Tennessee Williams' The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tennessee Williams' The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 5, 2013
Pretty tedious and unnecessary remake that feels more dated than the original. Has all the feel of a telemovie and is a dry piece of storytelling that lacks artistic merit. The shock value of the original play has long ago worn off, so it is quite unclear why this version came to be as it can not add anything new.
Super Reviewer
½ July 22, 2013
Well, Helen Mirren is wonderful....but, the movie itself just erupted into very strange territory. I completely did not get the business with the mentally ill vagrant twin...
May 21, 2013
Love the Performance by Helen Mirren, Great Story. I can watch it over and over!
March 17, 2013
Perfecta!!!!!! Drama, sexo, erotismo, traicion..... QUE MAS QUIERES???
March 7, 2013
Can I Have a Link where i can watch the movie Online Please !!!!
September 30, 2012
Not as good as the original.
September 2, 2012
What a great adaptation of Tennessee Williams' great novela!
May 31, 2012
I get her loneliness and grief but not her stupidity. Disturbing. I want to see the original one now.
December 19, 2011
This movie should have been good, but I couldn't watch more than half of it.
½ July 5, 2011
I liked the Vivien Leigh version better
February 27, 2011
Just saw the film, it was very good....
½ December 4, 2009
"The Roman Spring of Mrs. Stone" tackles an old tabu about female, and more specifically mature female sexuality. The subject is interesting and the movie is filled with keen observations about a culture saturated with sexism and double standards. This combined with Mirren's performnce could have easily made a true masterpiece.

Unfortunately Martinez's sometimes woody acting and the overuse of melodrama make everything feel slightly clich├ęd, with the result of a not great just pretty good film.
October 7, 2009
Kinda odd but sexy too.
September 26, 2009
A Fantastic Piece of Art made by Hele Mirren!!!
½ April 7, 2009
terrific Tennessee Williams script!
January 6, 2009
Helen Mirren = DIVA! She is the type of woman any girl would to be like. She's gorgeous, has a prensence that women half her age can only aspire for, and is immensely talented. This film, is more about character, I mean, what I would call 'character driven' rather than 'plot driven'. This means that it is the main character, in this case, hers, the one that impresses the most, and not necessarilly the plot itself. She is fantastic in it, and Olivier Martinez does a fantastic job with his character too. My only problem with this film is that his character and Rodrigo Santoro's aren't like I would've wanted them to be. Olivier's is unlikeable and that's fine, but I didn't feel any intensity whatsoever, and I don't blame him for it, I blame the writers because they cared more about making him a 'divo' rather than making him complex. Then there's Santoro, I loved his character, but I was dissapointed with the lack of background he had. He was everywhere yet we didn't know anything about him and I really wanted to know more.
½ November 2, 2008
As much as I admire Anne Bancroft as an actor, I did not feel she gave a very good performance. Helen Mirren is good, a bit bland though. The story moves along too slowly and I much prefer the Vivien Leigh version.
Super Reviewer
October 15, 2008
Kinda cool. The gigilo and the older wealthy woman is always a little hot.
October 7, 2008
Another novel adaptation re-make. A cliche story but both Helen Mirren & Anne Bancroft were great, especially the latter as the greedy pimp.
July 8, 2008
shitty remake catch the original
Page 1 of 2