Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Stop! Or My Mom Will Shoot Reviews

Page 1 of 53
October 15, 2018
In the early 90s Sly Stallone was hell bent on trying to branch out. Despite the failure of comedic collaborations such as Rhinestone and Oscar the muscleman was still anxious to realize his comedic potential. And we get Stop, or my mom will shoot as a result. The film isn't as bad as people make it out to be, to be honest(Sly hates the film) and there are, I might add even some adorable elements. Sly plays a LA cop who is visited by his mother one fine day- she decides to stay with her son and interfere with his daily chores which result in the progression of the film. I prefer the simplicity of the movie(and indeed of cinema of that time) to the stuff we are being forced fed today- a film such as this will not be picked up at all nowadays which is a pity. I suggest you go with an open mind and judge for yourself. This is a nice film to add to you Sylvester Stallone collection. 6/10 (Nowhere as bad as people say).
½ October 11, 2018
The film itself is horrible and even sly agrees. However you just can't help but get wrapped up in the film it features a lovable helicopter parent trying to control her macho-police officer son and it just plays out very hilariously in a very cheesy way. If you want to see Stallone embarrass himself in a fun and silly movie. This one is for you.
August 31, 2018
Slys best movie I have ever seen and I have seen all of them being 5,000,000 years old and all.
½ July 27, 2018
Sylvester Stallone aime rappeler que Stop! Or my mom will shoot est le film le plus mauvais dans lequel il ait jamais tourner. C'est assez étonnant dans la mesure où la comédie de Roger Spottiswoode est une petite galéjade sans prétention et dans laquelle Stallone parvient à utiliser son timing comique à bonne escient, en duo avec l'hilarante Estelle Getty. Concise et souvent efficace, cette petite comédie ralentit cependant un peu lorsque l'intrigue policière se met en branle mais sans jamais passer le point de non-retour. Le score d'Alan Silvestri est très réussi.
December 11, 2017
Quite possibly the worst movie ever made.
October 16, 2017
My favorite Comedy film. Critics can suck it on this one. Placing Estelle Getty alongside Sylvester Stallone is a casting masterpiece.
October 14, 2017
Even though this movie has its faults, it's far from as bad as the meta critics make out, have you seen 'The Legend Of Harrow Woods'?
½ March 11, 2017
This movie is right up there with north as one of the worst films I ever had to sit through. The plot consists of a cop played by Stallone who is visited by his overbearing mother played by Miss Getty and from there it becomes a mediocre buddy cop film. Now take one look at the casting Sylvester Stallone and the very comedically talented Golden Girl Estelle Getty, you would expect this to a great comedy but what you receive is a movie so boring and unfunny you rather watch your own feces spiral down the toilet in an hour in a half loop! Never in my life had I been more disappointed with the lack of effort from everyone involved with this film. I give it a 0/5 star rating F-
½ January 23, 2017
One of the top 50 worst action comedy films ever! Ever!
August 17, 2016
No critical consensus in 25 years!? Did we forget to save the clippings on this one?
August 7, 2016
Another gimmicky comedy about a detective whose life is interrupted when his mother visits. Stallone seems stiff and Estelle Getty is cast for laughs but the screenplay gives her nothing fresh to laugh at.
July 4, 2016
Better than Star wars
½ March 31, 2016
Well, if you watch it in a ''so bad it's good'' matter, you may have a good time. It's really shitty! At least, Stallone says the title of the film at the end, that's a huge payoff!
jamrcla
Super Reviewer
½ March 27, 2016
Stallone has made a few bad movies in his time and this is one of his worst, Even though it is watchable (Just), 90% of the time the comedy is cringe worthy and as soon as we meet Stallones on screen mum we hate her but I suppose that was what they were going for, As for Stallone I think even he knew what he was getting himself in for and big action stars should learn that they aren't meant to star in these films, But its not all terrible, It's certainly not going to be a film you remember Stallone by.
½ March 16, 2016
Very hard to redeem this effort. Not even in an ironic "hate-watch" kinda way.
December 15, 2015
"Maybe one of the worst films in the entire solar system, including alien productions we've never seen. A flatworm could write a better script and in some countries - China, I believe - running [the movie] once a week on government television has lowered the birth rate to zero. If they ran it twice a week, I believe in twenty years China would be extinct". - Sylvester Stallone reaction to the film and claiming it to be his worst movie, which he isn't wrong about that.
½ December 14, 2015
I guess STOP! OR MY MOM WILL SHOOT came out at a time when cop spoofs were all over cinema, with the likes of LAST ACTION HERO and NATIONAL LAMPOON'S LOADED WEAPON 1 all filling multiplexes (or not, as the case may be). There's nothing specifically to dislike about this movie, but then there's nothing really to like about it either. The jokes are corny and predictable and the characters feel one-dimensional in their own movie. Even Stallone is on autopilot, able to bring little charm to what is a stock hero role. At the end of the day, a comedy wins or loses depending on how funny it is, and this film just isn't very funny. JoBeth Williams (POLTERGEIST) and Martin Ferrero (JURASSIC PARK) co-star.
½ September 29, 2015
An @HDTGM classic for a GOOD reason! TERRIBLE!
September 19, 2015
WOW......WOW.....WOW.....SO SO SO SO SO BAD......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SO SO SO DREADFUL, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH.......WARNING THIS MOVIE CONTAINS STROBE LIGHTNING EFFECTS THROUGHOUT THIS MOVIE......MAN THIS IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MESSY MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH AN AWFUL MOVIE 2 WATCH, IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL IT IS SUCH A BAD MOVIE 2 WATCH, JUST AVOID THIS MOVIE AT ALL COSTS IT IS THAT BAD.....JUST DO NOT WATCH THIS MOVIE IT IS SO AWFUL.......
June 15, 2015
Completely uninspired with some terrible acting from Sylvester Stallone. It earned him a Razzie. (First and only viewing - 6/15/2015)
Page 1 of 53