The Terminator - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Terminator Reviews

Page 1 of 1018
½ March 28, 2020
This movie still holds up even being extremely dated special effects wise. Instant classic and a great start to a very good movie franchise.
May 22, 2019
Loved how they went with this film
May 20, 2019
I try to think of some things that are bad about this movie, and the only answer I can come up with is "the eye-dressing animatronic of Arnold is clearly fake".
Outside of technological quibbles regarding mid-80s films, I really can't find anything to complain out. Characterization is thorough and straightforward, the cinematography is good, and the music is fun... in a terribly campy, synthesizer-heavy way.
May 19, 2019
Give me your clothes. Nuf said.
May 17, 2019
It's so awesome :)
May 8, 2019
The first and still the most innovative and best of the Terminator series. Arnie was put on Earth to play the role of the Terminator robot! The movie had a Restricted rating luckily 1984 when it came out was the same year I turned 18 LOL
April 19, 2019
This movie was impressive back then, and it is now. James Cameron clearly knew what he was doing. Also the cast is amazing, Arnold is the definitive Terminator and no one probably will get on his feets.
April 16, 2019
Arnold Schwarzenegger as a killer cyborg with James Cameron as director. Talk about a recipe for excellence. The action and sci-fi used, makes it extremely entertaining the whole way through. Filled with now iconic characters, many memorable lines, a great story, and plenty of fun violence. You couldn't have asked for a better director to make this masterpiece a reality. A terrific film.
April 13, 2019
"I think this guy is a couple cans short of a six pack" -RIP Bill Paxton. (dont forget that the T800 stole "F*** you A**hole" from his character :))

Love this movie!
April 6, 2019
Loved this movie to bits. Memorable lines, fantastic acting. Everything seemed so believable and intense. Was always one of my favourite movies growing up.
March 29, 2019
A solid, sci-fi/action/horror film, The Terminator combines tight writing with stylized, noirish cinematography and brutal, if not bloody, violence. Even as it cuts away from moments of potental gore, its effective editing and vivid but not ostentatious sound both emphasize the horror and the helplessness of the protagonists' situation. Its memorable score features recognizeable, recurring themes, including the relentless drum beat that signals the monster's unstoppable approach.
March 24, 2019
First two films of the franchise were just great. Concept, background story, plot.. there were just brilliant.
½ March 14, 2019
The terminator is a 1984 science fiction film. Really good acting from the expressions to the dialogue delivery. This is also the best film for Arnold Schwerzenegger because he has to play a robot which is what he was born to do. Good music that goes with the film from beginning to end. Good dialogue especially when there talking about the future. A few sound mistakes near the beginning. Very good cinematography from the suspenseful scenes to the action scenes. Good suspense manly from when the terminator is looking for Sarah Connor. Really good action from gun vilonce to therminator wrecking everything in his way. Really good characters from the terminator to Kyle. Amazing set design/props especially with the terminator. A few special effects mistakes but they dont take away from the movie. Really good story with a great premise. Over all I give it a 9/10 - so close
March 11, 2019
A great Movie my favourite Movie and The storyline is just great
½ March 10, 2019
A true classic for lower budget action flicks to follow in its footsteps.
March 9, 2019
Awesome for its generation
March 9, 2019
A dark, fun film, with a fairly low budget, so you have to forgive some parts. If you only know The Terminator from the recent borefests, then go and search out this film and it's equally entertaining follow up, Judgement Day.
March 7, 2019
Amazing setup for the future cinematic universe it creates
March 1, 2019
Best action movie of the 80s
February 28, 2019
My favorite of all the Terminator films.
Page 1 of 1018