Tell Me Who I Am - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tell Me Who I Am Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 15, 2019
By focusing so narrowly on the Lewis brothers' relationship with their mother, the film inadvertently minimizes the scope of their abuse.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 26, 2019
What sets this Netflix documentary apart is the way Perkins compellingly structures this documentary into an ambiguous and haunting mystery drama that asks us whether it is okay to lie to someone you love in order to protect them from lifelong ache.
October 24, 2019
A searing examination of childhood trauma, Tell Me Who I Am raises provocative questions about the imprecision of memory and the rose-tinted lens through which we view family.
November 14, 2019
Imagine waking up and not knowing who you are, where you are, or the identities of the faces staring back at you. What if you find out the things you have been told are lies?
October 17, 2019
A Tough but Cathartic Documentary about Childhood Trauma
December 9, 2019
An intense journey into the past of two brothers with an extraordinary story to tell. This left me speechless for hours. [Full review in Spanish].
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
October 18, 2019
Cinema as revelation, and thereby purification, is a powerful thing.
October 16, 2019
The toll of that lie and unspoken trauma is revealed in the film's harrowing, intimate final act, and it feels devastating to viewers just as it was to the brothers.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 1, 2019
It was one of those stories that was simply too awful to need much elaboration - it was bleak, creepy, dismal, sad.
October 16, 2019
Drawing from a startling real life story, director Ed Perkins plants audiences inside a film where mounting mystery climaxes to unsettling concern as we watch an amnesiac grapple with the horrifying reality that is his life.
November 7, 2019
It's tragic but utterly compelling viewing as director Ed Perkins allows the two men to share their stories -- and their lifelong anguish -- direct to camera before they sit down face-to-face for a final, painful catharsis.
October 18, 2019
That Perkins has honed in on such sympathetic subjects makes it almost impossible not to be moved, even if Tell Me often feels less like forensic truth than an intriguing fragment of something that may, in the end, be impossible to tell in full.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 29, 2019
An incredibly moving experience that men, in particular, should witness and absorb.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 18, 2019
A documentary so harrowing and horrific that it can only bear to scratch at the surface of its remarkable story.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 17, 2019
A powerful, brave and heartbreaking documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 18, 2019
Truly profound... one of the best documentaries we've seen in 2019.
October 18, 2019
Tell Me Who I Am narrowly but successfully pulls it off by letting the brothers delve into the rawness of their relationship.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 16, 2019
Whether absolute healing is ever really possible is the question that hovers over Tell Me Who I Am up to and through its poignant conclusion.
October 17, 2019
This desperately upsetting Netflix documentary, a portrait of a troubled family, is best watched knowing as little possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 21, 2019
The way this film is constructed is a suspenseful mystery, and eventually it gives way to great catharsis.
Page 1 of 2