Tell Me Who I Am - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tell Me Who I Am Reviews

Page 1 of 2
December 26, 2019
What sets this Netflix documentary apart is the way Perkins compellingly structures this documentary into an ambiguous and haunting mystery drama that asks us whether it is okay to lie to someone you love in order to protect them from lifelong ache.
December 9, 2019
An intense journey into the past of two brothers with an extraordinary story to tell. This left me speechless for hours. [Full review in Spanish].
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
November 14, 2019
Imagine waking up and not knowing who you are, where you are, or the identities of the faces staring back at you. What if you find out the things you have been told are lies?
November 7, 2019
It's tragic but utterly compelling viewing as director Ed Perkins allows the two men to share their stories -- and their lifelong anguish -- direct to camera before they sit down face-to-face for a final, painful catharsis.
November 1, 2019
It was one of those stories that was simply too awful to need much elaboration - it was bleak, creepy, dismal, sad.
October 29, 2019
An incredibly moving experience that men, in particular, should witness and absorb.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 24, 2019
A searing examination of childhood trauma, Tell Me Who I Am raises provocative questions about the imprecision of memory and the rose-tinted lens through which we view family.
October 22, 2019
Intense docu about twin brothers has violence, cursing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 21, 2019
It doesn't try to influence your perception of what [the subjects] are saying, and it's really beautiful filmmaking.
October 21, 2019
The way this film is constructed is a suspenseful mystery, and eventually it gives way to great catharsis.
October 18, 2019
A documentary so harrowing and horrific that it can only bear to scratch at the surface of its remarkable story.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 18, 2019
Cinema as revelation, and thereby purification, is a powerful thing.
October 18, 2019
Truly profound... one of the best documentaries we've seen in 2019.
October 18, 2019
That Perkins has honed in on such sympathetic subjects makes it almost impossible not to be moved, even if Tell Me often feels less like forensic truth than an intriguing fragment of something that may, in the end, be impossible to tell in full.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 18, 2019
Tell Me Who I Am narrowly but successfully pulls it off by letting the brothers delve into the rawness of their relationship.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 18, 2019
In a scripted thriller, one can bet that unlocking the source of Alex's trauma would bring all of his memories flooding back. Here, the process merely points the way to an even deeper mystery.
October 17, 2019
[I]n its most rewardingly complicated moments, this absorbing, incomplete documentary reminds us that there is nothing definitive about what we think we know.
October 17, 2019
A powerful, brave and heartbreaking documentary.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 17, 2019
Gripping and moving, despite some tricksy narrative twists.
October 17, 2019
This desperately upsetting Netflix documentary, a portrait of a troubled family, is best watched knowing as little possible.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 2