilliant movie to watch, The Hewitt Family really deliver as villains in this movie.
½ April 16, 2018
This is only a remake for namesake (as Michael Bay himself stated this). It's very different than the original from the very beginning. This is basically TCM Part 5 (why not just call it that?). I must say that Nispel's take on music videos helped a lot here. Though I don't get the "sick, realistic" feeling I get from Part 1, the visuals here made it very surreal, but for the better. (I loved the forest and meat locker scenes). Leatherface is scary again (yes!) and Bryniarski's take on him was AMAZING. The main actors here were all very credible and were a lot more likeable than most of the players in the original. I also appreciated the addition of new characters with R. Lee Ermey kicking ass here once again. When it tried to copy scenes of the original, it failed miserably. It just wasn't as effective here. Killing off-screen was also an issue and the last act was a tad predictable. But if you put the "hatred for Hollywood" aside (it's getting harder for me, lately) you might just enjoy this cash-cow. It's gritty, filled with suspense and much darker than any of the sequels. This is how Leatherface should've been treated from the get-go.
½ March 30, 2018
After the disaster that was "Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next Generation" a remake made sense and while its still a bad movie its a lot more watchable. The cast is all acceptable with the exception of R. Lee Ermey whose having a ball. The characters are all morons and of course the one character that isn't (Jonathan Tucker's character Morgan) is ignored by his friends for making sense and doing something logical is a bad situation. The story is half asses but does have some well shot and creepy scenes like Leatherface at his workstation and the final chase has its moments. Overall the 2003 remake of "The Texas Chainsaw Massacre" is a bad movie and a pale comparison to the original in every way but you could do worse, much worse.
Super Reviewer
½ February 20, 2018
As good as horror films get!
½ January 12, 2018
A perfect example of a remake
½ December 24, 2017
Really scary and gory:) Not the greatest ending:(
½ November 5, 2017
Most interesting one since the original
October 25, 2017
Easily the best one in the franchise.
To me this is the original and the 1974 film should be avoided at all cost.
Easily one of the best horror movies made.
10/10
October 22, 2017
It feels a little unnecessary and it may not be as scary as the original, but I felt entertained. I like the new leatherface. Also R. Lee Ermy does a good job playing Sherrif Hoyt.
Page 1 of 650