Suite Française - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Suite Française Reviews

Page 1 of 4
May 11, 2019
5/12/2019
It was the most unlikely time to fall in love, what with the raging starts of the war marching into the commune of Bussy, France. But the attraction between a French woman, who was left in the cares of her stern mother-in-law, and a German army lieutenant was the only thing that made sense during this time. An all-star female ensemble highlighted this period romance.
January 31, 2019
A must see romantic movie , if you loved the Notebook or Titanic this would be a love story that goes on the records and the cast...oh my goodness!
December 28, 2018
a reasonably polished film, the romance is very subtle though, and the script just drifts along until we reach the end. only so-so for me.
September 10, 2018
I can see how this kind of story would happen in the midst of war. Love the main characters.
½ July 30, 2018
Odd why the critics fawned over this on release, I haven't read the source novel but even flicking through the Wiki summary it seems this has done it a grave disservice. The story has been reduced to cliche, a French set story populated exclusively by characters with clipped upper class English accents and a clunky Mills and Boon central romance. I was bored by the end, and would rather give the book a try.
½ April 17, 2018
A tale of conflict and fighting for what's right, even if there's something holding you back.
March 18, 2018
Loved the film.Very thought provoking.
½ March 3, 2018
Plot is too cliched, and characters are from the molds. Nonetheless, enjoyable movie. Michelle Williams and Kristen Scott Thomas show superb acting!
½ October 22, 2017
I am not a great fan of romantic movies but i enjoyed this one, it's very well acted and directed. Not the most original story, but it caught my attention. It's the little story of two normal people on the (very distant) background of the great story of WWII.
October 3, 2017
The story line is enticing and the actors are superb.
August 24, 2017
So Mr Darcy wears a nazi uniform, he forgives you if you kill his companions and he loves you till death. Ok, not my cup of tea.
July 18, 2017
I fell in love with the movie and the couple. Great performances, beautiful actors and a tragic love story. Left me heartbroken. It's on top of my list along with The English Patient, Out of Africa and The End of the Affair.
June 18, 2017
Not the usual Weinstein Co fare which is consistently excellent.
Historical inaccuracies include Bruno's brother having died at Normandy when the Normandy invasion was in 1944; the time frame for this movie is right after the capitulation of France in 1940.
½ June 10, 2017
What an outstanding movie!...a period piece but certainly one for the ages, that its based on real-life , that too, Love "verbotten" is what makes it so extraordinary. A must see!
January 15, 2017
Extremly touching soundtrack. Amazing performances. Painful ending. One of my favorite's of mss williams.
½ December 4, 2016
The two nations fighting each other, but not these two...

A romance-drama that's set in the backdrop of the world war two. It tells the story of a young wife whose husband fighting Germans during the 1940s war. When her village was taken control by the Nazi army, an officer was assigned to stay in her house. He's not like the other German soldiers, they both unexpectedly fall in love, despite all the troubles around. An affair to keep hidden from everyone, though it was the beneficial in a way to those who are suffering. Practically impossible to keep it going, so how long and how it lasts follows in the remaining parts.

A completely different kind of the world war two drama I have ever seen. Not easy to accept, since we know how that war was fought. But it was really a good take, something softer and romantic side. Michelle Williams and Matthias Schoenaerts were too good in their respective roles. Well made film with the beautiful cinematography and music, especially the direction.

This film's special was its original source. That's an interesting story than this film. It was based on the book that published in 2004, but the manuscript was over 50 years old which was written during pre WWII. There are some tense moments, as well as romantically appeals, but the war influences all those to shape up the entire film. Surprised, because it was better than my anticipation. Only the end should have been improved. Like they concluded it by oral declaration, I would have liked them in the pictures, even it extends for another 15 or more minutes. Not recommended for everyone, but also not bad to try by everyone.

7/10
October 29, 2016
So beautiful sweet love story BUT it is the saddest !
April 28, 2016
Everything is pleasant in this romantic drama, especially the cinematography and the acting. My one complaint would be the lack of "nonphysical" love and the feeling of deficiency after it's over.
April 4, 2016
I think this could have used more romance, but for the most part I really enjoyed it. I was afraid I would find it boring, but it was very good at keeping my attention.
Page 1 of 4