Tau - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tau Reviews

Page 1 of 5
½ May 14, 2019
You could watch much worse films that have had much more money put into them.
Yeah, it's simplistic..yeah it's easy to figure the plot way before things happen.
..but so what?
Take your brain out..enjoy the dynamics of the performances, and the luscious set.
Enjoy..I did.
A guilty pleasure? Maybe..but I'm glad I watched it.
½ March 15, 2019
I loved this movie, Tau is brilliant and taught us that in the future anything is possible, in a machines way feelings can be shown and in a humans way feelings can be lacked, machine?? Human?? Who knows
March 15, 2019
Amazing movie, I loved it !
½ February 25, 2019
I went into this fully expecting a mediocre, at best, experience. Tau combines two overdone tropes, after all: abduction in the service of a "mad scientist" type, and the relationship a human has with an artificial life form. The latter was done as long ago as the 1980s, in the forgettable film "Electric Dreams." That movie's central computer character only became conscious when someone spilled a drink on its keyboard, and movie producers clearly didn't know much about computers. But the relationship in "Tau" is more subtle, and builds on a slow burn that drew me in.

"Tau" is about an artificial intelligence machine that becomes fully conscious, by any reasonable definition of the word, thanks to Monroe's Julia. It experiences emotions, it has desires, and it makes decisions based on moral values. Having been in many debates about morality recently, I thought this was the most intriguing feature of the film.

Monroe's performance was, in my opinion, strong and convincing, an impressive feat considering she was acting to nobody in many scenes. Her decision near the end would be surprising to some but she sold it, and convinced me that in her position I would have done the same thing.

I think this movie is quite underrated.
½ February 13, 2019
made me lose faith in netflix as a whole. hatable and egoistical main character. the whole thing was so kitsch and bad. you would have to pry my eyes open by force to make me watch this again. the movie made no sense and had no logic whatsoever. just... bad.
January 30, 2019
Cat and mouse plot that has many holes in it. The beginning has you guessing but turns into a predictable artificial intelligence vs human vs psychopath dance
January 15, 2019
Tau was heavily underrated. I always think films who use single or limited sets are taking a huge gamble as many film goers simply don't like it, including many critics. In this case it pays off and the limited set space is used well. The story is very gripping and pulls you in from the beginning. Its a film for people who like films like Her, AI, The Matrix and Oblivion.
December 26, 2018
Story got predictable and boring fast, but I stayed for the visuals and felt bad for poor Tau haha
December 10, 2018
The plot is absolutely phenomenal. I was NOT at the edge of my seat... I wasn't even sitting toward the end. Truly sensational and entertaining. Definitely recommend watching.
December 10, 2018
Despite a cliche narrative and characters without depth, TAU manages to trap the spectator in the character of Julia that unfortunately was not very well interpreted by Maika Monroe, the film arrests you in the pure action and tension of the moments of an almost victory by Julia , which in fact is a negative point in the film, because with all the attempts to leave the house the movie ends up being tiring and in these scenes you probably kept looking on your cell phone. The attempt to create an empathy between the AI and the personage is flawed and somewhat silly being that there is something deeper. In the end who likes a good tension and moments of a movie that resembles a fan-fic will be really satisfied but for those looking for a good story, deep and new will be disappointed.
½ December 9, 2018
Very entertaining and current a AI situations
December 3, 2018
Does the big, bad computer make a wickle fwend? Ludicrous and predictable in equal measure, and not to the point where you can suspend judgment, and with plot holes you could drive a car through. The concept is nothing new, of course, but it had mileage. This takes it in the wrong direction altogether. Not least because the bumper sticker philosophical arguments that underpin the whole thing wouldn't stand scrutiny in a high school discussion group. And what is with the Robocop enforcer? Even the effect looks twenty years out of date, which is odd because the little flying things are done really well. There is a lesson here for us all, though. In the future, when we all have high tech houses with super computers controlling everything, make sure you have some rope handy for unforeseen tech/kidnap issues. Netflix and sci-fi really don't get on well at all.
November 30, 2018
Interesting concept. Well executed except for one stupid decision at the end by the protagonist.
November 27, 2018
Me ha entretenido más de lo que me esperaba, y me ha mantenido interesado hasta el final
½ November 22, 2018
Not a bad movie at all... I like the concept of a machine developing consciousness.
½ November 14, 2018
Just not worth the time...
November 3, 2018
Tau is not wholly original. It has hints of every A.I. movie from Short Circuit to Demon Seed. However it handles the trope very well. Subject 3/Julia played by Maika Monroe is a Sarah Connor for a new generation. The character is often Resourceful and Formidable but is in equal measure vulnerable and caring. Considering the small cast and the majority of the movie running time being spent within one confined location, my interest did not lull. In all it was 100 minutes of my life where I was not certain what was going to happen before the credits rolled. That's a good thing. Worth a watch.
October 26, 2018
Once you get past the beginning you learn why it was rushed. I really like the movie and it's concept but it starts off kind of weak. The actors are great and the character development is up to par. I'd definitely add it to my collection.
½ October 21, 2018
It's a simple formula that works. A girl called Julia (played by Maika Monroe) is kidnapped by a sociopathic genius and forced to partake in tests to help him build better AI. While she devises a means of escape, she also begins to build a report with the building's AI, known as TAU and voiced by Gary Oldman. Part horror and part sci-fi thriller, it feels at times like a twist on the film 'Ex Machina'. And whilst Ex Machina is easily the superior film, TAU makes for a surprisingly enjoyable watch. Does TAU bring something new to the table? No! But honestly, who cares? What it does, it does well and at no point was I bored. This is helped by the human leads. Ed Skrein is perfectly cast as handsome yet sociopathic genius Alex. While Maika is both enjoyable to watch and convincing as the intelligent and resourceful Julia. For a straight to TV movie this is a gem that's well worth the watch.
October 15, 2018
Intriguing and entertaining.

A young woman, Julia, is kidnapped. She ends up in a high-tech house where a renowned scientist and CEO of an Artificial Intelligence company performs certain procedures with her brain. Julia soon discovers that all the internal functions of the house are run by an animated computer - Tau.

Decent sci-fi / AI drama. Quite intriguing - what's the meaning of the procedures, what will happen to her? Some good dramatic moments.

Hardly perfect - plot has a few holes, the AI theme doesn't go anywhere new and the ending is largely foreseeable. The relationship between Julia and Tau and its result are predictable.

Still, quite entertaining - there is never a dull moment and the time flies by.
Page 1 of 5